Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Serenity 15 mins from the Boardwalk

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Quick stay but it was very comfortable. Clean but i wish they would consider actually washing the pillows instead of simply changing covers
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Outdated and overpriced

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: total renovatoon, food is horrible and staff slow
There is a serious lack of 4 star + hotels in santa cruz and Chaminade is a 3 star hotel at best. For over $400 a night you'd expect something more updated with better facilities. This place is more like a retirement community with staff that also move at an elderly place. It tok us 1.5 hours to get a microwave delivered to our room. We were a VIP expedia guest but didnt get offeree any upgrade. The king suite has nothing but a sink in the sitting room and our room was in front of the pool which made it very loud. Santa Cruz is a place made for day trips where you find somewhere up the coast or over the hill for a great place to stay, Whe I booked this, The Dream hotel was $479, which is a joke because its nothing more than a renovated motel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ec, Manteca

unpleasant & over charged.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
My room to start was dirty, bad odor & small. I was moved to bigger room and pull out bed was so thin you could feel the wires king bed was uncomfortable. I called front desk about pull out sofa bed & they brought roll up beds but we're not what it was not same. The next day I was given statement extra $100 charge I asked to speak to Manager Deston. He did most conversation did not let me speak regarding my unpleasant stay said he disagree with me & was not willing to take off $100 after I had already paid my room $300 really unhappy with my stay! I will never return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Noisy Room next to the pumps. Unresponsive staff

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The grounds.
Cons: Hiring experienced staff. The front desk personnel looked like a buch of high school kids with absolutely no training.
We checked in to the hotel that looked not very full. We were assigned roo 501. As we went to sleep we noticed a noise, and assumed it was temporary. The noise continued all night, making it difficult to have a good night sleep. When I called in the morning, the staff was very unresponsive, and almost annoyed with my request of a few extra hours of late check in, so I could take a nap before I started my long drive home. I don't understand why they gave us the NOISY room when they had a full hotel of empty rooms. They gave us a discount of $36.00 Dollars in hotel fees, that I thought it was ridiculous after being awake the whole night in a 4 star hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great location, but several areas for improvment

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Great location with great views...thats about it.
The room was smaller than most hotels. There was no desk. There was a large chunk of glass on the floor that I almost stepped on. And finally upon check out I asked the front desk girl to email a receipt to me with a total of all my charges including the room and room service, etc so that I could expense it. She said ok. No email ever came. I then called them 2 days later and requested it again. They complied, but only a receipt for room service charges. I now have a 3rd request in and still waiting. Very annoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jul 6, 2017
It's beautiful, relaxing, and comfortable!! Has forest right out your back patio door. Can go on nature hikes with the family. Loved it!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Beautiful secluded lodge

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Great secluded escape. Beautiful nature trail to hike and the room was very nice with an outdoor space to sit. Nice gym, outdoor pool. Romantic. Ran out of time but spa sounded great. Restaurant a little slow during lunch and it wasn't even busy but very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lofi CA

Nice Quiet Hotel friendly staff

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Only issue was at check in, I booked 2 rooms ground floor facing forest and a crib for 1 room. At check in I didn't get the view that I thought I paid for instead view of parking lot when I said I called 3 days prior to confirm everything I was told that yes I would have those rooms and a crib. But at check in I was told that it's the hotels dissractipn to change the rooms. If that was the case I shouldn't have paid for a room with a certain view and it was confirmed when I called days earlier then change it without notice. Plus they didn't have a crib in the room I rate my check im as very bad But the rest of the stay was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous location

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: clean, stylish, comfortable
Cons: nothing
Location: always plenty to do, and this property is just beautiful
Beautiful room at reasonable rate...Wish we could have extended our stay here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overbooked/traffic jam

Posted May 24, 2017
Three events were booked for night we checked in. As a result, road was blocked for at least quarter mile from entrance. My wife walked from car to check-in with our credit card. Desk clerk refused to check us in without requiring her to return to car for her ID. As a result, we missed our dinner reservation.