Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old

Posted May 20, 2017
Has personality. Clean and comfortable will use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roswell NM

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The staff is cordial and polite.
Location: Old Santa Fe is just a couple, easy miles away.
Great people, very clean and quiet area, nice grounds, breakfast is fresh, not bagged and delicious. The room are decorated very nicely, works with the area. Parking is simple and secure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quaint hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: good location, quaint atmosphere
Cons: updating to a newer TV and other room items would be nice
Location: lots of shopping and sight seeing opportunities in and around Sante Fe.
The hotel was built in the 1930's and is a nice, quaint hotel. It does not have the most modern conveniences and the rooms are small, but if you like the quaint atmosphere, it is a pleasant place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Recommended by a friend

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Very clean.
Cons: Up date the rooms. It is an older hotel and has an interesting history.
Location: I was there for work.
I got this recommendation from my friend who stays over by the pool. The room I got was next to the busy street and older. The bed was very hard. I didn't sleep well as a result of this and the traffic noise. I didn't have an opportunity to walk the grounds as it sets of over 4 acres. It was raining at night when I got back to the hotel. It was VERY clean. They really need to add more TV stations. I didn't really watch any TV as the channel selection was poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island, WA

Charming older hotel conveniently located

Posted May 15, 2017
We loved our stay at the El Rey and would not hesitate to stay there again. The Southwest adobe charm outside and inside the room made for a very picturesque and cozy stay. Our king room was located at the rear of the property where we heard absolutely no traffic, the bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean as could be and spacious, with a sitting area and also a fireplace for use at colder times of year. The staff was so friendly and accommodating and we felt truly welcomed. Breakfast is basic but good, with delicious muffins and coffee. For those with other needs, the Pantry a few doors down has excellent breakfasts. We also liked the sushi at the Japanese restaurant across the street. The drive to the tourist part of the city takes 10 minutes. All in all, a great place at a reasonable price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location

Posted Apr 30, 2017
We have stayed at the El Rey for over 40 years. Every year it gets better and better. Great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa, California

Road trip heaven

Posted Apr 26, 2017
We loved this place. There is an old fashioned feel, like a visit to 1950, but with modern comforts. Bathroom was split between sink and shower tub, and toilet, and the sky light provided natural light. The fireplace and comfy armchair fit with the tile floor. Tv was older, but worked. The room was amazingly quiet, the only outside noise was birdsong. We loved drinking coffee on the patio in the morning. The grounds were well cared for and extensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for visiting Santa Fe

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The locality. It's quiet. Beautiful grounds, good sized outdoor heated pool and spa.
Location: Very close to downtown. Front desk very knowledgeable about restaurants in the area which are hidden away in some cases.
We stayed at the El Rey in the early 1980's and were so pleased to see that nothing has changed on the outside. It looks just the same and we hope they continue to keep their turquoise doors and colour scheme as this is so characteristic of the southwestern and Santa Fe appearance. We stayed at the hotel to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to a different room on our second night. A very nice gesture which was a real surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Santa Fe Charm

Posted Apr 24, 2017
This was our third visit to the El Ray Inn. We were a little worried that the new management wouldn't have kept it as quaint and sweet as it was. However we were pleasantly surprised by some nice updates. Breakfast was very limited although the pastries were excellent. Our major complaint was very poor wifi access in spite of several requests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
El Rey Inn is convenient and centrally located in Santa Fe. It's close to the plaza, shops, stores and restaurants. I stay at El Rey Inn because it is unique. Not your typical hotel/motel/ Inn. My only issue is the upkeep of the rooms. They really need to be updated. New plaster and fresh paint to start. Will stay there again.