Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lofi CA

Nice Quiet Hotel friendly staff

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Only issue was at check in, I booked 2 rooms ground floor facing forest and a crib for 1 room. At check in I didn't get the view that I thought I paid for instead view of parking lot when I said I called 3 days prior to confirm everything I was told that yes I would have those rooms and a crib. But at check in I was told that it's the hotels dissractipn to change the rooms. If that was the case I shouldn't have paid for a room with a certain view and it was confirmed when I called days earlier then change it without notice. Plus they didn't have a crib in the room I rate my check im as very bad But the rest of the stay was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous location

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: clean, stylish, comfortable
Cons: nothing
Location: always plenty to do, and this property is just beautiful
Beautiful room at reasonable rate...Wish we could have extended our stay here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overbooked/traffic jam

Posted May 24, 2017
Three events were booked for night we checked in. As a result, road was blocked for at least quarter mile from entrance. My wife walked from car to check-in with our credit card. Desk clerk refused to check us in without requiring her to return to car for her ID. As a result, we missed our dinner reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Spring Break

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location, clean rooms, nice restaurant and spa.
Cons: Better response to emails to the spa.
Location: Santa Cruz beach and boardwalk just minutes away.
I picked this spot so my daughter and I could have some quality time during her spring break. The rooms are recently renovated and very nice. The location is peaceful, you feel like you're up in the mountains but actually just minutes away from the beach and boardwalk. The main building/lobby/restaurant is very nice and has some beautiful views. The spa is clean and relaxing. Our first night was pretty bad with some noisy people out in the hallway, in the morning I asked to be moved to another room, the issue was addressed immediately and I got a new room. I was disappointed when my email requesting more info on spa treatments, specifically a package special was never answered. I ended up booking only a couple of facials.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nowhere near beach.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
If you're looking for a suped up overpriced dorm room this is the place. Not my idea of a spa or hotel. parking was bad, walked forever. Should be a $59 price tag. I would then be impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heater didn't work and we froze!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This is a nice hotel but they need to do some maintenance. The heater in our room was broken and it was really cold so we basically were freezing. The room itself was very nice and large. Like that it had a mini fridge. Staff was nice and helpful. Just needs some maintenance work on their heating. When you only stay two days, you don't have time to wait for someone to fix a major system.
5 out of 5
by Seema

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing. Good hike
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel has seen better days.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Parking was close, wi-fi was free, staff was very responsive, room was large
Cons: Room layout...put some type of desk, table, large side table...somewhere to let things. Think about the room layout - where do you plug in the coffee?
Location: Location was great - in the woods, tennis courts, pool...just a bit run down. LOTS to do nearby!
The staff are nice (all in their 20's), but you get a feel like you're at camp instead of a four-star hotel. The beds were okay for one night, but by the third night I could barely turn my head. If I had paid rates for a 2 or 3 star I wouldn't complain, but definitely not high end or luxury. For example - we asked if there was a room with desk (since there were no surfaces to set anything down in the room (wine barrel for side table, thin sofa table for TV, small 1' X 2' table by a chair...that's it) - anyway they brought us an OLD, stained, duck-taped wooden table with metal legs. They had to make another trip when we asked for a chair. So weird.
3 out of 5
by anna

VERY run down

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
There are very few good choices for hotels in Santa Cruz. Most are REALLY run down, yet still quite expensive. The ones on Ocean, and by the Boardwalk, are mostly cheap & unsafe (SC has a HUGE homeless population), which to my knowledge leaves Babbling Brook on Laurel & Chaminade off Soquel. Since Chaminade is a couple of miles from downtown SC, you don't get the drunk/schizo homeless yelling right outside your door, and it is in a nice woodsy setting, but the rooms themselves are VERY old & run down. The balconies are not maintained at all; every single screen is broken; and the hotel is falling apart (literally - doorknobs & hooks just fall off in your hands). Still, beggars can't be choosers.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels