Ratings based on 1,314 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location.
A bit cool at night. Parking is an issue. Good location. Though pets are allowed, there are no designated grassy areas. Access to the building was not explained. There is a Keurig machine for coffee. Nothing to heat water for tea, for the non-coffee drinkers. A small refrigerator is nice for those staying longer. The room was very clean. The cable and TV remote is for the more advanced in technology.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel .

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This hotel is pretty nice, room was really clean, good for the price you paid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Cancelled my reservation :(

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Upon arriving I was denied a room even with a reservation. Was left without a hotel room for the night. Luckily was able to find reservations somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Bing, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, I apologize for the mishap that occurred with your reservation. We do have certain policies that we must follow in order to ensure a great stay for all of our guests. At the very least, I’m glad you were not without a hotel during your time in Santa Cruz. Please feel free to contact me directly regarding your specific incident. Kind regards, Bing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grants Pass, OR

Nice but small room and dogs expensive

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Cons: Drop the pet fee.
Location: Central to the town. A few restaurants nearby.
Room was small yet more expensive compared to others we stayed in during this trip (nine days between Ventura and Chico). It was clean and laid out well. We had a room on the back side so it was quiet. The cost for our dog was excessive and substantially more than we paid anywhere else. But it was the only motel available that would take dogs. Pet area was very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Loved the hardwood floors. Friendly and accommodating staff. I'd stay here again. Walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the middle of everything.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: It had a nice appeal to it and was very comfortable to stay in.
Cons: There could be some improvement on little details when it comes to cleaning such as having the ceilings be spotless without any marks or stains.
It was a great experience overall, enjoyed our stay very much. Just make sure if you want to use the hot tub to do it before 9 pm as it does get closed up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Budget Friendly Option

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Location: Close to beach and downtown. Around the corner from "The Buttery" which is great for breakfast.
Nothing fancy, but clean and well maintained. Walter at the front desk was extremely helpful and even volunteered to make fresh coffee for our 3 am departure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
We have stayed here twice. It is clean with comfortable beds. There are no 4 or 5 star hotels in Santa Cruz. They are mostly all older type motels. Which is what the Continental looks like. But don't be afraid to book here. The rooms feel fresh and are very clean, with hardwood floors. A ten minute walk to downtown. A quick drive to the beach. There's not a lot of hotels or resorts at the beach, but lots of parking. We stayed here for a week last September when our son was starting university at Santa Cruz. We stayed recently to visit. Very good experience both times. Great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Friendly staff and good service, nothing sketchy about the hotel, very professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Close to where I need to be, price, and cleanliness.
Cons: Parking is limited. Charging $25 for early check-in is gouging!
Location: There are a few too many homeless folk roaming around here!!
Had to move out of my room after the first night -- no power. Staff was helpful but I had to move across the street to the "annex". Not as convenient. Parking a hassle and too many homeless people roaming around.