Ratings based on 2,100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Antelope

Good location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Shampoo and conditioner for the rooms. Great pet friendly hotel. Too bad Santa Cruz is NOT. We will not return.
Location: Close to the Beach Boardwalk and wharf.
Walking distance to the Boardwalk and wharf with shopping and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, Ca

amazing stay for the price

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Access to everything
Cons: We found everything to be just fine.
Location: The location was perfect.
I find it hard sometimes to find a reasonable hotel that is pet friendly in Santa Cruz. This hotel exceeded my expectations. It was clean, comfortable, and had a great pool and hot tub. The best part was that it was walking distance to boardwalk and shopping on pacific ave. I definitely plan to stay here again. Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Aug 26, 2016
2 blocks from wharf. 3 blocks from Boardwalk. Easy walk to other tourist sites and some restaurants. Did not even move the car for first 3 days! Older Lodge but seems pretty well maintained. Free parking, WiFi and continental breakfast all appreciated. Will recommend to friends that want a convenient and relatively inexpensive place to stay in Santa Cruz.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
This hotel is in a great location about 5 min walk from the beach, wharf and Boardwalk. Also downtown is only 10 min walk away. Rooms are ok but floors not clean. Pool and hot tub are great and nice area to relax at the end of day. Continental breakfast is also on par with other hotels but has more room than others we have been to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA guy

Nice location- close to the boardwalk

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Our room 114 window faced the pool area with all night security lights. Our window covering slats did not cut out the light very well- drapes are needed. Also in the middle of the night, the refrigerator started this sleep stopping rattle(defrost mode?). You could tilt to rifer back to stop it then it would wake you up again later. Maybe that's why Mgt left ear plugs in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwick, RI

A beach hotel with local ambiance.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Low key.
Cons: Some of the furniture is dated which does add a bit to the ambiance but some had water damage which should be replaced.
Location: There is much to do within walking distance and public transportation is available. Close to beach, marine life,boardwalk, wharf, scenic train ride.
I stayed four days and found the hotel to be quiet and cordial in a very busy beach area. Plenty to do within walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The hotel was ok. Parking was very limited I had to get a visitor pass to park in the handicap because there was no more parking. Hotel was close to the beach maybe a 8 min walk just a lot of drunks and junkies one your way to and from the beach. Room smelled like weed which I didn't mind because I was traveling alone but if I was with my son it would have been a different story. A lot of nice restaurants and beaches around the area. I had to check out early due to an emergency but they were kind enough To call Expedia to get me my money back for the night I didn't stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Nice Hotel.close to the beach.good breakfast and selections.polite and fast at the front counter. Only one concern....parking lot needs to be wider for vehicles to park....SUV ' S are big and wide!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location..close to the beach

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Hotel decor/cleanliness and breakfast were standard. Check in was quick and efficient. Staff were professional and polite. Great location. Quick five minutes walk to the beach. About a 10 min walk to shopping and dining.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

Room and staff was great... One issue

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Everything was quick and easy. Booked and paid for online, just had to provide a card for incidentals. Room was nice and bed was cozy.... But room kind of smelled like B.O. A few sprays of febreeze or something would have made it A+....