Ratings based on 1,226 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malibu, CA

Air Conditioning Broke!

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Close to the Plaza, and the center of town, which is handy, as I didn't have a car. Nice staff, pleasant room. No AC for one night was not good, tho.
Cons: Having someone "on call" who could have fixed the AC, would have been a good idea.
Location: Near the Plaza, all sorts of things to see and do within walking distance.
The first night was comfortable, but the second night saw the room very warm, in spite of a low setting on the thermostat. At 2 AM I finally called for a fan, which helped a bit. Seems the compressor had "gone out" and, tho they knew this by 2:00, because of my call, it was not fixed until mid morning. I complained vigorously, and was given partial credit for that night, but it wasn't really a "First Class Hotel" experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

The best part pf my cross country trip

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, facility, and location.
Cons: nothing
Location: Near the Plaza and Georgia O'Keefe Museum. Many great restaurants and the best shopping in the world.
From the minute we checked in until we left the staff were amazing. They were so welcoming and attentive.. The concierge was able to tell us where to go within walking distance to get supplies for my dog. The location is perfect; within walking distance of the center of town and right behind the Georgia O'Keefe Museum. I didn't want to leave and will definitely return to the Eldorado.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

End of ong road trip

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel is great as it is walking distance to the main square. They had good coffee in the foyer. The main areas were beautiful.
Cons: The air conditioner needs an upgrade. Outdoor bar and dining area would be nice.
Location: Canyon Road, Cathedral, and plaza were a minutes walk from hotel.
We stayed three nights at the Eldorado. The staff was great. We were allowed to check in early which was great after driving 5 hours. Our room was spacious and had a nice private balcony. It was clean. The hot water handle was loose and the air conditioner was not working. We called the desk and both were fixed within hours. We had issues with the dry air and the desk sent up a vaporizer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, charming old hotel.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Showing it's age just a bit, this classic hotel provided a comfortable, convenient place to stay in this great city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prescott Arizona

Nice location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Nice staff and good location.
Cons: The hotel clearly has maintenance issues which need attention.
Location: Located near both plaza and "railyard" areas. Some great nearby restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. Shuttle service for non-walkers
We had booked a double room with fireplace and patio on the fifth floor. The problem with the fireplaces was that if there is wind, it screams down the chimney and is so loud you could not possibly sleep. The patio is so small that you could not turn around. So we switched rooms because of the noise. The second room had no fireplace or patio - what it did have was a loud clunking noise somewhere in the duct work. Like loud water torture. We called the manager who sent an engineer who said it was the "strangest thing." Now we're on our third room. Moving is tiresome. Third room ok but windows did not work. Cleaning and straightening is "minimal" although when we had to ask for wash cloths, they arrived promptly. They credited us with two free breakfasts to cover the difference in room fees. Altogether, it was an embarrassing situation for us but mostly for the hotel. Although the staff was nice and helpful and friendly, we felt totally jinxed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Garden City, NY

Good base to explore Santa Fe

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Good sized, comfortable, and quiet room. Breakfast was great, but a little on expensive side. All staff was helpful and accommodating, from front desk to car valet to concierge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester County, NY

Mellow escape with great spa.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Restaurant, bar, location, concierge (both)
Cons: lighting, willingness to go out of their way to help - housekeeping, front desk
Location: We enjoyed Pascual's restaurant, El Meson and La Taverna (La Boca) - shopping, Georgia O'keefe Museum,Taos pueblo (underwhelming)
We were very pleased with the massages, body scrub and facials at the spa. The restaurant staff were pleasant and friendly, as was the concierge. I was a little disappointed in the room - there was not enough lighting, the magnification mirror was a nice touch (as the other mirror was really far away), but it was loose on it's support, and required a hand to hold it in place. The phone receiver was broken - and they fixed that right away. Housekeeping was not very friendly or helpful when I was looking for extra bags for ice for my swollen knee, nor a toothbrush....I would expect that at this level hotel with this reputation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Walking distance to downtown.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet, great rooms and spa
Cons: no
Location: Great Location to restaurants and shopping
Great Hotel that is walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the square. We had spa treatments and were very impressed with the service that we received from the massages and pedicures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bar hours

Posted Apr 11, 2017
My wife and I wanted to have some drinks and the bar was closed at 10 pm. I would think the bar would stay open till a least midnight. Other than this I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful spot. Easy walking through town.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
I stayed one evening and rolled into town with a U-Haul trailer on the back of my car. They had no problem making parking accommodations. Very friendly staff gorgeous lobby bar and live local themed music (guitarist)..