Ratings based on 999 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location to Santa Cruz

Posted May 15, 2017
Overall, my stay was fine and the common areas of the hotel were nice. I like that they have a full bar and room service. However, I stayed in an accessible room that wasn't very functional. There was no way to take a shower without it spraying the entire bathroom. And the light switch was across the room from the entrance to the hotel room. The towels were kept in a closet outside of the bathroom? An upgrade to this room to make it functional could go a long way! Other than that, the hotel is in a good location to the beach (must drive).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight, UK

What you expect from a Hilton 'business' hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: As above.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: As above
Overall very good - what you expect from a Hilton 'business; hotel - quiet, clean, comfortable, well decorated, good facilities. Some of the items on the dinner menu were not available, but no great problem for us. Located a few miles out of Santa Cruz, but good access to freeways etc., plus the bonus that redwood and other national parks are close by. Very helpful staff, and we would happily stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York/New Jersey

Beautiful location. Family focused.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: More reasonably priced transportation to and from the hotel. Hopefully in the future the hotel can provide direct transportation.
Location: Easy access to downtown Santa Cruz, Stan Cruz board walk which has restaurants, and an amusement park. Also, downtown of Los Gatos, and many parks
I enjoyed every day at this hotel. The mornings are very peaceful, as you welcome the rising of the sun. The evening can be a described as the winding down of a stressful day, as you watch the sun goes down the mountain through the beautiful trees that surrounds this hotel. Absolutely beautiful and peaceful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Laundry room shouldn't be open 24 hrs!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast, but should be included in the cost of stay.
Location: Wonderful dinner at Shadow-Brook in near by Capitola.
Hotel was very nice, but we were in a room near the 24 hour guest laundry room. There was one room between ours and the laundry facility, but that wasn't enough. At 5:00am, we were woken by loud banging from the laundry room that continued for nearly an hour. I'd suggest the laundry room be limited during day time hours, unless it is being supervised by a hotel staff member to insure the noise isn't getting too loud for surrounding rooms. That's my only complaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing with us your very constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear the guest laundry room woke you up so early. Currently, it is a Hilton requirement to offer 24 hours availability for services such as laundry room, fitness center, etc, but have looked into this disturbance further to find a way to alleviate the noise in the near future. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope this would not deter you from returning. Thank for letting us take care of you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Apr 27, 2017
If you must stay in Scotts Valley, because your passing through or visiting Santa Cruz, then The Hilton on La Madrona Dr., is your #1 choice for a 4 star hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
After booking with Expedia. Arriving to check in. I was told no room was available.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us your comment. We are very sorry to hear a room was not available upon check-in. Please kindly note, this is a rare occurrence for us. I have shared your concern with our leadership team to ensure this never occurs again. I hope this one isolated incident would not deter you from returning to the Hilton in the near future. Please let us know when you are returning and we will ensure your future stay is seamless and memorable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel with great facilities

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Cons: I thought $15 for breakfast was too expensive. Found excellent breakfasts at Auntie Mames for 1/3 less cost.
Location: I was visiting my Dad so didn't spend much time with tourist activities.
Stayed five days. Very comfortable, excellent maid service, and hotel staff take pride in their work
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to get away

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very friendly staff. The hotel is in a great location near Santa cruz. The rooms are very nice and clean and the pool/hot tub has an amazing view of beautiful redwood trees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento CA

Great Location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: It's location and access to several attractions. It also has the most beautiful backdrop of redwoods.
Cons: May be offer free breakfast.
Location: The location is impeccable! It's less than 15 mins away from Santa Cruz Boardwalk and about 10 mins away from The Mystery Spot. East freeway access.
After reading some of the reviews I almost changed my mind about this pick and cancelled my reservations. I am so very glad that I didn't. The hotel was clean and the staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Our room was on the first floor and since we got the room thru Expedia, I had no complaints about the room since it was a steal to begin with for a stay at the Hilton. It was clean, the beds could use an upgrade but it wasn't too bad. If I'm in the area ever again, this will be my first choice for a place to stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benicia, CA

Just Ok

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The parking was plentiful.
Cons: Time for new bath towels and new mattresses. We would have appreciated materials on local attractions in the room.
Location: This hotel is closet to Henry Cowell Redwoods, but a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Santa Cruz and the beach. Breakfast options nearby were limited.
Our room was ok. Nothing special. The beds were soft (probably nearing replacement) and the bath towels did not appear to be thoroughly clean (perhaps also nearing replacement age). For example, our wash cloths were thin and rough and the hand towels had makeup residue on them from the previous guest. A note for families with young children, our room had a shower only, no bath tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your constructive feedback! We will definitely be looking into the towel conditions and assess possible replacements like you suggested. In regards to local attraction, we have those listed in our in-room guest service directory, but we will make sure every room has a copy in the future. All our guestrooms were recently renovated in May 2016 and all the mattresses were replaced with new, comfortable models. We use Hilton approved beds that have a soft pillow top and perhaps that’s why it felt so soft. We hope this incident would not deter you from returning to our hotel in the near future and we thank you for letting us accommodate you.