Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Beautiful Victorian B&B in perfect location!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Perfect place to stay! Room #1 on ground floor with perfect view of front porch and ocean! Cookies, coffee cake, wine and cheese in the afternoon and a beautiful breakfast spread each morning!! This bed and breakfast is wonderful!! Flew in from San Jose airport and 30 minute drive around beautiful mountains and pines. Take the Beach train to Roaring Camp. Drive to Walton light house on a few minutes away. Wonderful boardwalk and wharf!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: location to beach,well appointed room ,large bath
Cons: air conditioning
Location: at the beach ,a nice boardwalk, restarants close by
The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the spacious big old house is well taken care of and nicely decorated.The guest room my husband and I had,had close to 12' ceilings, a king size bed with great linens,a fireplace and giant floor to ceiling windows. the bath was large with a curbless walk in shower.Just a great place. I would be interested in staying at other Four Sister Inns.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience!!

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Location, food, staff, room everything!!
Location: lots of diverse food option. We had Mediterranean, Brazilian, Hawaiian food, all in two days!
We had the BEST time ever! The place is so cozy! It was like a home away from home. Before I left I was inquiring the staff about next year! I want to bring my whole family here! We absolutely LOVED it. The food was great. There were always cookies for us to munch on!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Something different from the usual large hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: It was a small b and b style of hotel with a lovely afternoon wine and canapé hour, fresh baking and coffee available 24 hours, and a lovely breakfast
Cons: There needed to be somewhere to place your toiletries in the bathroom. The one shelf had hotel supplied items on it.
Location: Perfect location for popping over the road to the beach and boardwalk area. Good restaurants were close by
This small b and b style hotel was a very welcome change from the usual large hotel. It was an old homestead which was beautifully renovated with very comfortable rooms, barring space for toiletries in the bathroom. The complimentary wine and canapés were very well done, as was the breakfast with freshly baked items available all day long. The hotel is just across the road from the pier and beach which has a boardwalk and amusement park. The staff were very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a change from the standard style of hotel then this hits the spot.
5 out of 5
by Ellen from East Bay, CA

Grand Hotel

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Best Hotel I ever stayed at. The room was comfortable, clean, renovated and modern in a victorian house. Gas fireplace. Robes. Shampoo and soap in dispensers in the shower. Nutritious free breakfast (not the fake stuff you get at the chain hotels). The staff couldn't be accommodating enough. Walking distance from beach, boardwalk and restaurants. Will definitely stay there again. And dog friendly.
4 out of 5
by Niels Martin from Viborg, Denmark

Cosy home-away-from-home hotel

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable small hotel in central Santa Cruz. The hotel itself proved ideal for a cosy May get-away. Friendly staff provided good personal service. The breakfast offered only a small variety of food, but the quality was high. Drinks and snacks were served in the lounge at 5 in the afternoon. The area was centrally located near the beach and pier. The selection off restaurants in the area was terrible but we found a good, yet expensive, seafood restaurant on the pier just a five-minute walk from the hotel. A lot of traffic noise in the area. The room was large, spacy, and comfortable and the bed was good. The bathroom was large, stylish and clean. The TV set and settop box arrangement, however, should be changed as it was not that easy to figure out how to use it all. And the TV screen was too small. The large, private balcony had a hot tub which was ready to use when we checked in. But to our regret, there was not the expected seaview from the balcony. Thumbs-up to miss R. who received us upon arrival and thumbs-up to the morning staff who provided us with breakfast and good service. We will be sure to try out one of the other hotels in this small hotel chain the next time I go to California.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great gourmet breakfast included! Great views

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: very comfortable beds
Cons: better staff at front desk, new people
Location: views of the ocean, close to boardwalk!
Loved sitting on porch looking at the ocean enjoying wine & cheese!
4 out of 5
by Nikole from Los Gatos

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
The walls are thin and easy to here other guests and maid service
5 out of 5
by Sigrid from Plön

Perle am Pazifik

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Auf unserer 3 - wöchigen Rundreise durch Kalifornien bisher das schönste und beste Hotel. Es passte einfach alles: ein sehr stilvolles,gepflegtes Haus in guter Lage, fast direkt am Pazifik, nur getrennt durch eine kleine Straße. Am späten Nachmittag werden Wein und kleine Snacks angeboten und auch das inbegriffene Frühstück ist für amerikanische Verhältnisse ein sehr angenehmer Start in den Tag. Die Zimmer sind sehr großzügig und modern gestaltet ohne den historischen Charakter des Hauses zu zerstören. Der Service ist sehr freundlich und aufmerksam und Parkmöglichkeiten unmittelbar und kostenlos am Haus. Das Hotel ist nicht billig, im Vergleich zu anderen hat es aber ein sehr gutes Preis / Leistungsverhältnis. Wir würden jederzeit gern wiederkommen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable classic, B&B setting

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Location, imposing presence from the street, breakfast, amenities, free movies, internet.
Cons: The floor AC unit should be installed properly. The description for the Deluxe King Spa guestroom should probably say "loft space".
Location: Close to the Santa Cruz wharf and boardwalk. Plenty of places to eat.
Restored old mansion with modern touches. First floor features seating area, breakfast dining area, and the "front desk" near the kitchen. Second floor has regular rooms, and third floor has loft space/dormers. First floor windows are 8-footers letting in a lot of light. We booked the Deluxe King Spa guestroom in the third floor. That bath was something else, with plenty of marble that will please a modern day Roman. The room itself was comfortable, with a thermostat-set fireplace to regulate the heat in that space. I found the ceiling height a little low, and the dormer window didn't let in too much light making it somewhat claustrophobic. They have a floor AC unit, which was alright but the exhaust wasn't installed or attached; had to fudge around with it to make it work. The bed was too soft for our taste. Parking was okay. Finding the inn was a bit tricky. The guests at the inn kept mostly to themselves and respected your privacy. Breakfast was good. We didn't partake of the wine and cheese in the evening. I used the dumb waiter to move my niece's suitcase up 3 floors; it was fun doing it manually. Nice innkeeps. The inn was a quarter mile away from the Santa Cruz wharf, a half mile from the boardwalk. Good location. Just watch for cars at the crosswalks. Overall, I would have loved to be in a room with larger windows. Accident of a hasty choice, that's all. The place is really nice, although a bit pricey.