Ratings based on 1,731 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prime location with beach access

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Friendly and efficient service from checkin staff and valets. Rooms overlooking pool and beach are clean and comfortable. Enjoyed good food and lovely beach views at on site restaurant Aquarius.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Awesome view and location.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
This place was great. My wife and I were in town for our anniversary. They checked our luggage painlessly and then we went and enjoyed some drinks at the pool. Once we checked in we were pleased to find out that we had a deck and this huge view of Monterey Bay. The hotel staff was very friendly. One of the valets even helped me put my bike rack on the car. We will definitely be going back and staying there! Hopefully sooner than later.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sonora

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
It was s great hotel close to beach and the boardwalk , we loved sitting on our balcony watching the waves , we will definitely return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marin

Mid-week stay.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
I have stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions for family vacations and always enjoyed the stay. I stayed for business on a Tuesday night and was disappointed. I was given an accessible room on the first floor of the tower right across from the Engineering office. Presumably, nicer rooms were available. The room did not appear clean. There were no snacks and no water bottles provided. They not only charged a 20% gratuity on room service, they charged an additional $3 charge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

outdated

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: View
Cons: Remodeling
Location: Wharf was nice and downtown area.
This hotel needs a makeover. Very shaby. The view was nice, but that's about it. Having a room next to the elevator was very noisy along with the street traffic made it very hard to sleep. The restaurant was ok, not anything special. We chose to go to town for breakfast for more variety.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Excellent location, great staff!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: location location location
Cons: small stuff like cookies at the front desk or something else more warm and personal to offset the 1980s concrete vibe ;-)
Location: excellent location right on the beach and overlooking the fun wharf and boardwalk. Great for kids and those who like Coney Island type stuff (we do)!
Very nice time at Dream Inn. It's an older 1980s style hotel so it's not beautiful, but very clean, staff very responsive and nice and location unbeatable. Well worth the cost! Would definitely return here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, CA

On the beach

Posted Sep 6, 2016
The hotel is right on the beach. The staff are amazing! There is a great restaurant on the property. No need to leave the property. However, the boardwalk is only a few blocks away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and close to Boardwalk

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: We love the pool and the close proximity to the Boardwalk.
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms and adult pool time. The kids took over both pool and hot tub the whole time we were there.
Location: Location is fantastic, close to the Boardwalk and the view from the deck is fabulous. Close to the pier and wonderful restaurants.
We have always enjoyed coming to this hotel but this time we were very disappointed with cleanliness of the room. We moved once because of the heavy smoke smell in the first room, we were there 3 nights and the housekeeping was lackluster, robes left on desk and my robe had holes where the belt loops were supposed to be. No sugar for the coffee and the worst part were the rats that came out at night on the beach. We love the location, especially the pool which we took full advantage of but for the price we paid I would think there would be more attention to detail.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Hotel on the Beach!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Everything ! :-)
Location: Hire Bikes (Free of Charge) and cycle to downtown Santa Cruz or up the coast !
Lovely Hotel, Great Staff, Free Bike Hire & Excellent on-site restaurant!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing view, great location, excellent staff

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The view was absolutely perfecvt, the hotel was clean, th staff was friendly, and it was minutes walk away from boardwalk. There's beach access from the pool area. will definitely stay again. Very Romantic.