Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be mindful of guests

Posted May 22, 2017
For the first hour or more an employee was power washing where the rooms and pool are located. Then we needed to be moved because of a HORRIBLE SMELL in our room. Woke up to a bike being stolen from a car and finding out that none of The surveillance cameras actually work. A lot of money for what we got!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UT

accomadating

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: comfortable beds
Location: beach, dining, sightseeing.
we asked upon arrival about a ground floor room, normally you need to request this in advance. They got us a room on ground level with a king and a double bed and with our party of 3 we were tickled with this accommodation. (Had reserved a room with two queens) It was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carson City ,NV

comfortable stay

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The lady in the office is very nice and helpful. the rooms are clean. the rooms have a microwave and a mini refrigerator in them.
Cons: parking was an issue. the parking lot is small with limited spaces.
Location: the hotel sits less than a mile from the beach and boardwalk. There is a 17 minute drive to the Redwoods National park. The area was quiet.
The hotel staff was great and very helpful. The room looked to be remodeled, and clean. they offer a free breakfast in the morning. The only issue was parking. because the hotel is a small one parking was a little challenging. the lot is very small with limited spaces. My stay was quiet and comfortable. The hotel sits very close to the beach and boardwalk. Its also a close drive to the Redwoods.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Irvine

Nice place, nice price.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Facilities worth the price. Not luxury at all. But it's nice for road trip. Free breakfast is provided, but don't expect too much. Only a few slide bread, some drinks are offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Mo, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences while with us and we pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. It is our sincerest hope that we have the opportunity to see you again on your next trip to the Santa Cruz CA
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: location is good.
Location: Sesame Korean Grill is the most delicious food in Santa Cruz hands down!
After a long trip, a more understanding staff could have led to a pleasant experience. One night while on the phone in the parking lot, I was rudely asked by hotel staff if I was a guest at the hotel. Good rooms but not the most comfortable experience.
5 out of 5
by JON

Hidden gem

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean room and thoughtful amenities (generous lotion, soap, microwave, fridge). Clean and fresh bed linens and 4 full size pillows (both soft and firm) for queen bed. Room in great condition and very clean. Fast wi-fi.
5 out of 5
by Vanessa

Clean, updated, and convenient

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Haven't stayed at The Islander in a few years, but took a chance because I was looking for something super convenient and affordable for a short business stay. I found the rooms to be very clean and newly updated with fresh paint, new interior doors, fresh new bedding, comfy pillows and a renovated bathroom. The staff at the front desk was exceptionally friendly.
1 out of 5
by Sarah

Very unhappy with my night

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
I'm sure this motel on some days it's just great for the value but unfortunately my stay was extreamly disappointing. They placed us in a room NEXT DOOR to a room being fully renovated WITHOUT telling us. We got in after midnight so it's safe I assume we were just looking to sleep, but to wake up to power tools at 7am drilling into our shared wall was miserable. I would have 100% not stayed here if I knew there was construction, very disappointed the owners kept that from us then pretended like it wasn't a big deal the next morning. The photos I posted are of the construction and out hotel room which was 218 was the one on the left.
4 out of 5
by Ron

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great but the room was small for two and it was hard to get around in it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Islander motel

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel wasn't bad for the price. The front desk staff was unfortunately not very pleasant.