Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima

Very helpful staff

Posted Aug 6, 2015
We had a very enjoyable stay in the hotel. They helped arrange transport from the airport, which is a big benefit after a tiring journey and were able to check-in early and rest. Any problem or question we had with tour operators or generally about the islands were answered for us, making everything much easier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

It really is a castle

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff. Lovely garden. Quiet relaxing outdoor area with hammocks.
Cons: More screens on the other windows to allow air circulation as there is no A/C.
Location: Hey it's the Galapagos. Why are you going there in the first place?
We had an overnight stay prior to a 5 day cruise. We needed a place in Puerto Ayora and this place looked interesting. It's not a five star place but it was located off the tourist areas in a quiet neighborhood but still within a 10 minute walk to the main town. The rooms are unusual. We had a room with stairs leading up to a tower with another bed. Wished they had A/C. They had free WiFi and limited bicycles which they let the guests use for free. The lady who owned it was very friendly and even though she had limited English, we were able to communicate. We were able to store our excess luggage there while on our cruise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

small casual hotel,

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Hotel is 10- to 15-minute downhill walk to Academy Bay, but you can get a taxi for $1.00 when you want to return. Check in is between 1 and 5 pm, and no one was available at 11:00 am to allow be to leave my suitcase, so I had to keep it with me while I went for lunch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Like a Fairytale

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Excellent Staff, Beautiful castle construction
Location: 5 min walk to the malecon / pier.
This place is amazing. The owner is amazing. EVERYTHING was amazing. No but seriously, cool play to stay. Easily the best place on the island, and we looked at a bunch. First, the place is a castle. Initially I couldn't really tell from the pictures on tripadvisor & other sites if the place was nice or a hole in the wall, but upon arrival we were mesmerized. We felt like were staying in a romantic fairytale for the price you'd pay for a night in any other hotel room. The room we stayed in was quite literally like a European castle meets a treehouse, complete with a ladder to a second story with another bed, multiple balconies, a bridge to other parts of the hotel, and 2 extra rooms for we don't even know what (entrance room, luggage room, etc). Ok so that was the nuts and bolts of the place, but the spirit of it was the icing on the cake. The owner was so nice & incredibly accommodating. We let her know that we had a boat that was leaving super early in the morning (6:30am) to Isabella and she woke up early and cooked us an great breakfast and called us a cab that showed up on time. Easily one of the most hospitable places I've stayed, period.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

The best Bed and Breakfast ever!

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The hotel is setup to provide each guest with privacy in the house. The provided early breakfast when we had early tours. Very safe place.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: It is about a 10-15 minute walk from the main center but this takes you past stores and pharmacies so you can shop as you go. very safe.
We had just arrived in Ecuador and I wondered about what to expect for hotel accommodations. I was very pleasantly surprised. The family that manages this hotel are wonderful. They speak English very well and provided lots of information to make our stay memorable. We felt very safe with them and the Galápagos Islands overall. We were there 3 nights and we wish we could have stayed a few more days.
1 out of 5
by Holly from Lloydminster Alberta Canada

Not reliable

Posted Feb 18, 2014
One week before we were flying to the Galapagos the hotel sent me an email and cancelled our reservation. I had booked three months before. They were helpful in finding us other accommodations but i will never book with them again due to the unreliability.
2 out of 5
by John from NC USA

Unexpected Disappointment

Posted Jan 23, 2014
When I arrived in Puerto Ayora, finally locating this hotel, the person on duty could not speak English nor could he give me a reason why my Expedia "booked" reservation did not apply. He instead told me to go to another hotel on the island which had a room. Later, a representative from El Castillo came over to my new hotel and explained in English that my booking was not pre-paid. I assume that since this was a Monday night, El Castillo had overbooked the hotel for other people who were going to board their cruise ships the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hans from Phoenix, AZ

A very cute little hotel, located just right.

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: The fact that it is more unusual than the run of the mill like most other hotels.
Cons: Improvements are always possible, sometimes, like in this case, they are not always wanted or needed.
Location: You visit the Galapagos for a certain reason, which is to see the diversified wildlife, specific to these very islands. It is a ONCE in a lifetime!
The hotel is situated walking distance to the downtown area. The rooms are unusual in their style, similar to an old castle. Senora Rosario and her son are absolutely delightful people to be around and do all they can to make the stay comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mala relacion precio comodidades

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: El servicio de bicicletas y la amabilidad de Alejandro.
Cons: El servicio/precio
Location: Esta alejado del centro comercial, puedes utilizar las bicis para movilizarte o pagar 1 usd por movimiento dentro del centro en taxi.
El hotel se encuentra cercano al camino a tortuga bay pero alejado del centro comercial. Cuenta con bicis para manejarse libremente lo cual es importante dada su lejania del centro. Habitaciones amplias y limpias con ventilador de pie. (Se pasa un poco de calor) Amplia cocina para cocinar y desayunar (el desayuno va incluido en el alojamiento aunque se podria mejorar) La infraestructura no es de la mas atractiva. Alejandro es un muchacho con muy buena predisposicion y nos ayudo mucho pero en general el resto del servicio se podria mejorar. El lugar era tranquilo y seguro.