Ratings based on 937 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Swimming pool

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: swimming pool, jacuzzi
Cons: breakfast area to be picked up/ cleaned after people eat. room service to come back by room if they pass,
close to the beach, swimming pool is the highlight. The day manager / front desk had absolutely no service. When I made personal contact with him in the parking lot after finally catching up with him he replied to my complaints by saying,"My bad". Kind of funny in a way considering the cost of the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roseville, CA

Stay Away! We will never go back!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The room smelled horrible. There was hair in the bed sheets and hair in the folded towels. The door to the outside had large gaps around the edges (lacking privacy). The door handle to the bathroom was broken. Dirty, dirty, dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that we dropped the ball with cleaning. Our room service team does a great job making sure rooms are prepared well daily, so it is strange that this had happened. Please know that we will be looking into this to ensure this does not happen again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location between beach and downtown. Poor fac

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The breakfast was terrible. Very limited selections. Not enough space not clean and staff was unconcerned. Noisy at night and lots of drug smoking and drinking in the parking lot . Common areas dirty. But it was full and is a terrific location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Whilst it's great that you enjoyed our wonderful location, we are sorry that you didn't have a better impression of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that our breakfast did not quite meet your expectations. We regularly update our breakfast menu, and we will take your comments into consideration when doing so again. Cleanliness is very important to us, and we are sorry that you were not pleased with our standard. Thank you for your review, it is a shame that our hotel was not better suited to your needs. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

$160/ night for a filthy floor and plugged toilet.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: Power wash the sidewalks & parking/ pool areas. Provide black-out drapes, kitchen/cooking supplies. make pool/parking only avail to paying guests!
Vinyl floor was filthy, not enough towels, no cups or any cooking supplies/pots/pans/dishes/silverware - no nothing in the kitchen except sink, table & appliances. Bed & pillows were hard & lumpy. No black-out drapes. We had to buy a coffee maker, plastic silverware, paper plates & cups. The soles of our feet were black within 2 mins of walking around. Water drips from pool or shower made the floor extremely slippery so we had to ask for more towels to put on floor. Extremely unsafe for the elderly or disabled. This was the cheapest we found for the family and with a kitchen, but it was pretty awful. We were exhausted from the long drive or else we would have found another place. Manager argued that we had tracked dirt in. Sidewalks were stained from spilled drinks, upstairs people were banging around at midnight & management couldn't deal with it until we threatened to call the police! Parking lot full at night - it seemed like the whole neighborhood was there to swim!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing your feedback in relation to your stay with us.We are sorry that a number of things did not meet your expectations. This is not the type of feedback that we want to get from our guests, and we will appraise your review in detail with our management team, to ensure that all of the issues that you mention are addressed appropriately. Thank you again for your candid feedback, it will help us to improve our product and service for all of our guests. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I enjoyed how it was close to the beach .

Posted Jul 8, 2017
I was alright with everything but the wheelchair accessibility for my handicap son. We had to let his wheelchair ramp down in the middle of the street to get him out of van.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs in this area. We are pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, and we apologize for the fact that you found it difficult to gain access to the hotel with your son. We will review this situation to see if we can make this easier for future guests with similar needs. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The dirty linen that was stripped from each room was place outside each door on the sidewalk. Trash placed on the a/c units, so the room smelt awful! Hair on the pillows, toilet paper placed to cover up cut out blinds on the windows, dirty unpleasant room!! Might be ok if you're a surfer as it's right near the water, but not good for family fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, we are very sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience. Your room does not sound as though it was made up to the normal standard that we provide for our guests, and we apologize profusely for the deficiency in our standard. We wish that you had made us aware that you were not happy with your room, and we would have offered you an alternate. Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Never again.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The staff right off the bat was hostile. Upon check in there was a $100 extra deposit and was told my room may or may not be clean (it was 3:40 pm). Getting in our room..... The door is not ok there was daylight around the whole thing. There were no curtains and the blinds were broken to the extent people can see in your room. There was a lot of hair in the sink and in the beds. The floors and bedding was stained really bad. Upon returning from dinner there was no parking and we had to park over a mile away from the property. Never again will I stay at this establishment it was a bad experience all the way around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. Your room does not sound like it was made up to our usual standards and I apologize profusely for this. The service you described here is not at all acceptable. Please know that we are bringing your experience to our front desk team's attention and we will make sure that this does not happen again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad customer service

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Front desk was the worst hospitality they was horrible I wouldn't recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear that you did not feel you received great customer service during your stay with us. We aim to provide first class customer service to all of our guests, and we are very sorry that this was not your experience. We will discuss your comments with our front desk team to ensure this does not happen again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scary

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The neighborhood is scary! I didn't feel safe there. A homeless family was living on the curb by the entrance. A guy was searching The parking lot for cigarette butts. Th door jam had been crashed in previously and had a huge crack showing daylight. The walls were paper thin and the snoring guy next door kept us awake. The room was clean but very outdated. The window blinds were pitiful, didn't keep he room dark. This is definitely a "don't stay here@ recommendation
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased you found our rooms clean, but we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your overall stay. Please rest assured that our area and our hotel are quite safe, and we are sorry to hear that this was a concern for you. We are sorry to hear you would not choose to stay with us again but we appreciate your candid review. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia PA

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Cons: We stayed in a suite, though the second room did not have it's own air conditioning. Was not able to open the window since there was no screen.
Location: Other than the boardwalk, we drove to Woodstock Pizza (excellent!), Natural Bridges park, and up to the UCSC campus.
Came to visit Santa Cruz and wanted to be close to the boardwalk which this hotel is. The room was clean, the staff was professional. We didn't use the indoor pool but it looked nice enough. Breakfast was okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very pleased to hear that our location suited you so well, and that our staff were so helpful to you. We certainly aim to please our guests to the very best of our ability. We appreciate your review, thank you, and we hope to welcome you back when you're next in town. On your next stay, do leave time to use our pool, we are quite sure that you'll enjoy it! Best wishes, Hotel Management