Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nostalgic

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Comfortable laid back feeling
Cons: The internet was shaky and slow. Our room needed hooks for hanging swimsuits etc in the bathroom.
Location: Take a short nature hike at the audobon sanctuary at the end of canyon drive
The El Rey is a page from the past. A Motor Inn from the early days. Well maintained, comfortable, close to down town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Charming Santa Fe Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Charming Santa Fe look, location and POOL
Cons: A little extra time with the vacuum cleaner!
Location: "The Pantry" for breakfast just a few steps down the street - always a line to get in! Whole Foods a few miles away - helpful to stock the fridge.
We booked a deal through Expedia. Included our flights and hotel. The hotel seemed to meet all our desires which included breakfast, pool, central location and charm! Turned out, there was no breakfast. The kitchen is being remodeled. Employee at front desk said they've never had breakfasts. .?? But they offer muffins and coffee starting at 7am. Muffins never arrived before 7:15 so I gave up - had to start my day. 2 other guests overheard and argued that the website says they have breakfast - one of those customers had been coming for over 20 years and said they always had a great breakfast - that's why she kept staying there. I'm wondering if the Expedia link shows outdated info? We were told our bill would be adjusted for the "misunderstanding". We'll see! Otherwise, pool was fabulous! Jacuzzi was a very nice bonus too. Room was accommodating w fridge and laundry/ice near by. Room could have been a cleaner though. Floor corners hadn't seen a vacuum in - a very long time. Beds were comfy, towels and sheets nice and clean too. Most of the staff we ran into were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very easy to get to, on a main road, luckily with a great breakfast spot a few steps away. I would stay here again and hope the kitchen was done when I returned!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Beautiful setting, right on the main road

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Old landmark hotel. My husband had stayed here 60 years ago and wanted to revisit.
Cons: Porch light shines right into the room at night.
Location: We really liked the Pantry Restaurant next door. Easy access to Santa Fe Plaza.
Beautiful setting, right on the main road but quiet among the trees and well maintained grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NM

Beautiful historical Route 66 motor inn.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The serenity and room. One door opened out onto the gardens..double doors out onto patio.
Cons: The bed could have been more comfortable.
Location: Old neighborhood, somewhat run down but safe and no problems. Good restaurants...like a step back in time.
Gorgeous courtyards and gardens. Very serene...reminded us of Old Mexico hacienda. Delicious savory scones at continental breakfast. Next time will have room opening to gardens rather than poolside, although it was not a problem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Every nice place, we will be staying there again...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Air didn't cool no breaksfast hard roll and coffee with juice on bar room was in dead in blocked out corner with the spa in front of the door not what it used to be did we get a bad room because we booked with Expedia there r better areas we gave stayed in them before last visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Quaint hotel 3 miles from plaza

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location, decor, cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast could have a few more options like cereal, breads.
Location: 3 miles from plaza. Conveniently located
Nice clean hotel. Clean and well maintained. Comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flora Vista, NM

A diamond in the rough!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Great staff beautifully kept garden grounds and play ground for kids and a deep pool! Also able to order local beer from the office.
Cons: NOTHING enjoyed more than El Dorado
This place is a true gem a great getaway for family or couples. Loved the hacienda style and beautiful court yards quite able to sit out and enjoy your morning coffee or an evening glass of wine. A small playground for littles and a great deep pool for swimming. 2 hot tubs and excellent staff. The office staff and anyone i saw was always polite and helpful. A huge plus our daughter has a gluten allergy and they had the most delicious muffins we have ever enjoyed for breakfast *gluten free. Would love to take my family here again! I prefer it over the over priced stay we previously did at El Dorado.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Pleasant surprise

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We picked this hotel randomly as close to Santa Fe airport to allow us to catch an early morning flight. The room was small but comfortable and the motel has a pleasant "southwestern" feel about it. Friendly staff. TV service as a bit old-fashioned but everything else was fine. Interesting bird life!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great place to stay!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Decor and staff were wonderful.
Location: Not far from downtown.
The hotel staff was wonderful. We ended up staying one more night. The place is adorable. We were very pleased.