Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north little rock

older nice motel near the boardwalk

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Motel was older, but supriseingly clean and comfortable. The bed felt very good. The jacuzzi in the room was "weird", but didn't bother me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz,CA

Great Location Lousy Experience

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Comfortable beds and good location. Just a block or two from the Boardwalk.
Cons: Redo the bathroom!! Wash walls and door casing. Sand and paint walls and door casing. Replace all caulking. Replace broken bathtub/shower surround.
Location: Just a block or two from the Boardwalk.
When we arrived at the motel check in went mostly smooth. I found it quite difficult to understand the clerk due his thick middle eastern accent. We ask for a downstairs room (I know there are no guarantees) but still had to climb about 6 or 8 stairs to get to our room. Parking was a nightmare!! The lot was very small and there was no available space to park when we returned from dinner. I asked the clerk where I was supposed to park. He came out of the office and pointed to a space which would have blocked 3 other vehicles preventing them form leaving the lot. When I told him this he was rather insistant that I park there anyway. I told him I would not park there and the reason so he pointed to another place between a parked car and a dumpster. It was impossible to access this spot since the driveway was a narrow alley and there was no room to pull into the spot, back up and straighten out. By this time we were getting frustrated and as I had clearly explained why we could not park in either space he suggested. At this time he realized that we had handicapped plates on our car, went into the office and spoke to another man (in a foreign language) evidently telling him to move his car out of the handicapped parking space. The mans car did not have handicapped plates nor a hang tag on the mirror. Yes it was a very convienient spot to the office but he should not have been parked there. The bathroom counter had mold on the caulking, the paint was chipped and the woodwork dirty
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Road trip

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Remodeled motel. Great location, short walking distance to the boardwalk
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tracy Ca

Lied about not having construction across the stre

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: Get things up to code and the staff needs to be honest with their costumers
Location: The baord walk was close by
Staff lied about not having a construction tear down across the street, the fan in the bathroom was not working up to code along with a door in the wall that leads to the next room so you can hear everything your neighbors were saying. I was so disappointed I will never stay at that hotel again. On top of that the keys did not work to get back in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Close to the beach and that's about it.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
If you drive anything larger than a Prius, forget about parking there. The front desk staff could care less if you are helped or not. I was told parking is what it is, deal with it. You get one wireless code for one device while you're there. Other than being close to the boardwalk, spend a little more and stay somewhere nicer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto, Ca

Decent hotel, close to boardwalk.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Hotel was average, friendly staff. Surrounded by roads so it was noisy and hard to drive in and out during the day. Parking was terrible! They sold spots to nontenants and the parking lot was already crowded. The manager let us park in his spot because there was no parking left. Someone's bikes were stolen out of their truck. Beware! No working cameras.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect location and great price.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Great hotel for the price, free parking and only a shift walk to the famous Boardwalk. Loved my stay here. Hotel also offers a free breakfast which is serve yourself, cereal, homemade waffles ect.. Decent place to stay on a budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

A bit run down but near the boardwalk

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The hotel did look very disappointing upon arrival. Worn out looking. The clerk was very nice though and said his uncle owned this hotel. I could tell that a good attempt was made to make the inside of the room comfortable, but nothing could compensate for the fact that we were overlooking a very busy, noisy intersection with cars making noise at all hours in a beach town. It was a nice, short walk to the boardwalk though, which is this hotel's main advantage. The breakfast was cereal and waffles and other carbohydrates served at the check-in counter. You had to carry your food back to the room to eat or find an outdoor table.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room too noisy, not clean at all, bed is very bad

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: better customer service, cleanliness
room too noisy, not clean at all, bed is very bad except this is in a good location. will not recommend to anyone
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Expected Stay for Motel 8 for a night

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to boardwalk. A quick breakfast was fine for kids.
Cons: Bathroom needs an upgrade. Air conditioner and refrigerator very loud. TV did not work properly. Improve parking conditions.
Location: Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Dinner at the bay
The Hotel was sufficient for one night stay for our family of 4. This is an old motel - do not expect more. Parking is very tight and you will receive a call in the morning while you are sleeping, to get up and move your car. There is a musky odor and the bathrooms are very old. The bed was okay for one night. If you have a room down stairs you will hear cars and the people above you. The good thing is that it is walking distance to the boardwalk. Breakfast was fine for the kids - waffles, juice, coffee etc. Staff was nice. Suggest not to stay if you are planning a romantic weekend. My wife suggest, to bring Febreeze and slippers and do not rely on the toiletries - possibly ear plugs