Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Galapagos delight!

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Close enough to nature? Sea Lions lazing on the deck, swimming in the pool, competing for your chaise lounge! Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool area in the foreground, ocean to the horizon - as far as the eye could see. To the left; the Charles Darwin Center a short walk. Best place to stay in Puerto Ayora!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SolyMar

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel but not quite good value for money
4 out of 5
by Mary G

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anthony

Nice enough base in Puerto Ayora

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
A clean and accommodating hotel centrally located on Ch Darwin, near travel agencies and other tourist resources. Not quite a luxury hotel by usual standards, but good enough. Very helpful staff with limited English can help with ordinary requests. Has a nice and well located pool by the Bay.
4 out of 5
by Kenneth from Milford, CT

Centrally located, comfortable, family friendly

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, friendly staff with good English, decent breakfast included. The biggest complaint was the internet connection, which seemed slow and inconsistent, even for the Galapagos.
3 out of 5
by Teresa from Spring, TX

Sea Lions share pool dips & lizards sun on deck

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Viewed 3 different hotels prior to booking Solymar. Finch Bay is the most beautiful but you have to take a boat and walk a long distance with your luggage along a boardwalk to get to hotel, Aventura in the mangroves does not have any kind of a view from rooms- just restaurant. So Solymar was our pick for relaxation, convenience, a newer remodel and views. Staff is apathetic and not very service oriented. The owner and his wife were often at this hotel and Isle Solymar across the street. They use Solymar as their personal playground to dock their boat, have their small kids use pool, eat & drink in restaurant. The hotel staff seems to cater to the owners but not the guests. Service needs a lot of improvement. Jacuzzi does not look very safe and needs maintenance, a garden hose feeds the pool. You can sit outside by pool all day w/staff walking by and you will not be approached to order a drink. You must ask repeatedly for things and get most of it yourself. We've heard, This is island life and difficult to get trained top notch staff. Outdoor bar with restaurant has a daily fresh fish catch. Try the sushi too. The Breakfast room, is not exceptionally clean and wonder about the food sitting out for so long on the buffet. That said, I would book this property again only due to lack of choice for a short stay but don't think it's worth what you pay per night. If I were there for more than 2 nights, I would check out the resorts in the highlands or Finch Bay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kati from portland,or

You definitely stay here for the location

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Location: Lots of things to do within walking distance; Charles Darwin Research Center, marina where day trips leave, Tortuga Bay Beach
The location is great; on the Main Street within walking distance to food, shopping, beaches, Charles Darwin Research Center and marina where all day trips leave. The room is basic- nothing special, but I guess you aren't really in it much! The air conditioning is a must and not all lodging has it. The bar/restaurant staff were amazing, always remembering your drink or special requests as soon as you sit down. The front desk staff was not helpful and assumed I could not understand what they were saying about me in front of me. The breakfast had a great selection of food. The restaurant was priced a little too high for what it was but the drinks were in line with other places. They offer an airport pick up with tour that is way overpriced for what it is and can be done on your own for less than half the cost. Follow everyone else onto the bus and water taxi, then take a taxi to the hotel- you can have the driver stop at different locations on the way.
5 out of 5
by Spiderman from Murrieta

Great stay comes with Great Hotel like Solymar

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels
This is the best hotel in Puerto Ayora I bet. When u enter the hotel u have a nice view of the ocean and they have a cool bar with great view. We had our welcome drinks on arrival after a nice long ride with the short stop to checkout the giant turtles, craters and a brief look at the lava tunnel. We were there for 2 nights and we had dinner both nights there in the hotel cool bar which had amazing view filled with ocean waves breaking, saxophone playin, dim lights around with candle on our table. View from our room was nice too and we enjoyed sunset everybody from our room sipping coffee/cocktails. Overall we had a great time. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who want s to have a great time :)
3 out of 5
by DD. Kurnianta from Jakarta. Indonesia

Great location

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels
Very good location in the very beautifull Puerto Ayora
4 out of 5
by Michal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels