Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

1.8 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.0 Room cleanliness
1.9 Service & staff
1.8 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick

Cheap price, great location, comfortable enough

Posted May 17, 2013
Pros: price, location
Cons: sharp temperature fluctuations in shower, old/flimsy furnishings, staff disinterest in guest comfort
while the hotel staff seemed quite disinterested in my presence (even borderline contemptuous), my room was reasonably clean and furnished. sure everything from the tv to the furniture to the carpet to the shower were old, but it was far from glaring or unendurable. my biggest issue turned out to be with the shower, which would sporadically change from searing heat to cold water w/o any turning of the hot/cold knobs. but overall, as a single person just stopping by in santa cruz for one night, it turned out to be quite fine for the cheap price.
2 out of 5
by Kam from Monterey, CA, USA

Not that great

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness
Location: kind of sketchy area but close to everything
The room was dirty from the renovation that is going on. They started construction at 8:30 AM on a Saturday which really ruined the sleep. There was also paper thin walls causing you to hear everything from the other rooms. It might be a better hotel after all the renovations but I would wait until they are done before staying here again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dude from Sacramento, Ca

BAD.BAD.BAD.

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: central. close to everything
This is possibly the worst, grosses hotel i have ever been in. Blood on the walls, rooms weren't even marked with numbers. Staff was short and rude. Pay another $20-$30 to stay elsewhere. only good thing is that the location was very central, but there are 40 hotels in that area, so choose another!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Jan 10, 2013
Pros: location
Location: great close to everything
price was great good location pleasing stay clean.
1 out of 5
by Jacquie from Santa Rosa CA

Wouldn't stay here again

Posted Sep 9, 2012
Pros: Walking distance to the Boardwalk.
Cons: Bad Mattress
Location: Not a good neighborhood
This Motel was very run down. The Mattress was very hard and sunk in the middle. I bathtub didn't have a water stop so you couldn't take a bath. The toilet plugged up almost every time we flushed. The room smelled like bleach. Over all i wouldn't stay there again. The only thing we liked was that you could walk to the Warf and Boardwalk. Next time I will pay the extra money for a nice hotel.
1 out of 5
by David from San Diego

Don't Stay Here!

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Pros: No favorite things.
Cons: Smell; carpet; dis-coloraration; shower; clothes in closet; stains; un-friendlyness
Location: Budget Inn on San Lorenzo in Santa Cruz. Location is okay, nearly downtown and Boardwalk.
This hotel cannot be recommended under any circumstances.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Aug 9, 2012
Filthy, stinking hole. My stuff still stinks from the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware

Posted Aug 4, 2012
The worst ever! That's saying a lot because we've lived in Belize and Mexico. Do not be fooled by the pictures or great price!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enough Said!

Posted Jul 8, 2012
Staff were not very helpful or friendly. Paint on Bathroom Wall peeling. They did have nice mattress covers on the beds. The beds were comfortable. If your on a budget and don't plan on spending much time in the room it will probably serve your purpose!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older Facility

Posted Jun 26, 2012
The facility is an older one and this was reflected in my rooms carpet, bath fixtures and furnishings. It was however clean and priced appropriately.