Ratings based on 816 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I didn't care it was close to beach. It was rainin

Posted Feb 5, 2016
It was over rated. Layout was strange. We had to go down stairs from the parking lot and then back up stairs to the room. Room rating 2. Hair dryer didn't work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price , just a little outdated

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Nice staff , room was ok for the price . Breakfast was ok . Connection between upstairs and lower parking seemed sketchy. Overall 2 out of 5 .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice hotel with a staff that aims to please!

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Room, staff and continental breakfast.
Cons: Some minor updating.
Location: The location is one the prime spots with everything right at your feet.
It was a pleasure staying at the Coastview Inn Santa Cruz. The staff and management were above and beyond helpful. Good place to stay right in front of the beach and entertainment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livermore, Ca

Close to the beach

Posted Jan 20, 2016
They save the worst rooms for ppl who book through discount sites. Our window looked out directly onto the stair landing and EVERY person who came up the steps stopped and looked dierctly into our room. Our room, #206 looked out past the steps, to an old Mission that has been converted into an apt complex. I enjoyed looking at it as i am a fan of older buildings. I started making faces at the ppl and they made a point of not looking anymore. When telling the desk clerk about the rude ppl, I was told i should have kept the shades drawn if it bothered me. I was informed that the only rooms with a view were the two front rooms, although standing in front of other rooms windows you can see some of the ocean. when our toilet and shower backed up I called for housekeeping, but the little man at the office said he would bring up a plunger, which he then did. He tried to hand it to me, but I told him I was not plunging the toilet I paid for the room and I expect them to do it. He then said well I'm not going to do it and I said then get housekeeping and he said I can't come in your room and I said then get housekeeping or maintenance, he then came in and plunged the toilet. The housekeeping ladies were very accommodating. There is no exit to the parking so getting in and out was no easy task. The pastries were stale and there was no fresh fruit. The timer on the microwave didn't work. And even after plunging the shower still drained slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by Betty, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We sincerely apologize for not only the rude guests outside your door ,also our front desk agent. It is our policy to protect and provide great customer service for our guests and for you to have dealt with these issues are unacceptable. Please know your comments are extremely important to us and are being passed on to our owner and also general manager to be immediately addressed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Smooth check-in, super location, free parking.
Smooth check-in, super location, free parking, within walking distance to everything near the Boardwalk & wharf. Good size room, comfortable bed, clean room with mini fridge & microwave. Breakfast was good enough to get you off to the rest of the day with toast, cereal, juice, rolls, etc. Coffee & tea were always available in the lobby. I recommend Coastview Inn for location, and it's very helpful Manager, Ronald.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Little worse than its stars

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Our rokm's sink doesn't drain. There is a leak from toilet tank. The water pressure from the shower is so weak. The only thing that's great is Wifi which is included and fast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2015 by Betty, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We are working on providing updated items in our rooms so we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide sleeping accommodations for you the next time you are in our area. We would love another chance to provide for you a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Joan Jones from Palo Alto

Right on the beach

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Location was great the room was fair not great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2015 by Betty, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We are working on providing updated items in our rooms so we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide sleeping accommodations for you the next time you are in our area. We would love another chance to provide for you a great stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mattias

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels