Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience!!

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Location, food, staff, room everything!!
Location: lots of diverse food option. We had Mediterranean, Brazilian, Hawaiian food, all in two days!
We had the BEST time ever! The place is so cozy! It was like a home away from home. Before I left I was inquiring the staff about next year! I want to bring my whole family here! We absolutely LOVED it. The food was great. There were always cookies for us to munch on!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Something different from the usual large hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: It was a small b and b style of hotel with a lovely afternoon wine and canapé hour, fresh baking and coffee available 24 hours, and a lovely breakfast
Cons: There needed to be somewhere to place your toiletries in the bathroom. The one shelf had hotel supplied items on it.
Location: Perfect location for popping over the road to the beach and boardwalk area. Good restaurants were close by
This small b and b style hotel was a very welcome change from the usual large hotel. It was an old homestead which was beautifully renovated with very comfortable rooms, barring space for toiletries in the bathroom. The complimentary wine and canapés were very well done, as was the breakfast with freshly baked items available all day long. The hotel is just across the road from the pier and beach which has a boardwalk and amusement park. The staff were very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a change from the standard style of hotel then this hits the spot.
4 out of 5
by Elaine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Pernilla from Stockholm

Small Inn with stunning decor

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great: the service, the price, the decor and size. Generositet with the complimentary drinks, coffee and wine and cheese in the afternoon! The only negative things I have to say are that the wifi didn't work everywhere in the room (we had to stay in the sitting area to make it work) and breakfast time was too short (8.30-10) and on top of that 15 min late, which meant a lot when we had to leave early in the morning. However, I do recommend this place and I would absolutely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by Ellen from East Bay, CA

Grand Hotel

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Best Hotel I ever stayed at. The room was comfortable, clean, renovated and modern in a victorian house. Gas fireplace. Robes. Shampoo and soap in dispensers in the shower. Nutritious free breakfast (not the fake stuff you get at the chain hotels). The staff couldn't be accommodating enough. Walking distance from beach, boardwalk and restaurants. Will definitely stay there again. And dog friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great gourmet breakfast included! Great views

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: very comfortable beds
Cons: better staff at front desk, new people
Location: views of the ocean, close to boardwalk!
Loved sitting on porch looking at the ocean enjoying wine & cheese!
4 out of 5
by Nikole from Los Gatos

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
The walls are thin and easy to here other guests and maid service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable classic, B&B setting

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Location, imposing presence from the street, breakfast, amenities, free movies, internet.
Cons: The floor AC unit should be installed properly. The description for the Deluxe King Spa guestroom should probably say "loft space".
Location: Close to the Santa Cruz wharf and boardwalk. Plenty of places to eat.
Restored old mansion with modern touches. First floor features seating area, breakfast dining area, and the "front desk" near the kitchen. Second floor has regular rooms, and third floor has loft space/dormers. First floor windows are 8-footers letting in a lot of light. We booked the Deluxe King Spa guestroom in the third floor. That bath was something else, with plenty of marble that will please a modern day Roman. The room itself was comfortable, with a thermostat-set fireplace to regulate the heat in that space. I found the ceiling height a little low, and the dormer window didn't let in too much light making it somewhat claustrophobic. They have a floor AC unit, which was alright but the exhaust wasn't installed or attached; had to fudge around with it to make it work. The bed was too soft for our taste. Parking was okay. Finding the inn was a bit tricky. The guests at the inn kept mostly to themselves and respected your privacy. Breakfast was good. We didn't partake of the wine and cheese in the evening. I used the dumb waiter to move my niece's suitcase up 3 floors; it was fun doing it manually. Nice innkeeps. The inn was a quarter mile away from the Santa Cruz wharf, a half mile from the boardwalk. Good location. Just watch for cars at the crosswalks. Overall, I would have loved to be in a room with larger windows. Accident of a hasty choice, that's all. The place is really nice, although a bit pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: Ambiance; location; staff friendliness.
Cons: Desk in room do to some work would have been nice; kettle in room for tea (Keurig coffee was offered). Milk in fridge downstairs was missing.
I arrived late, all was arranged - except key cards to room did not work! The emergency service was not helpful. I found a (random emergency) number at reception and informed the person about my dilemma. She immediately acted on it; the offsite receptionist called back and I was able find myself inside the room shortly after. While the official emergency service was not helpful - the staff was very helpful. The following morning I was asked, if I would like a bottle of wine or chocolates for compensation which was a lovely and generous gesture. The room was neat and clean; well appointed. Location to beach excellent; parking on-site excellent; water pressure excellent; towels, linens all in excellent condition.
5 out of 5
by Suthun from Clarksville

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
We were made to feel like we were at home. Reception was super and efficient. The room was luxurious and comfortable. The breakfast was superb. We loved the location and are anxious to return on another trip...