Ratings based on 1,405 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

A so so hotel at a premium price

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I stayed at this hotel because I needed to attend my daughter's graduation. The hotel is close to the university. Other than that there is not a whole lot to say about it. But it is expensive, over $200 per night for something that is barely better than Motel 6
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise ID

Bugs in the Bathroom

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The only thing I really liked about the hotel was it's proximity to the Boardwalk. Also, it had a balcony that we were able to stash our bikes on.
Cons: The general cleanliness of the property could be better.
Location: The property was only a few blocks from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, which made the bike ride over really nice and quick.
When we first entered our room, it appeared okay, but as soon as I went to use the bathroom, the first thing I noticed was about 5-6 bugs (looked a little bit like small cockroaches) on the bathroom floor and in the tub. Then, within 10 minutes of arrival, the untouched pizza we brought into the room to have for dinner was covered with another dozen or so of the same bugs, just after sitting on top of the dresser. Where we parked seemed more like an alley way and had an overflowing garbage bin. Soon after our arrival, someone was going through the trash right next to our car (we could see this from the window of our room). Though there seems to have been some attempt to spruce up the rooms (not bathroom) and the common areas, the stairways were all grimy and old. There were broken pallets at the bottom of our staircase which just added to the run-down look of the place. The continental breakfast time was advertised as being from 6:30-9:30am, but when I arrived at 7:45, only some packaged danishes and yogurts were available to eat. Slowly, someone added some bagels and instant oatmeal to the lot. By 9:15 the person taking care of the breakfast room started clearing things. Apparently, though advertised as otherwise, the breakfast room was only open from 7:30-9:15am. When we inquired about the possibility of extending our stay for another night, the price quoted to us was $100 more than what we had just paid for the night we booked. We decided to go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great breakfast options. Will stay here again. Nice friendly staff... easy check in
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, 8 min walk to the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: complementary breakfast, nice and clean swimming pool.
Cons: drywall in room 215, bedroom next to the window needs to double check funny smell.
Location: the location is very good, closed to the boardwalk, there are a lot of things to do, just have to walk 8 minutes to the beach.
checked in on time friendly staff, nice and clean swimming pool, and great free complementary breakfast from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Proximity to boardwalk and that's all

Posted Jun 26, 2017
I've stayed at my share of dumps so I'm not easily freaked out but this place is pretty dismal. Close to the boardwalk so that was nice, the guy at the front desk was nice. But it ends there. We showed up at 4:00, an hour after check in, and they were still cleaning our room, so we had to wait outside with our luggage and 3 kids for 20 minutes for them to finish. They offered us another room but it was on the first floor and after seeing the location, I preferred the wait to be upstairs and a bit safer. There were cigarette butts and beer cans all over, up the stairs, aside the pool, everywhere. That said, the clientele were families just like ours and we felt safe. But the room did not have an alarm clock, there was powder/dust along all the walls that I assume was carpet freshener? I hope? There were weird spider bugs all over the counter that I'm sure were sand bugs but still gross. They offer free wifi but it works sporadically. In conclusion, it saddens me that they can charge so much for such a dump just because it is a 10 minute walk to the boardwalk. Next time, I'll pay more to be at a nicer place or pay less to be farther away. But it offended me to pay so much for such a dingy hotel. Wear socks and bring your own towels :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room. 15 min from everything!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Only a short walk to the boardwalk amd resturants... nice pool. Awesome rooms. Good staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay area

Nice, clean hotel. Good value.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Stayed here many times over the years. Pool very nice, excellent layout w/upper balcony seating area overlooking pool. Quiet, clean rooms. Only drawbacks- need better mattresses, very low shower water pressure and minor details. (Ironing board cover dirty, stained, etc.) Didn't have breakfast this time, so cannot comment on that. Overall excellent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Oldie but a goodie

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: proximity to attractions
Cons: keep the price reasonable
Location: Downtown is a short drive. You can walk to the beach, West Cliff walk wharf with many good fish restaurants with great views
We almost cancelled our stay after reading one star reviews. We had stayed here many times before, and decided to ignore them. If you expect a 5 star hotel, pay the money. This place offers you a large, clean room. Clean bed, spotless bathroom, non-smoking, sparkling pool. Mostly families, European tourists. It is walking distance to Boardwalk, beach and wharf.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Dirty

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: We asked to change rooms but was told not an option. They did supply us with a new comforter and extra towels although some were stained.
Location: walking distance to beach and boardwalk.
The comforter was dirty and had cigarette holes. There was mold in the bathroom and the tube was clogged with hair. The towels were stained. We found that the bed was made with flat sheets and did not cover the mattress after finding with clean feet when we went to bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Great experience overall, just wish there was more variety for breakfast.