Ratings based on 1,290 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice boardwalk hotel, surprisingly clean too.

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Had a slight issue when being charged by the hotel (was on the hotel's end, not mine) and the manager (or whoever was operating the front desk) was being a bit of an a-hole. He called me around 10 or 11 AM saying the card I used wouldn't go through, and wanted me to give another card over the phone. Needless to say, I wasn't going to do that over the phone, so I went in-person and eventually the charge magically "went through" after I got on the phone with my bank... Anyway, after that the manager was very nice and we had a decent stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Great location. Staff wasn't very friendly. They had coffee in the office, but it wasn't open in the morning?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Free Wi-Fi and walking distance to the boardwalk.
Cons: the parking lot was not big enough for all of its guests and the vending machine was out of water. All rooms face the pool so it was loud and echoed.
Location: Walking distance to the boardwalk.
First I was taking by surprise when the charges came through on my account as a different hotel. Since I had not been informed of this change, I was concerned that my credit info had been compromised. When I arrived at the hotel, I found that the hotel had switched hands and no one had notified me. Therefore, the hotel I booked was not the one I received. I booked Knight's Inn (a chain that would have to answer to corporate if unsatisfactory). I received Sea Air Lodge. I was guaranteed late check in. My room was ready. My bed was clean. The bathroom was pretty clean. There was a microwave and a mini fridge. I had an additional locked door in my room that made me uncomfortable so I blocked it with a chair. Parking was terrible and felt unsafe. The building as a whole felt unsafe so I moved my table in front of the door and when I left the room I took all of my belongings. This is a motel....not a hotel. It was fine for the two night stay and all I did was sleep there. Walking distance to the boardwalk. No breakfast. Free Wi-Fi. Vending machine was out of water.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst hotel and service I've had in several years

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: customer service and politeness in dealing with customers
Location: lots to do. right next to boardwalk
This hotel is in a great location. Unfortunately...that is all that is good about this hotel. The staff was rude and unhelpful in dealing with the parking situation. The room was dirty, had no towels, and the TV didn't work but other than that it was great. The customer service was a negative 5 as both staff members did nothing to help us figure out the parking and the neighborhood. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Pay a little more and find somewhere else where customer service is offered and welcomed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

One look and we were out

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Trash left outside the room from previous guests (including a box of condoms), flickering spotlight over the bed, paint peeling from every corner of the room, odd stains on the bedding, urine on the walls and air conditioning. We were refused a refund, despite checking-in 4hrs before our reservation. Expedia did everything they could to help, but we went through our bank and Wyndam corporate headquarters to get everything squares away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to everything

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Location: Within walking distance to the Boardwalk, Wharf and downtown SC.
The owners were extremely nice and accommodating. I went for a race but wouldn't be done before check out. They helped my friend check me out and allowed me to leave my car in the lot until I was done. My room was clean, big and had a fantastic bed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

3 adults + 1 old kid, 3 beds quite comfortable

Posted Sep 10, 2016
With GPS, no problem to find the place. Close to the beach, nice evening walk around the area. Short drive to the shopping centre, Safeway, Trader Joe & UCSC etc. The room is OK with 3 comfortable beds & clean, staff is helpful. We stayed there 5 nights. However the wall is thin & one night we got some noisy neighbors talking loudly till 3am in the morning. It may also be good to have a kettle in the room to boil water for instant coffee as it is not convenient to go to reception for coffee in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very thin walls

Posted Sep 6, 2016
I could hear the person in the next room snoring. I could hear pipes, fighting couples, and every foot step outside my door. With that said, the hotel is close to the Boardwalk, downtown shopping, and all around a safe neighborhood to be in. While I was checking in, I got a parking ticket. It only took two minutes to park and check in and the meter maids were already circling my vehicle and placing a welcome note on the windshield if my car. The staff was very friendly and helpful through the process and provided all the necessary documentation to have the parking ticket reversed.