Ratings based on 1,242 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
This was an awesome place to stay! Reasonable, great staff, very accommodating. Will definitely stay here if in the area again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the boardwalk

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Hotel had amazing and welcoming staff upon check in. The room was clean and comfortable. The swimming pools were great at night since they are heated and had an enjoyable stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa, CA

Great Find!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
I booked this hotel last minute. It was a great find and a great price. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable, had super linens and nice pillows. The heated pool and hot tub were great. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was okay--not great--the service was great. My three year old loved making me an espresso in the morning. Ask for a ground floor room by the pool--it looks like most or all of the ground floor rooms have outdoor patio seating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Nice theme and feel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, theme, amenities
Cons: Walkways ("hallways") are outside, and, in some places, flood during rainstorms.
Location: Close [walking] proximity to downtown, city parks, restaurants, and the beach and pier
We stayed here in early January. The weather wasn't great, but our hotel was. The hotel is very clean, has a consistent and relevant Northern California theme, and is in close [walking] proximity to downtown, city parks, restaurants, and the beach and pier. The rooms are very comfortable, with great furniture (bed, chairs, tables, desk) and appliances (great shower, TV, fridge).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from del mar, ca

Unbeatable Lodging and Great Location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: free parking.
Location: Buttery (a great bakery), wholefoods, trader joe's, and all the shops and restaurants are within walking distance.
The hotel is modern, clean and the staff are super friendly and helpful. We wanted a refrigerator and microwave in the room and they happily obliged. The hotel restaurant is also upscale and have good food with both vegetarian and nonvegetarian options. They have a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi. But the best of all is the location of the hotel. It is a 5 minute walk to the main strip in Santa Cruz where all the shops and restaurants are. Since parking is a hassle in Santa Cruz, it is nice to be able to walk from the hotel to every spot. We also walked from the hotel to the beach/boardwalk. And that takes about 15 minutes. Buttery which is one of the best bakeries in Santa Cruz is also within walking distance. And a new vegetarian place has just opened less than a block from the hotel. Wholefoods is also close by and is about 10-15 minutes walking. Wifi is free but parking is $10 / day. I would recommend getting a room in the back rather than the ones facing the pool since if there are kids, there will be some noise.
4 out of 5
by Jason

Great Start to Road Trip Hotels

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great stay after a long drive, hotel was clean and friendly. Great for family vacationing and boardwalk is 5 mins away!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost "great"

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Really liked the property. Overall friendly polite staff. Enjoyable contemporary vibe. A very good experience with two exceptions: 1) Charging $10.00/day to self park park in facility owned, on site, ample parking lot, seemed purely greedy. No other reason. 2) Contacted the hotel the next morning after check out to see if phone charger was left there and was told they could not find out until "afternoon." Poor customer service in this case.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near San Francisco

Good location for our needs.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Good location for walking to town, although a group of homeless were located near the hotel on the way to town. The hotel had good amenities but we were glad to have a room located away from the elevators. The pool view that we paid extra for was more like a room top view with the pool on the side. Staff were very pleasant. We enjoyed the modern style of this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

Sound insulation is poor

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Since it is Marriot autograph collection. It is obvious a lot of money spent on upgrading and decorating this hotel The sound insulation really poor. you could hear shower, bathroom use next door Also there is a need to pay for parking $10 per night. Lacks value for the price you will pay.
4 out of 5
by Torge

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels