Ratings based on 1,153 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the square

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Parking should have been included with room fee. Clean, felt safe and will stay again! Rooms dated but part of the charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Basic but Location Wins

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location Price Roomy
Cons: Update the TV to a large flat Update the windows. Mine was an old aluminum one with no screen - from the 70s and was unlocked.
Location: Right across from Loretto Hotel and Chapel. Burger Bite attached and was excellent. An espresso cafe right across the street. Just 4 blks from Plaza.
I was staying a more posh hotel around the plaza, but then when I had to extend my stay and found that the rates had doubled, I booked and stayed at Garretts. Garretts is old school and dated for sure, BUT it is in a wonderful location, even better than my previous one. The room was clean and the beds were a size larger and comfortable. The heater was noise, but more effective. The only thing that was really a downgrade for me was the TV - 22" CRT - not even a flatscreen. Given today's insanely cheap large flatscreen TVs I think Garretts could swing an upgrade to those. Then again, I didn't watch a lot of TV anyway. I would stay here exclusively if I ever need to be near the plaza/downtown area of Santa Fe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Location. Large room; dressing area.
Cons: Maintenance!
This could be a great little place. Large rooms, dressing area. But badly needs maintenance!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean motel

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
We are repeat visitors to Santa Fe and enjoy the convenience of location and room price. While not fancy, the rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Would recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Disappointed

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Location to Capitol building
Cons: Most everything
I had to attend meetings in the area, which was the only plus of staying at this location. The hotel is VERY outdated, the bed was extremely hard, TV was old and barely fit on the table it was sitting on. The TV picture was not clear most of the time, with lines across the screen. I would not recommend this to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Quaint is a good word for this hotel. My stay was nice and the staff was helpful. I felt like I was taking a step back in time, but it was comfortable, so no complaints!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
I couldn't use the shower because the water came out brown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down facilities

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The Location was a plus. The only thing going for it.
Cons: Dirty carpets outdated facilities. Chipped tiles and splintered wood. No breakfast
Location: Great close to town square art galleries and restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vail, CO

If you have no other choices this will do.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: paper thin walls. antiseptic hospital / nursing home smell. threadbare towels. old bed linens. room had no resemblance to picture in ad.
Location: This hotel is very close to the plaza / downtown area of Santa Fe making its location very desirable.
Use this hotel as a last resort option. It felt like a cheap flop house. I seriously considered leaving after first seeing the room but I only needed it for a nights rest. In retrospect I wish I had followed my gut instinct.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Cant beat price or location BUT...

Posted Nov 10, 2016
The price and location of Garrets to the downtown plaza cant be beat, but it is a shabby hotel and I would not recommend it for anyone wanting a nice hotel experience. The televisions are small crts. the lampshades may be damaged, our door to the bathroom while intact was chipped and the clothes hook was broken. We had the king size bed which gave us a bit more room than the queen bed room which was very small. Also the lighting makes it tough to read. I have stayed there several times in the last year (this was my last). The exercise room has a treadmill which has been broken since I started renting If you dont want amenities but just need a place close to the plaza and inexpensive that it may be for you, Ending on a positive note, the staff is great and they have a wonderful restaurant attached to it (Santa Fe Bites)