Ratings based on 1,808 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location! Very nice rooms.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
It was a pleasure! The hotel has some construction going on, i wish i knew about. And the room i stayed in had some weird water pressure. It was kinda confusing to get about to the elevator to the pool and to the front desk, due to the construction. It was amazing other than that! Heated pool was perfect! Sunsets are great too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive with a great location & view

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was under renovation, no pool, no workout room, very expensive to stay there. Room decor left a lot to be desired especially considering the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very relaxing time. The area that we were in was very quite. The staff was very courteous and helpful. From the person checking us in to the housekeeper, car valet, and waitresses and busboys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Family Vacation

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Very unique. The room was beautifully decorated. Very friendly staff.
Cons: Small amount of remodeling noise. Not too bad. Glad to see a hotel making improvements.
Location: Wonderful location right on the beach. Within walking distance to many restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Check for completion date on hotel remodel

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Santa Cruz is a fun place to visit.
The only complaint I have is not being informed construction would be starting half way into a seven day stay. I overheard one of the staff at the front desk (while waiting for my automobile) tell someone on the telephone the pool, jacuzzi and access to the beach would close on Sunday due to demolition. The noise from the jackhammers spoiled trying to enjoy my ocean view. I stayed on the 7th floor and the noise was unbelievably loud. I tried to get away from the noise but the only way to the beach was out the front door and down the street towards the pier. Unfortunately the beach area had heavy equipment on it. Had I been informed I would have stayed elsewhere and waited until the construction was completed. Housekeeping was wonderful. The entire staff was very nice. I don't understand why I was not informed prior to booking my trip. I am sure the Dream Inn will be very nice after their remodel is completed but I think it is very inconsiderate to not inform guests they were starting a major project that will be ongoing for approximately six months. Was Expedia informed? I booked and paid for this holiday two months in advance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean view but not worth the $$

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Nice but not great. The staff seem untrained and unprofessional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: View was awesome - room was nice, clean. Nice to have a patio outside of our room too.
Cons: My friend said the Jacuzzi and pool were highly chlorinated, was not enjoyable to be in. I didn't go in.
Location: Wharf was great, Boardwalk was close. Walk on West Cliff was fabulous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The location of the hotel is outstanding! Short walk to pier, boardwalk, and located on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Santa Cruz

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The ocean view and beach access are incredible! We stayed an extra night because of it.
Cons: There was nothing about our stay that wasn't great.