Ratings based on 981 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing room and perfect location!!

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Definitely going back and love this hotel. Beds were comfy and perfect location to walk around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Thomas M., General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am thrilled to read you had such a lovely time. We too enjoy our ideal location in downtown Santa Fe. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and often. Thank you for your wonderful review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
My only complaint was with the wait staff at the bar area to order food. Twice I had to go search out a waiter and found them hanging out talking. Getting a drink pool side was also challenging. Expedia sent me and several others to this hotel with guaranteed reservations when the hotel was sold out on July 4th weekend. Hotel staff was great helping me find lodging elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Thomas M., General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry about the challenges you faced getting your food and drinks. We pride ourselves on our great service and obviously fell short. For this I apologize. I'm glad we were able to help you find accommodations during July 4th. I hope you will stay with us soon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you to the Inn and Spa at Loretto!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The staff was very helpful.
This was a great trip for us. We liked the fact that we were within walking distance of the plaza.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Thomas M., General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased to hear you had a great trip. We're glad you found our staff helpful and our hotel location ideal. We look forward to welcoming you back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Inn of LESS than expected

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Start with the building upkeep. Give the staff a course in customer service.
Location: Santa Fe is a great place for dining, shopping, walking and enjoying a relaxed atmosphere. However, there are great places to stay but not here.
The whole experience was not what I would expect for Expedia to recommend or what I initially expected. It looked lovely but it did not live up to reviews in our experience. The hotel was not clean in public areas -spider webs and un-emptied trash. You could get a gift card for opting out of daily room cleaning services - looks like the hotel opted out for the week. Air conditioning - was a major problem. The tech looked at our room and added "refrigerant" which lasted less than 24 hours. When I went down to discuss this with the desk clerk another guest, was having the same problem accompanied by the loud compressor noise in her room. The desk clerk didn't really have any answers. The coffee - the machine for the whole hotel broke so no coffee for the guests or the restaurants - not good to start the day. Desk clerks were less than personable or friendly. When we checked in we got a list of rules before we were even greeted or asked for a credit card. On leaving they only ask if the bill is ok -not "how was your stay?" The pool was overrun by children not supervised by parents. This isn't the place it used to be; it is now tired, worn, in need of repair and staffed by people that didn't seem to care about the clients.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Thomas M., General Manager, Hotel Management
We sincerely appreciate the time you took to share a review of your experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable as it helps us improve our guest services. We thank you for choosing the Inn for your Santa Fe getaway and are very disappointed to learn that your stay did not measure up to the great experiences we are known for. Please accept my personal apology for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please know that your patronage is valued and we thank you for staying with us. We hope you’ll consider providing us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Interesting hotel with great location

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: -Location -Response of engineering to help fix my thermostat problem
Cons: -A/C noise was pretty bad, kept me up most of the night. -Television video quality was pretty bad, looked like I was viewing TV on an tube.
Location: Centrally located and within walking distance to all of the city. Food, shopping, coffee, local artisans.
This hotel is in the heart of Santa Fe; the whole city is walkable from here. It is very pretty on the outside and the inside has some very unique characteristics. -The rooms are pretty basic (although I didn't get a suite, those might be much better). Staff was friendly, check-in and check-out waiting times were a little long (only one person was at the desk). -I had an issue with the A/C and it was fixed within minutes. I was told that all of the A/C units in the rooms were noisy and that mine was one of the quieter ones. It woke me up every time it came on during the night. -There is an outdoor pool on the property, no jacuzzi. -No on-site parking, must use valet for $21 per night. You can find parking elsewhere in the city, but you would have to walk your luggage to the hotel at that point. I did valet. I wouldn't stay here more than 1 or 2 nights, but it was definitely worth the 1 night I stayed there (flash deal from Expedia). I wouldn't have spent the full price to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Thomas M., General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! I have shared your remarks with the team as we are always looking to improve. I'm glad you enjoyed our downtown location and friendly staff. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Inn and Spa at Loretto!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Lovely New Mexican style luxury near Plaza

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: It was true Santa Fe, through and through. The adobe style and New Mexican furnishings were just what we came for. The staff was friendly.
Cons: Some of the front desk staff can be aloof, but others were great. It depended who you got. I would ask for more consistency.
Location: The Plaza has shops, restaurants and local culture. We loved dining at Estevan's and Sena's. Don't miss Canyon Road, walking distance from the Inn.
We loved our stay at the Loretto. The hotel is luxurious yet cozy. We especially liked the "living room." This is an all-purpose casual yet elegant area with couches, a fireplace, tables for dining if you would like, and tables to just sit and read the paper if not. It was no pressure yet fully serviced. A bar at the end served drinks at night and coffee in the morning (which we greatly appreciated as it was 7 am Boston time but still 5 am for Santa Fe, and we'd had a long day of travel the day before). The concierge was so knowledgeable and headed us toward some wonderful hidden nooks as we set out for our days of sight-seeing. The artists in residence brought true Santa Fe into the "living room," painting, showing and chatting about their work, what led them to Santa Fe, and the artist community in general. An earlier review on Expedia had me wishing for a somewhat better room, as I'd been to the hotel before and knew some of the rooms were much nicer. That night, a card appeared under my door from the Front Desk Manager, Ian, who'd read the review and asked if we wished to upgrade our room at no cost now that some of the Memorial Day travelers were heading out. We did, and our next room was more in keeping with the general luxury of the hotel, a gorgeous suite overlooking the outdoor pool and lounge area. The valets were especially nice, down-to-earth and friendly, which we appreciated, as there is no self-parking and they are needed fairly often. A great place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Thomas M, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the high rating. We are delighted you enjoyed our beautiful property and downtown location. Your feedback is valued, appreciated and will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Santa Fe. Again, thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over rated but close to major sights

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Very pretty and in keeping with the feel of Santa Fe
Cons: LIGHTING in rooms. Better use of bathroom space.
Location: Perfect
Our room, though very nice, was very dark and the bathroom needed updating. Very little space for toiletries.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2016 by Thomas M, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are completely dedicated to frequent improvements so that we may strive to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations. We hope we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted May 18, 2016
Very Santa Fe in the heart of it all. Great markets and restaurants close by
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Thomas M, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star rating! We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn and Spa at Loretto!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what you expect

Posted May 10, 2016
The feeling of the hotel was barely mid-quality business hotel. The premium rate does not match the mediocre service and utilitarian bathroom. The room was ok but we splurged on an upgrade and were unhappy withe the tiny balcony, tiny bathtub shower and bathroom. The vie was the parking lot. Tried to address it but were thrown a small discount and told there was nothing else they could do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016
A few problems with the room maintenance. Air conditioner was not working, toilet backed up and the evening staff at the front desk could have been a bit nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by Thomas McCann, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I'm apologize for the problems you experienced. We pride ourselves on delivering quality accommodations and stellar service and hope you’ll consider providing us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.