Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from de

Great hotel close to the plaza

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping and restaurants
Beautiful hotel, within easy walking distance of historic downtown Santa Fe. Only complaint was that the roof top hot tub was broken during part of our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nevada

Great location...walk to attractions

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Rooms were nice and modern. Walking distance to plaza and rail yard area. Spa facility is small and steam didn't work. Felt facial was overpriced. 80 minute massage was good...again expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not so hot.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: decor, approach, room, location
Cons: a little sincerity at the front desk. offer a breakfast.
Location: location is great.
From an aesthetics and comfort point of view this hotel is excellent. My one beef is that I booked this hotel based on the the rooftop hot tub and came to learn that it wasn’t hot at all; it was cold. Asked the front desk staff about it and she merely made a mild apology and then asked me “so was everything ok?” ...? No genuine concern, no compensation made for my disappointment. Oh, and also, there is no option for parking other than the $24/day valet. I don’t mind paying for parking but i certainly do not need someone to park my car for me. And then expecting tip for a service I had no choice for. I normally wouldn’t complain about such things but this is a very high end hotel and a very pricey one; this was the last night of my week stay and i wanted it to be luxurious, but it just fell short. The Drury was much better. Sorry.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very overpriced. 25$ valet parking. Jacuzzi/ saun

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Location grt but overpriced everything/ parking/ meals etc. cold jacuzzi/ sauna
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedona, AZ

Lovely Christmas in Santa Fe

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location is great - not on the square but close to everything (walking distance). Decor, layout, amenities.
Cons: Service (especially restaurant), planning for holiday events, check the room to make sure it's OK for guests.
Location: Georgia O'Keefe Museum; music hall; restaurants; shopping;walking;galleries;festivals.
Our stay at the Eldorado was overall pretty great, but it really had the benefit of being a holiday season. Everything was decorated for the holiday, everyone was in a cheerful mood, the weather was perfect, and it is a nice hotel. However, the town was overrun with tourists, so everything was busy. We weren't able to get a reservation for brunch at the hotel on Christmas morning a week in advance because they were already sold out. We looked around and found several excellent restaurants that were serving. In the end we were glad: when we tried to eat breakfast in the hotel on a non-holiday morning the service was non-existent. We left after a 1/2 hour. Our room's window was stuck open a bit, which was OK with heating until Christmas morning when it snowed. We did enjoy the cocktail lounge and new open area bar, which had live music playing in the evening. Mostly we loved that everything was within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Beautiful Santa Fe hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Eldorado exceeded our expectations. The staff was very kind and accommodating. Our room on the 2nd floor was clean, quiet and elegant. We stayed over the holidays and the Christmas brunch was wonderful with made to order omelettes, fresh fruit, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and great coffee. We were within walking distance to the square, downtown museums and Canyon Road...Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Excellent hotel at reasonable price

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: quality of the facility, convenience, and that everything works.
Cons: reduce the overnight parking charge
Location: Convenient location on street with direct access from main road ( this will be welcomed by first time visitors). 2-3 short blocks to plaza
The El Dorado is one of the few large hotels in Santa Fe. It is situated on Francisco Street which leads directly to the Plaza, a short walk of 2-3 blocks. Santa Fe has many boutique hotels and inns. We prefer a larger, modern hotel where everything works. Our only gripe concerned the overnight parking charge. However, the parking is in an underground garage with an elevator directly to the lobby. In Santa Fe, parking is at a premium. It happened to snow the night of our stay and the underground parking was worth the expense. There are both cheaper and more expensive places to stay in Santa Fe. However, considering the quality of the El Dorado, its convenient location and its facilities, we consider it the best choice in town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Staff and food was great. Fitness room very good too.
Staff was wonderful, great customer service. Only the communication about charges for valet were confusing. I also thought self serve laundry was available and missed the window of time to ask for laundry. I was bummed to fly home that night with dirty clothing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Close to things to do.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The decor was nice
Cons: Friendlier staff at front desk
Location: Many art galleries and shops
Nice city easy to walk around. Restaurants were good and nice variety.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: close to downtown shopping and sightseeing.
Cons: housekeeping.
With the "high price tag" of this hotel I expected more. It's a beautiful hotel with some flaws! very cold and drafty (even in the room). I didn't expect to pay for parking and wow, what a cost!!! expensive. We had our Thanksgiving meal at the hotel and it was AWESOME! Overall, it was an OK visit. I wouldn't stay here again though.