Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
We had a nice stay will be back if we're ever in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: clean
Cons: Parking, room service
Good clean hotel and possible 5 star if not for thin walls
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Bed bugs!

Posted Oct 10, 2017
We stayed in room 410 for one night. We checked in at around 10 PM and went to our room, we saw that the window was open about 6 inches wide. There were a few bugs in the room, which was not great, but it didn't bother us much. What was really upsetting was that the next morning my son and I discovered that we had been bitten all over. It was the kind of bites one gets from bed bugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valley Springs, CA

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I love the decor! Very clean and nice staff. The only bad thing is that you can hear everything around you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
The staff was really friendly and we enjoyed our upgraded room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very Disappointing.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Substantially upgrade rooms & amenities. If you choose not to upgrade, I would recommend that you re-think the rates - substantially.
Disappointed. I expected a certain amount of luxury when we booked this hotel room for what was to be a $400.00-plus per night "junior suite." Quality of the room was okay for a $150.00 p/n hotel room. Low-end furnishings and decorations, very low-end amenities. Definitely not what I expected for $400.00+ per night. The bathroom was small with a rickety glass sliding door that left a large gap all-around it and had low-end toiletries packaged in paper containers on the counter. The hotel seems to be obsessed with being green, but at the expense of their guests. The shampoo, conditioner and body wash in bottles in the shower had the tiniest dispenser holes that doled out a tiny squirt of the product. I counted over 75 pumps to get a little over a quarter-sized dollop of shampoo. Ironically, this made for a long process to shower. To add to the bathroom conservation drama, the lights in the bathroom are on some kind of timer and, while I was repeatedly pumping the shower bottles for soap, the light timed out and put me in total darkness in the shower, which was very disconcerting not to mention unsafe. This happened both days. The Jr. suite was not what I would have expected from a large resort for the rate that was charged. Given the lack of luxury hotels in the area, Chaminade has a chance to be the premier property. Too bad the rooms don't match the location, view or price. On the upside, our experience with staff was very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location and renovation

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: location, gym
Cons: noise travels
This is a great location- it overlooks Santa Cruz and Monterey Bay. The renovation of this property is excellent and it has a great gym and spa. It is up the hill so you can hike but cannot walk in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

It's gone downhill

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The room was very dusty. The lamps had cobwebs on them. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable and the linens were cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

A Different Hotel Experience

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Great location. Friendly, informative staff. Well organized and managed.
Location: Convenient to Santa Cruz Shakespeare Festival
Stayed one night. Repeat of a visit a few years ago for the Santa Cruz Clam Chowder Festival.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco, ca

Lack luster experience, definitely not 4 star

Posted Sep 5, 2017
At an average of $400/night, our ADA room lacked sufficient counter space in the bathroom resorting to us having to put clean clothes and toiletries on the floor. And the walk in shower only had a gradient floor at one side of the shower. And water that splashed farther back trickled into the main bathroom area. We needed to create a towel dam to contain the water. The hotel was sold out and when we returned from dinner there were no open parking spots available. I had to go seek out the valet to have my car parked because no one was attending the valet stand. It was a scorching hot weekend and the hotels air-conditioner went out. This hotel has this many stars because of on-site amenities, like a spa (which we didn't use) but as far as comfort and quality compared to other hotels it was extremely overpriced.