Ratings based on 1,345 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Life in the Center of Santa Fe

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness and room decor.
Cons: Just if the rooms were a bit larger or perhaps queen size bed, instead of king size, would provide that little bit more space. Everything else ideal!
Location: Right in the center of town on the plaza!
From the moment we arrived at La Fonda Hotel we were welcomed and treated with care and efficiency. Wenona, our check in person, was a delight to work with and even though we had arrived early, she made it all come together. She explained that our room was ready however that there was a room on the first floor that was a wee bit bigger if we would prefer that room. We did and I'm glad that we did but I must say that the room was a bit tight but it was lovely and very convenient for us in our seventies. Thank you Wenona but I would suggest to the hotel that in any renovations that they consider a bit more space in each of the room however, let me say that we will stay there again and recommend it to our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Lovely, we'll located hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
My wife and I stayed at the La Fonda on a four night trip that was a combined business/pleasure trip. We loved the hotel's location -- right in the middle of old Santa Fe. The hotel is a well maintained, large hotel, with an interesting art collection and a lot of local charm. The hotel's services and staff are very good, and the hotel is very well run. I recommend it strongly, unless you do not want to stay in a large hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Upscale Hotel in the Heart of Santa Fe

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: location, balcony
Cons: Price!!
Location: Canyon Rd galleries, Loretto Church, local restaurants
A friend recommended that we stay at least one night here because of its location so we did. GREAT location. IF that is what you are looking for and have some money ($$$$) stay here. It IS expensive. Ask for a balcony room - nice to hang out and people watch. Be sure to go to the Loretto Church across the street with the mystery staircase - you will never forget it. jag
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a great plaza location!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Veronica at the front desk was awesome with great suggestions for meals!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Becky, Hotel Management
Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Small but very comfortable room. The decor was by local artists, wonderful and very colorful. We enjoyed meals in the hotel restaurant
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Becky, Hotel Management
Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel right next to the plaza.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The hotel was quaint and luxurious. The hotel restaurant had amazing food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Magical!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The smell of piñon coming through the open doors to the balcony, the fireplaces down stairs, the priceless art collection, and the hotel design.
Cons: La Plazuela, their highly rated restaurant, has a great dinner menu, but breakfast, although quite good, is not as carefully thought out.
Location: La Fonda is right on the square! You can walk to all the usual attractions of Santa Fe in minutes!
The most enchanting hotel I've ever stayed at, La Fonda is very "Santa Fe", but in a truly authentic way. The hotel is both ancient and modern, with an astonishing, carefully curated art collection, great food and drink, and large, comfortable rooms. We were lucky and got a room with a balcony looking out at the Loretto Chapel. The two chairs and table on the balcony were perfect for drinking coffee in the morning while planning our day, or sipping wine at night while watching the sun set. The hotel location, the staff, the other guests, the live music ... everything was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time in Santa Fe

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great Hotel. Great location. Great food. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

The location was great!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Location, concierge, shops, bed was comfortable, free wifi
Cons: The bar is nice, but need a better bar tender
Location: Gee, too much to list. Santa Fe is made for eating and shopping.
Very close to all our favorite places to eat and shop. Shops in the hotel are beautiful. The hotel food was good, but Pasqual's for breakfast is just a couple of blocks away. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fitzpatrick

Beautiful hotel with exceptional staff

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This was the first we stayed at la Fonda hotel. We were more than pleased. The clean hotel, friendly staff and superb service made a lasting impression. Such a charming hotel with everything we needed to be away from home. Thank you la Fonda staff. We hope to see you in the spring. Thank you for your kindness.