Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good bargain

Posted Jul 21, 2016
We like this Inn and this is the 4th time we've stayed here over the years. Location is excellent and the Inn is nice enough with a good TV channel selection and nice soft and comfy beds
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indy

A real dump across from boardwalk and beach

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Tired little, old, motel. Room was small and needed repairs. Towels and linens were clean but the bed and mattresses were nasty. If not for it's location it would go out of business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Close to the Santa Cruz Boardwalk

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for visiting the Boardwalk and the beaches. The staff was friendly.
Cons: Smoking should not be allowed on the hotel grounds.
Location: The location was perfect for visiting the Boardwalk and the beaches.
The location was perfect for visiting the Boardwalk and the beaches, however we were very disappointed by all of the smoking allowed outside of our room. Even though the room was non-smoking, there was an ashtray right outside of our window and more of them placed all along the balcony. We could not get to and from our room without having to cover our face and walk past smokers. The parking was very limited and crowded. We tried to park in the lower lot and when we found it to be full could barely get out. Parking above the hotel was also crowded but better, although it meant having to go down a flight of stairs and then back up another flight of stairs with all of our belongings. The staff was friendly however, and it was nice to be able to grab a bite to eat in the morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice, walking distance to the beach

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Train to the redwoods a must, hotel has great places to eat, kid friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Betty, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We agree with you on our fabulous location as we are within walking distance of several venues, we are the best around! We look forward to your next stay with us. Come back soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Amazing location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
It was my first time staying here and it will probably be the k my place I stay at in Santa Cruz in the future. The location was perfect, it was literally a minute walk to the beach and Boardwalk. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Betty, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. It is a privilege to be able to serve guests such as yourself! We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate Location is absolutely one of our biggest draw as we have the best around! Please stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jun 8, 2016
We called in ahead of time and requested early check-in. We were told to come in, get a parking pass and would be called as soon as our early check-in was ready. Our room wasn't available until over 30 minutes after regular check-in time. Do we went from early to late.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great locatiln

Posted Jun 5, 2016
The only complaint I have is there is no way to make coffee in your room. The lobby has coffee but doesn't open until 8 am and they had no half and half! The only coffee shop within walking distance doesn't open until 7:30 am. If you are an early riser and you love coffee, be prepared. Otherwise this hotel was in a amazing location and the room was spotless and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec

bon hôtel qualité prix

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Cette endroit est un bon hôtel qualité-prix! à proximité de la plage et de tous les attractions principales. Idéal pour la famille.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Betty, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Coastview Inn. We enjoy hearing from our guests and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Love this place because it's so close to the beach but the bed we had was terrible hard as a brick and totally uneven that was the only down side to the place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay for a nicer hotel a little farther away!!

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Only one thing.... short distance to Boardwalk(which is run down and crawling with creepy people)
Cons: Better beds, better bedding, better carpet, better drapes, cleaner pool, better parking, better security, nicer staff, better food
Location: Close to Wharf and beach
They tried to run my card before I got there. I was in another town in a different hotel so my credit card took it as fraud. Can't be in 2 places at one time!! My card was cancelled!! Had to use spending money on hotel. Another family might not have been so lucky. Breakfast is a joke. Comforters had holes in them and a giant spider was inside the covers!!! Several kids were in pool so grandson started to play with them. They were a little rough. Come to find out they were the managers nephews and they said they swim there everyday. Several paying customers left the pool area because of this. Mind you the pool is super small. And to top it all off, my car was broken into while parked in their covered garage. $600.00 worth of CD's, Brand new clothes, sports memorabilia....gone!! Manager didn't seem too concerned. Said it happens a lot!! Cops were not concerned either. Do not stay here. Pay a little extra for some security.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Betty, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Coastview Inn  Please accept our sincere apologies for problems encountered during your stay.  I have forwarded your comments to the GM and owner. Clean and comfortable rooms are a priority for us, so for you to have an issue with the bedding during your stay, beside the frustration of the cc being cancelled and then your car being broke into with us is unacceptable. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to let us know where we need to focus more. Please give us another opportunity to provide sleeping accommodations the next time you are in our area.