Ratings based on 1,099 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite expensive for this hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Has a restaurant and bar.
I went on a Saturday and was charge $410 for one night. I have stay here before and was not that expensive. Definitely not worth that price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Pricey, but very nice. Ten minutes from beach.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Very courteous staff and the hotel was very comfortable. Close to shopping, restaurants, movies, etc.
Cons: Hot water delivery.
Location: Ten minutes from Santa Cruz Beach Boardway. Roaring Camp Railroad nearby. Cowell State Park ... easy walking through old Redwoods also nearby.
The only issues are 1) although advertised on every platform, there is no Ethernet. The wireless connectivity is good. 2) Hot water is VERY slow to get to the upper floors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from collinsville, ct

Great weekend getaway

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful quiet setting in the trees, well appointed king suite with fireplace.
Great weekend getaway from San Francisco. We stopped on the way and watched whales on Pigeon Point, ate at great restaurants in Santa Cruz, Monterey and Carmel by the Sea, went to a farmers market and great farm stands, the beach and spent Saturday at the Monterey Aquarium!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mishawaka In

Vacation

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable beds, great food
I have traveled for a long time and I have never stayed at a Hotel as nice and friendly and accomidating as this Hotel was. They were very gracious to help me in my situation and did everything they could to help. The rooms were awesome, beds were comfortable, food was good, pool was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Beautiful Hotel & Wedding Venue

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Our Wedding and Reveption was a Dream come true, thanks to the Hilton Santa Cruz team. From the first call until the moment my now husband and I and our guests departed, everyone there, Blair at the welcome desk to David at the buffet area, treated us like VIPs. Our ceremony and reception coordinating staff, Amanda, Cerissa and Benjamin, Amazing! Our reception, from set up to take down, Michael your the Best! Hats off to our Chef, the food was truly delicious, from the appetizers, salads, main dishes and dessert!! Thank you again Hilton Santa Cruz team, you made our Dream a reality on 9•8•17 💜
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gridley CA

Been here many times

Posted Sep 6, 2017
I have stayed here many times and would continue to use this hotel. This is the frist time I ordered room service on this last stay was just a little disappointing, the night before I ordered breakfast to be delivered by 0615 the next morning at 0625 I called to see where it was and I was told the kitchen stay was short today and my breakfast would not be delivered until around 0700, not acceptable as I had to leave at 0700 for my work not even a phone call to attached find my expense report for this week. If you have any questions do let me know tell me my breakfast would be late or give me an option to use the morning buffet. The in room service card shows breakfast served from 0600 to 1100 but apparantly they dont go to work until 0600, something wrong about this. I did use the buffet and by 0700 when I left they only had the eggs, potatoes on the line, bacon and sausage was still cooking, very little items were available. For a working traveler this service is totaly unacceptable. Not sure I will use their morning room service again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: spacious rooms
Cons: hire new staff,management and facilities. customer service is severely lacking and the upkeep of the property is poor.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable and that is the end of anything positive I experienced at this establishment. The hotel was overbooked and the king size bed we had pre-payed for was downgraded to two double beds. Staff was rude and unapologetic about being unable to get us a king size bed. After feeling like I had to harass them over it to resolve the problem they weakly compensated with complimentary breakfast for 1 morning. As for that breakfast- I strongly advise going anywhere else for breakfast - their offering is overpriced and unappetizing and hotels charging half their rate would be offering it inclusive of the room charge in the first place. And forget all the 'views' that are offered in expedia - our 'hills view high floor' was a level 3 view of a parking lot. Oh, and don't expect to get your hilton honors points if you book through expedia! What a joke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you did not get the room type you preferred and reserved for. I could not locate your reservation because your name is not on the review, but if you would kindly let us know the next time you are coming to town, we will make sure you will get what you reserved for. I am also working with our team to re-train our staff on our customer service and room assignments per your feedback. As for the Hilton points, points are only given to reservations booked under the branded website. This is out of the control of all hotels under the brand umbrella. What we can do is ensure you had a great and memorable stay. We look forward to hearing from you soon and in showing you a better side of the Hilton Santa Cruz/Scotts Valley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Dorado Hills, CA

Good Hotel, Great Location!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We stayed over Labor Day weekend and were actually glad to be away from the beach and the crush of traffic. The hotel is in a nice location with easy access and good restaurants nearby. We stayed in a suite, and it was very large and perfect if you have kids. Our room was clean, but housekeeping would show up late afternoon when we were back resting after the day's activities. Pool was small, and breakfast very busy, but the staff was really nice and overall stay was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa clara

Overall good.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Check in was a little of a nightmare. Waited almost 1:30 hours for the room to find out that we were waiting for the wrong room. However, staff was very apologetic and we were offered free dinner and breakfast which was nice. The staff in general are very pleasant. The kids loved the pool and jacuzzi. Good location. We were surrounded by beautiful trees. Got to chance to visit roaring camp railroads which was the highlight of our trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us this feedback. I'm delighted to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy our beautiful location and hotel amenities. I am sorry for the check-in experience you received. Our hotel was sold out all Labor Day weekend and apparently there were two reservations under “Kim”. The front desk rushed the room for the wrong Kim reservation. I know you are aware, I am happy we were able to compensate you with both Dinner and Breakfast. This is a rare incident and hopefully you will still consider returning to the Hilton on your next visit to Scotts Valley.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Breakfast was good, excellent service. Not walking distance to anything but if you have a car it's fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear of your great experience with our Restaurant service! In regards to venues within walking distance, we have quite a few that are within a short ride away. We work with local shuttle services, for a small fee, will be able to take you to the beaches, boardwalk, Henry Cowell National Park in minutes. Please let us know on your next visit so we can assist where we can in advance.