Ratings based on 538 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga

Nice

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The Rio Sands Hotel was an excellent experience . It was clean and comfortable and suitable for a family of 6. The staff was great. The breakfast was good. The deco was beautiful. We had a great time in the pool. It was Awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hi Gutz Gakily, Thanks for your review! We're happy to see that everything worked out well for you and that you enjoyed the location and the amenities. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Our stay was amazing the room was perfect and only 5 minutes from the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're very happy to see that you had a pleasant time with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, close walk to the beach.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Stayed for one night, close to the beach. It's a great little getaway spot. Very quiet, situated in a friendly beach neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hi Meg, Thank you very much for your generous review! We're very happy to see you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Close to the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Very clean. We were in an updated room and it was nice, but non-updated rooms were dark and dated. The location near the beach is great. The clientele was a bit sketchy, not some place I'd like to take my kids to. The owners seemed very helpful and focused on our comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: comfy, quiet, good breakfast, close to the beach and a good deli, nice swimming pool and patio, friendly staff
Location: Nearby: the University of California--Santa Cruz and the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, Rio Del Mar Beach,; one hour from the Monterey Peninsula
Quiet neighborhood and short walk to the beach. Clean comfortable rooms---we liked having a refrigerator and microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hi Rosanne, Thanks for your wonderful review! We're very happy to see that you enjoyed the grounds and the location. Thank you for staying with us and we're very much looking forward to seeing you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The room was outdated and smelled bad. It didn't feel clean and the carpet was gross. The pool and hot tub were closed. The bedroom was right next to the front window, the walls were thin, and late arrivals woke us up as they walked past our room. The breakfast room was updated and nice, and the location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Safe location, close to beach

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness was top-notch. The tempurpedic king size mattress was fabulous. Working hot tub. Breakfast included boiled eggs
Cons: The coffee maker inside the room had one packet of decaf and nothing else. No carpet -- it was cleaner, but a bit noisy.
Location: Great location. No loud partying, vagrants, etc. Felt very safe. Very, very close to the beach. Close to shopping.
Overall, this stay was fabulous. The hotel and our room were very clean, and I liked the cleanliness of the wood floor, rather than carpet, although it did make it a bit less cozy and didn't absorb the sounds. I was taping up a box, and felt like I was waking the whole neighborhood, but that's just what happens without carpet. We had a little balcony that opened up to a view of the waves crashing and we could also hear and smell the ocean. It was great. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was your typical continental breakfast bar, but it DID include boiled eggs, which was a real plus. The breakfast room was the best I've ever seen in this type of hotel. It's huge, with plenty of seating, and even includes a couch area next to a working fireplace.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Needs a remodel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: It is a very convenient location just 100 feet from the beach!
Cons: Sound isolation, water heater, kitchen venting, shower stall, wiring, etc.
Location: Lots of great beaches, restaurants, the Santa Cruz boardwalk
We were in the building near the main street with a room above the breakfast dining area. I would not recommend this building at all. The room is in need of a remodel at best. You get woken up in the morning to the smell of bacon and other cooking for the free breakfast and the music bass comes right through the floor and the traffic noise on the main street picks up considerably. The water in the shower would go from too hot to freezing cold while showering. The electrical wiring behind the microwave and refrigerator was downright scary! We unplugged everything to be on the safe side.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels