Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Clean, safe lodging in a great location.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, safety, location, lots of parking, reasonably quiet room and excellent location.
Cons: Our room didn't have a chair for the small working desk, and the outlets need to be more conveniently located for all the electronics we carry.
Location: Location was downtown and very centrally localized.
We booked by accident on a 3 day weekend and were lucky to get the room. It was the handicapped (or one of) and was a bit more worn than probably most rooms, and there was some wear and tear in the bathroom. Everything worked as advertised, the bed was comfortable and the continental breakfast offerings were pretty good. Check in was easy, staff was very cordial and helpful, and the layout of the property insured lots of parking (very important in Santa Cruz) for my full size pickup, and good safety and security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location, hot tub, pool, parking
Cons: A/C
Only issue was the temperature in the room would consistently move toward 79 degrees no matter what I did . At night we would get very dehydrated because of the temperature. I would put it to 75 and it would go back to 79 within an hour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
pleasant breakfast area. good location near stores and easy drive to Capitola Village on the water front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paso Robles, CA

A very good place to stay.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The location was good. It was quiet and felt safe. Easy self parking
Cons: An ocean view would make it better. It was situated well otherwise.
Location: Close to the Capitola Mall
We had a great time visiting friends and family. Everyone enjoyed themselves immensely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frustration

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Good location, close to shopping and restaurants. Close to everything. Big and convenient parking lot.
Cons: The mattress is too bouncing. I was bounced every time my husband moved! So I could not sleep!
I took a paper cup (still sealed in a plastic bag) and saw some light brown spots on its mouth. I thought those were the ink from the print and so drank from the cup. But when I turned the light on, I saw those are stains showing a dirty cup! I felt queasy for drinking from the dirty cup! I checked the other cups (still sealed). None had any stains! So, I reported this problem to the Front Desk and got the answer that they did not seal those paper cups. He showed me more cups without stains but with the plastic covers torn. He said:" See, the plastic covers are torn". I told him to solve this problem with the supplier but he kept quiet! By the way I also told the Front Desk staff that we saw two separate bins under the sink, one for recycle and one for trash. We carefully place the recycle stuff (paper..) in the recycle bin. Then the cleaning lady came and threw the contents in the recycle bin to the trash bin, tied the plastic bag of the trash (plus recycle in it), and threw it in the big bag in her cart. (I talked to cleaning lady about that at that time but she did not understand English). The Front Desk staff told me: "They will sort it out later". That's a waste of time and labor! Why didn't you train your staff to work more efficiently?!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel walking distance to beach

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Clean, modern and quiet.
Hotel is quite new, clean, about 15min walk to the beach. Neighborhood is quiet and pleasant. Our room was very clean, spacious and fully equipped with microwave oven and fridge. Bed was comfortable. very quiet at night. Breakfast was quite good. Will come back if we are in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Terrible service.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Breakfast was half an hour late, hot items (eggs, sausage, bacon) were completely cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

We had a great stay :-)

Posted Aug 30, 2016
More then happy with our room, it was clean and comfortable. The kids loved the pool and breakfast was excellent with a variety of food to choose from :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Location (many stores around the hotel which came in handy ) and we enjoyed the free chocolate chip cookies each evening at the reception desk.
Location: Santa Cruz Boardwalk. Monterey and Carmel were about an easy 35-40 minute drive.
When we arrived, Blake gave a friendly welcome. Since we were new to the area, he gave us some helpful information regarding Monterey and Santa Cruz. The hotel was extremely clean and we loved the complimentary breakfast each morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Great location, great service

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Second stay here fo auto week in Monterey. Great visit; same as last time. Helpful front desk and staff, clean, quiet, comfortable and centrally located. Affordable price relative to the area. A+++