Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, NM

Business Visit

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: The room was a good size and the price was very reasonable.
Cons: WiFi was inacsessible.
The room was okay but nothing special. The casino is totally detached from the hotel so you either need to walk a long way around the building or across the parking lot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

It was ok

Posted Jul 11, 2016
People coming in and out All night long. The room had a bad smell. the people coming in and out did not look like they were staying there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Kind of outdated.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We only stayed here because we were driving the night from Boulder to uptown ABQ. Their check in is until 8am so it was perfect for that reason. We had a nonsmoking room that ended up smelling like marijuana and the hotel is very outdated. Service was standard, everything else bleh. Okay for one night. No bed bugs at least.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Repeat Customer

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness
I've stayed at this hotel before, as it is close to Buffalo Thunder resort where I go to an annual retreat, but the cost is much better, the rooms are clean, there is a restaurant and the casino offers some fun if you're into that type of thing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed Bag

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Rooms (first floor), prices, location, cleanliness.
Cons: The front desk and the restaurant.
Location: The location right off 285/84 is very convenient. The Poeh Cultural Center down the road is a little gem.
The rooms are very spacious and clean. There are 2-3 luggage racks, lots of lighting fixtures, iron and board, large TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, and toiletries. It was very comfortable. The grounds are attractive and well maintained. Fortunately the casino is in a separate building so the hotel itself is quiet. I had one meal (breakfast) in the hotel restaurant - it was delicious. But the restaurant sometimes closes before they are supposed to (according to the room menu). Another guest and I had to insist that we be served breakfast even though it was before 11:30 a.m. The rooms on the second floor are adjoining and not well sound proofed so you can hear people in the next room at times even though there are doors between the rooms. Also, the air conditioning equipment on the roof can be heard in the rooms, especially after midnight. I had to move to the first floor. The front desk operation needs improvement. At times they were very understaffed. They also need to be able to give better directions for locating the hotel. When I checked out on Friday, June 24, at 8:00 a.m. the clerk was almost rude. I asked a question about the rooms and indicated I would like to come back next year. She was unfriendly and indifferent and never thanked me for my one week stay there. Management really needs to work with this person to improve her customer relations skills!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

casino hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Cons: Restaurant was nothing to brag about.
This was a nice hotel for our brief stay. Chosen mostly for the price and convenience to where we wanted to visit in Los Alamos.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on our way to az

Posted Jun 17, 2016
We have stayed at this hotel a few times with great experience, however this last stay was THE WORST experience in a motel or hotel we have ever had. We are well traveled as well as being in Realestate where service to your client is the mainstay of your business. We feel being served and with respect is something that is done at the very least. When we checked in th lady was curt, although very effificent, but rude. When we asked a question she talked down to us. This was very unprofessional to say the least. Later that night we went to the bar for dinner. we ordered drinks and afyer a very long wait and her disappearing for a long while we got our drinks. Then we did not get our food after she disappeared for a very long time again. Another party came into the bar and eventually left because there was no one to wait on her. there were only two others in the bar at the time so this seems a little out line for service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, quiet

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Liked that it was away from the casino yet close enough to enjoy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks Alaska

Cities of Gold Hotel review

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Decent room for the price
Cons: Better management to take care of the slack
Location: Not much in the area except for the casino. Very disappointed about New Mexico's casino laws. No gambling except for slots & bingo. AND no BOOZE !
Hotel is about 500 yards from the Casino but is a safe walk. Rooms are clean and what was described, maybe a bit more. A little disappointed in the restaurant as cook did not show up the day we were to leave so we could not even get coffee once we left the room. Actually had a similar problem the night before in the lounge. Bartender was slow because she had to cook as well. This kind of establishment should get its act together.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016
One of the bed mattress needs to be replaced asap.