Ratings based on 1,075 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

nice secluded campus

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Almost everything was good
Cons: The "partial service"(towels & trash) turned out to be no service. We had to ask twice for towels and trash emptied.
Location: There are restaurants on-site(not so good). There is a big pool, hiking trails, scenery, etc. on-site. It is close to the beach & boardwalk.
This is a nice setting for a wedding, retreat, or whatever but the rates are too high!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel with facilities

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Great location, Can not find your unit if your reach at night
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Quiet mountainside retreat

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location in woods on mountain top.
Cons: The restaurant was not our favorite. Being on the coast it could have offered more seafood.
Location: Santa Cruz is about 5 miles away with great restaurants and beaches. Golf is also good but about 15 miles away.
We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed visiting Santa Cruz and playing golf at Seascape. The hotel grounds are beautiful and a friendly shuttle available to get around the hotel without driving.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paso robkes, ca

Nice Resort Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We were there for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. Staff could use some training. The hotel renovation is quite nice however the walls and ceilings are paper thin so we heard a lot of noise from other guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Vending Machine Issues & College Dorm Feel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: the restaurant staff was very friendly and accomodating
Cons: soft drinks and water and snacks should be available at the hotel or vending machine
Location: Santa Cruz and Capitola
I was sent on a wild goose chase by the staff in searching for available vending machines. Very frustrating. Also, the room and hotel felt like a college dorm -- I didn't feel safe with the unlocked building doors in the woods.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice, but not what we expected. Dog alert.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
When we first showed up the staff was very friendly, clean appearance and nice overall. The room had a very reasonable rate for 3.9 stars ($225). Then, we got to the dog fee which I assumed was a deposit, but it was an actual $150 pet fee. It does specify this, and I read it wrong, but now we're at the point where I'm already getting billed for the room so what do you do, leave? So after hotel fees, pet fees and room rate I'm up to $400. The property had lots of things to do and was very pet friendly. I was a little disappointed that the room only had linoleum (being pet friendly) on the floors, the beds were comfy and the room was clean. We were in a first floor room and the upstairs foot traffic noise was a little excessive and annoying. The exterior could use a paint job (room 800) and a bit of a wash down. Overall, it is a nice place for the price, just don't bring your dog or that price gets not-so-nice. Oh, I have a chihuahua and he loved it, but unless the pet fee is dropped we won't be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One Day Retreat

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Nice anti- aging facial at the spa. Room had a nice deck. Quiet location. Enjoyed reading and relaxing. Had lunch delivered to the room. Parking and proximity to room can be unpredictable. However, vehicle can be valet parked if you prefer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Close enough to the beaches.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: It was off the beaten path. Clean, quiet, open. Felt safe.
Cons: Better pricing for meals. Resort fee ??? Most hotels seem to include the pool, a work out room and WIFI. More snack machines and drink machines.
Location: Close to the beaches, the boardwalk and the coastline.
Found this nice resort. Was very pleasantly surprised. Clean and spacious room. Quiet grounds. The gym was not your typical small work out room. It was a full sized gym. Pool, spa, volleyball and tennis. It was very nice. Con's if your not expecting it, there is a "resort fee" per day. Supposed to cover the pool, spa, grounds and wifi. Most hotels include that in the price so you have to plan for that extra expense. The restaurant on the grounds is very expensive. with a family, that can add up. Or just go to another place to eat. We learned quickly and planned our meals better. It was so much better than some of the hotels across from the boardwalk. And the price, even with the resort fee, was not too bad for everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Rock

Unexpected delight

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Roomy, clean, full gym, lots of amenities
Cons: Helpfulness of staff
Location: Beautiful and scenic Santa Cruz. Near beaches, hiking trails and so much more.
We only stayed 1night at this resort along our travel up the Pacific coast. We were exhausted and nearly everything else was sold out. We desperately needed a place to rest. Upon entering this property I was very hesitant because the hilly road was not lit well at all and I didn't know what to expect around the corner. Much to my surprise however the resort property was beautiful. We managed to secure 1 of the last 3 rooms at a discount by booking quickly thru Expedia. Our room was brand new and spacious... one of the biggest rooms I've seen. The property is full of amenities and very scenic as we found out the next day. The fitness center was phenomenal. The only less than positive experience was the staff... whom I found to be less than welcoming and not very patient to us very tired guests. A hotel this great deserves an awesome staff to make its guests feel welcome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice forested balcony view.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: quiet comfortable, clean.
Cons: Light switches were impossible to find.
Location: Great wooded location, trails and views awesome.
Nice renovated room. Salt water swimming pool was great. Close to Santa Cruz.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Kevin Herbst - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!