Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Or

My hotel stay

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness
Cons: Tv was always in and out of signal couldn't watch much. Bathtub mat nearly slipped from under me.
Location: Walk on the beach, eat, hot tub, swim
When we arrived early, (12pm) our front desk clerk was very nice. Knowing check in wasn't till 3pm, the gentleman let us stay and rest (after a 12 hour drive). Which I greatly appreciated! And i can't forget he had upgraded our room unexpectedly, which was a big deal to me because we were on our honeymoon. The cleanliness of the room was beyond my expectations. Overall the stay was more than expected. Looking to come back and stay again! Good job to the young man who help me! Checking out the following morning the gal seemed kind of short but exceptional
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
I liked that you could walk to the beach. I was not a fan of the lack of nearby restaurants. Not a whole lot to do if you are vacationing. I stayed with my 2 kids for gymnastics meet in Santa Cruz since it was more affordable. It does the job for a one night stay. Room was clean enough, although halls have seen better days and my kids and I kept smelling a not so pleasant smell.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hilmar, Ca

Beach hotel in a quiet area

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Nice breakfast area.
Cons: We were offered the suite but wanted a regular room. The hotel was half empty, so I know they were available. I should have called the hotel.
Location: Lots to do. Beach, Santa Cruz boardwalk, wharf, Monterey.
Two days here. Enjoyed the peaceful solitude. No summertime crowds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Not much . The towels were clean and there were enough of them although we left without using the shower.
Cons: The pillows on the bed are hard as rocks .They could be honest in their dealings with clients.
This is at best a one star hotel.The location is not at all like the one pictured on the web site.We had booked a room that was supposed to have a kitchen and balcony and a king size bed .It did have those things ,but the kitchen was extrodinarily small although it did contain all the appliances necessary.The coffee pot did not work.They gave you paper cups and straws for the coffee pot...nothing else.The balcony was small and overlooked the alley and the houses across from it.I could not find the lovely pool pictured on the web site.We left after one night and we were assured by management we would not be charged for the second night.Not true. They lied and said we spent the second night there.We must be gifted with magical powers to be in two places at the same time as we spent the night in a beach house of friends with several people who can testify to our presence
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Friendly staff, clean room, quiet neighborhood, reasonable price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected from online advertising

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The bed was comfortable. There is little privacy regarding sound. Conversations and people walking on the 2nd floor balcony were louder than expected. It was close to the beach. Room was musty and required opening the slider and window.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Great location close to beach
Cons: Needs an update
Location: Beach , pier , restaurants
Good mid price hotel , in need of an update , breakfast could be better
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review and your comments about our location. We're happy to see that you had a decent stay and we hope to see you again soon, we'll be sure to set you up in one of our beautifully renovated Deluxe Suites!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Valley

Nice and close to the beach.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Location - This area is not "super traficcky."
Cons: WiFi
Location: Beach and beach, of course you have to drive to the boardwalk/wharf which is only 15 min away.
Great location. 100 steps to the beach is correct. There is a restaurant and a few small deli's/pizza/coffee house within walking distance. Great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hi Bobby, Thank you for your wonderful review! We're very happy to see that you had a pleasant time with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gutes Familienhotel.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Schöner Pool
Wir hatten drei Übernachtungen. Wir waren auch im Monterey Bay Apuarium.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio Linda, Ca

This was a refreshing place to stay.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Feels modern and fresh. Recently updated, I think. Beautiful backyard grounds. Breakfast area is comfortable and nice, clean, airy and pretty.
Cons: Lower price! It was worth the price, I just had to throw that in there!
Location: Lots of stuff to do near by. Depends on what your into.
The person upstairs was unaware he was upstairs (slam things around, doors?), especaly at 11:30pm. I choose not to call and complain, but I could have and feel the issue would be resolved, But otherwise pleasant place to unwind. I will return. The atmosphere was clean and friendly. The place is old but updated to feel modern and fresh. The continental breakfast was sufficient. The proximity to the beach was close enough. I could hear the waves crashing from my downstairs window! It was great. I will recommend this place (I already have). And I will be back as often as I can.