Ratings based on 1,753 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Great hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Beautiful and peaceful hotel! Every staff member was very friendly and helpful:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
A/C didn't seem to work well. Had to have TV repaired upon arrival and ask for a hairdryer that was missing out of room. Only one place to get breakfast there. Otherwise everything was OK.!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to lots of attractions.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Thank you for such a clean environment We had an excellent experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lovely hotel, bad experience.

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The hotel looked pretty.
Cons: The food, service, internet, everything.
Although the hotel looked pretty lovely, this was such a bad experience. Upon check-in, my debit card was declined, so we used my fiancee's card. The next day, I found an authorized charge for almost $500 on MY card in addition to the charge on HIS card. The woman at the front desk was unhelpful and couldn't explain what was going on. When I arrived home after my trip, I found ANOTHER charge for $751 from the hotel -- still in addition to my financee's charge. They didn't notify us that they authorized my card several different times - the $ still isn't released back to me. The room service was also disappointing - the first night, we ordered a club sandwich and a kale/romaine caesar salad. We received a club sandwich missing ALL the meat except turkey and a salad that was just limp romaine (no kale). When I let the front desk know - not asking for any money back -- the response that I got was "well next time, I advise trying one of our restaurants instead of room service if that quality was not to your liking". NO apology at all - and keep in mind, this room service was a late-night service that we had to order because all the restaurants were closed by the time our flight landed and we arrived at the hotel! I gave it another shot and received limp, soggy fries. The internet costs $9.95 per day, which is not made obvious on the hotel's website. In addition, the claim of "high speed internet" is just absurd. After paying for the internet, we weren't able to load any pages.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerque

A little disappointed.

Posted May 29, 2017
We got a great deal on a room at Buffalo Thunder. So I guess I got the "cheap room". Our view was the roof top and the air conditioning system. I kind of understand that; however, I called for room service and was told it would be an hour and a half. Then we were at the pool and saw many hotel staff walking by, but there was no pool service. Again I could understand since it's early in the season and they probably aren't fully staffed. But still... then to top things off, there were people on the roof at 2 a.m. with flash lights. My son called the front desk and they said it was security. At 2 a.m.? Laughing and joking? Really? The only thing they offered to do was to move us. At 2 a.m.? Really? I'd probably give this hotel another chance but my experience didn't live up to Four Diamonds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel; quiet location

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Lots of amenities; comfortable roomn
Cons: Expand food offering
Location: Not located in Santa Fe, but short drive; sightseeing, golf, quiet location,
The room was very comfortable and clean. Staff was very attentive.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Confusion

Posted May 23, 2017
No signs to direct hotel valet vs Casino valet Room with no balcony horrible view Restaurant staff and management slow to act Subpar but would give it another chance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Buffalo Thunder

Posted May 22, 2017
Great hotel in a great location north of Santa Fe. Will definitely be staying there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

If you're going for rest, find another hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Each year for mothers day weekend, we find a new place to enjoy and relax at. This one was a mistake. A huge group of people on our floor got so wasted that they thought it would be ok to holler, scream and shout in the hallways until 2am. We started off by asking them to be quiet but they didn't. After complaining three times; the third time actually having to go down to the front desk, they finally sent security up to take care of the issue. They didn't just keep us up but also our kids. Worst experience ever. Security should be patrolling each floor through the night and the staff should care more about when a complaint is made. It shouldn't take three times. We shouldn't have to go down to the front desk for action to finally take place. What a waste of our money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted May 17, 2017
Stay and staff where awesome I'm a Hilton fan for life now