Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

Great hotel, close to beach at reasonable rates

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: close proximity to beach, and clean
Cons: better fruit selection since we are so close to Watsonville and Castroville which has some of the best fruits and vegetables around.
Location: not much in as a selection for dining, one restaurant and it was closed, liquor store small and dirty, bathroom facilities at beach were horrible
Room was clean, bed very comfortable, kid friendly, area for smoking separate, staff excellent, breakfast something you would expect for continental; good, would have preferred more fruit selection being so close to some of the best farming in California. Close proximity to the beach, wish there were more restaurants closer or at least a better choice, beach had great firepits for bonfire could use a couple more, bathroom facilities at the beach were horrid, but the Hotel was great!!!!!!!!! Would recommend and would also stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Decent hotel, good location.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location near the beach, friendly staff, nice breakfast.
Cons: Room was cramped and a bit stuffy.
Location: Right across from a pretty nice beach area. There was a delicious deli down the street (Pixie deli?)
This hotel was decent. We had a "junior suite," and I think the term "suite" may have been an overstatement, as there was not really any kind of sitting area that was separate from the beds. In all, this was pretty cramped for a family of 5 so I would recommend a larger room if they have any available. The room was clean but a bit stuffy, the pool area was nice, and the complimentary breakfast was pretty good and in a nice sitting area. The best thing was the location, very close to the beach and to a nice deli.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aptos CA

Just needed a place to put feet up a few nights.

Posted May 13, 2017
It was nice and very quiet, well maintained, staff was polite, and all went very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Wonderful relaxation spot just a short walk from t

Posted May 2, 2017
We just loved staying at the Rio Sands. It's a lovely hotel. Very clean and comfy. We were able to stroll to the beach and to a few places to eat. Aptos is a very laid back relaxing vacation town that's only a short drive from the amenities of Capitola and the boardwalk of Santa Cruz. I will definitely be returning to the Rio Sands!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San diego

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Big, clean room. Large selection at the offered breakfast
The room had more room than we needed :) The kitchen is a great idea, although we didn't need it. Other than too much chlorine in the hot tub, this hotel was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to the Beach

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach and a nice breakfast.
Cons: A better description of the layout. I wasn't expecting the bed to be in the front room.
Location: Obviously it's close to the beach. You can walk on the path that parallels the beach to check out the old ship. Bonfires and s'mores on the beach.
We enjoyed out stay at this hotel. It was so close to the beach. We would walk back and forth all the two days we were there. The pool was nice, the kids enjoyed swimming. The hot tub was well used and maybe could have used a cleaning more regularly. The breakfast was good. The kids filled up with things they liked and us adults did also. The room was clean, but the lay out is not ideal. The bathroom was small and the first room you enter into was the King size bed, so it doubled as a hallway. The kitchen was clean. It didn't have any utensils, but those could be purchased for a $50 fee. They were unclear about that, but as long as you had your own dishes etc you could use the kitchen. The roll away bed was nice to have because the couch was not a pull out bed as we had anticipated. Overall, it was nice despite the smallness of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...close to the beach

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Continental breakfast and the room was very nice
Cons: Fix the wi-fi
Location: Staff was not helpful in recommending things to do nearby with my kids
Lovely hotel. Very clean with updated décor. Only complaint I have is that the free Wi-Fi was not working so I could not get on the internet to look for things to do in the area and the front desk was not very helpful in recommending places to see nearby. Other than that, had a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

motel disguised as a hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The first room we were given was old and smelled like stale cigarettes. We given an upgraded room that had been updated. The room was nice but the walls were so thin you could hear everything from all of the other rooms. The beach that was close to the hotel had many homeless people sleeping everywhere. There was a stench of urine and feces as you sat on the beach. The positives about the hotel were the pool was nice and the breakfast room and food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga

Nice

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The Rio Sands Hotel was an excellent experience . It was clean and comfortable and suitable for a family of 6. The staff was great. The breakfast was good. The deco was beautiful. We had a great time in the pool. It was Awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hi Gutz Gakily, Thanks for your review! We're happy to see that everything worked out well for you and that you enjoyed the location and the amenities. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Our stay was amazing the room was perfect and only 5 minutes from the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're very happy to see that you had a pleasant time with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!