Ratings based on 1,336 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location, convenience, the staff, the buffet breakfast, and the price.
Location: Two blocks from the central Plaza -- in the heart of historic Santa Fe.
An old favorite in the heart of Santa Fe, the Inn of the Governors is reliable, not overly expensive, and provides all of the basics, including a large no-cost New Mexican buffet breakfast and a small pool. The Del Charro restaurant serves good margaritas at night. It's more motel than hotel, without a lot of frills. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the place is well kept up. It's not a glamorous spa (there is no spa), but it's a bargain for a stay in lovely Santa Fe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Rooms built for two

Posted Jun 7, 2016
The hotel is quite nice and amenities such as parking and onsite restaurant make tjis a good choice. The rooms, bathroom are small so make sure that you want to be close to your traveling companions! We stayed in a superior room with 2 beds for 3 people and it was tight. Don't leave your breakfast ticket in your room, you must prove that you are staying in order to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Deb, Hotel Management
Dear Pigeon, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Santa Fe and the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with future guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
This hotel is very run down. The room had a strong smell of smoke from the fire place. We had to clean all our clothing to remove the smoke smell. I do not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Experience,

Posted May 18, 2016
A very positive experience. Excellent location, terrific breakfast, and a very friendly and helpful staff. Been visiting Santa Fe for many years and stayed at many different places. This is probably the best value. Parking is provided, although the spaces are tight. Wi fi is strong.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington state

My Santa Fe Getaway

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Hotel is close to everything with ample parking, Hotel staff are friendly, very polite, and professional. Loved the room décor with its warm lighting.
Cons: Nothing. It is a sweet hotel.
Location: Everything is within walking distance. Restaurants are abundant, and I asked the locals in the shops which restaurants to visit.
First time traveler to Santa Fe. Although the weather was chilly, Santa Fe is something to experience. The architecture is beautiful and it is a shopping mecca. I visited for the artwork and was glad to acquire several pieces for my home, in addition to some nice jewelry. It was a very nice experience. Do not miss the Farmers Market by the railroad.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Great location and lovely hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Location was perfect! It was also very comfortable and staff were always helpful.
Cons: In order for the fire in the kiva to burn properly, we had to open the balcony door. It was 40 degrees outside, so it was pretty cold in our room.
Location: The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the Plaza, and you can walk to many museums, historic sites, shopping and great restaurants.
The Inn of the Governors is located just a couple of blocks from the Plaza and is easy walking distance from many museums, historic sites, great restaurants and many shops. We requested and got a deluxe room with king size bed and a kiva. It was on the "first floor" but we had to go up several steps to get to it, and there was no elevator had we needed one. The room was very clean and comfortable with great storage, a couch and easy chair. We had two sinks, one in the bathroom and one across from a large closet which was very handy. There was a small fridge and a safe in the room also. The hotel was full the evening we arrived, and the parking lot appeared full, but one of the staff helped us to find an available spot. The staff were always very pleasant and very helpful. They gave us directions many times and great recommendations for restaurants. The free breakfast was great and the pool area was lovely and had ample seating. We spent a week at this hotel, and we were very pleased with our stay there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Easy walking distance to many attractions.

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Everything.
The Innof the Governors was recommended by friends. The hotel certainly lived up to our expectations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caledon, ontario, Canada

First visit to Santa Fe

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Inn Of the Governors is a fantastic centrally located hotel. Warm and inviting, friendly staff and fantastic food, both at the buffet breakfast and at the Del Charro restaurant. The room was very comfortable and clean. We were in a traditional room, on the first floor, and had a private courtyard, which was a nice addition. I will decimate recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Staff was beyond friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet (free) was fantastic and food in the onsite restaurant was delicious and very reasonable. Walking distance to the plaza, restaurants, galleries etc. Would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a place to stay in Santa Fe.
5 out of 5
by William from Denver

Can't Wait to Stay Again!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I loved our stay at the Inn of the Governors. The location is perfect for any downtown activity including shopping, dining, museums, The Plaza, historic buildings and churches. The new Railyard development is also only a 10-15 minute walk away. Our room was perfect with a king sized bed, balcony and working kiva fireplace. We loved smelling the crackling Pinon logs. The room was very clean. The complimentary breakfast is outstanding especially compared to other typical hotel breakfasts. You can tell the food is cooked on premises and included - hot (non rubbery) scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, fruit and pastries. We also enjoyed drinks and appetizers in the hotel restaurant - Del Charro. From 4-5, there is complimentary sherry, tea and biscochitos (the official New Mexico state cookie). It was great to have free onsite parking especially we learned the hotel next door charges guests for parking. The staff was polite and very accommodating. As other reviews have mentioned, staff member, Charlene, is a delight and is the official hotel greeter. We would recommend the Inn of the Governors for anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay in Santa Fe.