Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Wonderful relaxation spot just a short walk from t

Posted May 2, 2017
We just loved staying at the Rio Sands. It's a lovely hotel. Very clean and comfy. We were able to stroll to the beach and to a few places to eat. Aptos is a very laid back relaxing vacation town that's only a short drive from the amenities of Capitola and the boardwalk of Santa Cruz. I will definitely be returning to the Rio Sands!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San diego

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Big, clean room. Large selection at the offered breakfast
The room had more room than we needed :) The kitchen is a great idea, although we didn't need it. Other than too much chlorine in the hot tub, this hotel was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to the Beach

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach and a nice breakfast.
Cons: A better description of the layout. I wasn't expecting the bed to be in the front room.
Location: Obviously it's close to the beach. You can walk on the path that parallels the beach to check out the old ship. Bonfires and s'mores on the beach.
We enjoyed out stay at this hotel. It was so close to the beach. We would walk back and forth all the two days we were there. The pool was nice, the kids enjoyed swimming. The hot tub was well used and maybe could have used a cleaning more regularly. The breakfast was good. The kids filled up with things they liked and us adults did also. The room was clean, but the lay out is not ideal. The bathroom was small and the first room you enter into was the King size bed, so it doubled as a hallway. The kitchen was clean. It didn't have any utensils, but those could be purchased for a $50 fee. They were unclear about that, but as long as you had your own dishes etc you could use the kitchen. The roll away bed was nice to have because the couch was not a pull out bed as we had anticipated. Overall, it was nice despite the smallness of the room.
4 out of 5
by Carol L

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The check in was easy, desk people courteous, etc. Our room was reasonably large, quiet, comfortable king bed, small deck from which we could see the ocean... Bathroom fixtures were modern, etc. All in all was a very comfortable environment. The beach was a 5 minute walk from our room, with luncheon and dinner restaurants within easy walking distance.
1 out of 5
by charity

No air conditioning

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
There is no air conditioning there so if u go when it's hot outside the rooms are very hot and only have a little fan that doesn't push the air around and the sun just beats into ur room .
5 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great value... ideal location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Perfect location!

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Perfect location, just steps from the beach. Facility was updated and fresh--very clean and smelled nice and clean too. Comfortable beds and pillows, nice pool area and hot tub. Breakfast area was also very nice. Would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...close to the beach

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Continental breakfast and the room was very nice
Cons: Fix the wi-fi
Location: Staff was not helpful in recommending things to do nearby with my kids
Lovely hotel. Very clean with updated décor. Only complaint I have is that the free Wi-Fi was not working so I could not get on the internet to look for things to do in the area and the front desk was not very helpful in recommending places to see nearby. Other than that, had a great stay.
4 out of 5
by Melanie

Aptos perfect!!

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Really comfortable family stay. Pool great and the staff very friendly!
4 out of 5
by Yolanda

Hidden getaway location

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Good location. Bed was very comfortable and was quiet. Excellent restaurant within walking distance and very close to beach. A hidden gem in Aptos.