Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Gracious accommodation in central Santa Fe

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The lounge space and art collection in the main hotel; the quality of linens and towels; the patio dining area.
Cons: Outlook from some of the guest rooms is pretty blah. This could be improved by adding colourful plants in containers at strategic locations.
Location: Fill your boots: museums, galleries, restaurants, shopping, hiking, day trips to historic sites.
In spite of a couple of hiccups in our accommodation, we would recommend this resort. Although the resort promotes the pleasant outlook of its rooms, ours was on the fringe of the resort and butted up against a wall--rather disappointing. The hot water boiler in our quadrant packed it in just after we arrived, so we had warm and then cold showers for our first four nights; on our fifth and final night they asked us to move to another suite because of the problem, which was a bit disruptive; although we were comped $100 bar and restaurant credit, it didn't quite make up for the inconvenience. The new room was bigger but not as comfortably furnished and looked out on to a scruffy patio and into other guests' suites. A bit short staffed over the Easter long weekend, so food and beverage service on the beautiful patio, although very cordial, was slow. In spite of all this, we would return given the location, the geniality of the staff, and the excellent food and cocktail list.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Nice hotel and spa

Posted Apr 19, 2017
It was a very pleasant stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I didn't really understand the mini bar " situation ". I guess you have to ask about the items that you want. Would be helpful to have some snacks in the fridge. Other than that I liked the hotel. The pool and spa are nice. Thank you for the pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from el paso tx

Everything was ok but noisy in the night

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff and the ireataurant was fantastics
Cons: More space in the swiming pool
We had a superior room and the air conditioner motors was so noisy in the night t
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great spa hotel close to center of Santa Fe

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The garden feel of the hotel and the excelled staff.
Cons: I would get one of the one bedroom units since the single rooms are small.
Location: Location is great. Close to the Plaza but with a quiet resort feeling.
My wife, daughter and I went to Santa Fe for long weekend. La Posada is a gem of a hotel just three blocks from the Plaza. It is spread out over several acres with many buildings containing a small number of rooms. The landscaping and pool are beautiful. The main building contains the restaurant and bars. Had great breakfast.. One afternoon the bar had complimentary tequila tasting. The bartender was fantastic. Learned a lot about tequila and the pours were very generous. All of the hotel staff was fabulous. The room was a little small but well appointed with a very large bathroom. The property is very quiet. Wife and daughter really enjoyed the spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to all

Posted Mar 27, 2017
The hotel was very nice if you like a hotel with grounds. $30 a day charge for access to Spa was excessive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strange layout with most rooms having no privacy.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing. I wish I had spent the extra $$ and stayed at the La Fonda on the Plaza instead.
Cons: This place is old and on valuable property near the plaza. It should be razed and a quality hotel/resort built in its place.
The first room (#194) they gave us had windows on 3 sides with blinds that did not close. Since it was surrounded by walkways, anyone walking by could look into the room. We requested a move which was to a smaller room but with only one window to a back alleyway with no pedestrians, so we did have privacy here in room 175. As we walked around the grounds, we noticed that many rooms were like Room #194 - all first floor, with windows right on walkways and sidewalks with no privacy. Weird! I would definitely not recommend this hotel unless you like the "fishbowl" effect. We had dinner one night at their restaurant, "Julia", and it was merely OK for the price we paid. The food was decent (we both had the halibut) but the service was horrible. Which we couldn't figure out since we were one of 3 tables in the entire restaurant. Our waiter was more concerned with serving a larger party of 11 people (business dinner, it appeared) than us or the other party of one single man who, we heard upon receiving his bill, "I never got a napkin or the glass of water I requested." And when we requested some bread with our salads, we were given 3 rolls with no butter. I asked for butter and got a frozen patty. Very disappointing as I'm sure there are many fine restaurants in Santa Fe and we wasted one of our 2 nights at this place. NOTE: We ate the The Shed the night previously and it was great - Mexican restaurant on the Plaza. Should have gone back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice quiet boutique near the plaza

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Nice quiet hotel only about three blocks from the plaza. Our room was a one bed plus small living room with a large patio, and kiva which was very private. Felt like we had our own adobe home for the trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel was close to city center but due to wood fire places rooms had a very strong smoke smell. Valet parking was terrible and there were several comments about being short handed all the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Many of our rooms do feature fireplaces and the aromatic scent of native pinon wood often fills the air to the overall delight of our guests. The resort maintains a rigorous chimney cleaning program to ensure fireplaces are kept in optimal condition. Some rooms feature historic “Kiva” or “Beehive” fireplaces and these are flue-less. Because of the particular nature of their construction, a smoky scent may periodically be detected on exceedingly windy days. Our staff always stands ready to move a guest to a traditional fireplace room, as available, if that is their preference. We sincerely apologize that this and other aspects of your stay did not meet your rightfully high expectations and will ensure that all your comments are shared with appropriate management and staff to further improve operations. All of us wish you safe and pleasant travels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden, CO

Great hotel, very close to the square

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Location: Great location to the square and Canyon Road
Each room was unique, staff very helpful, restaurant good but a bit pricey. Love the fireplaces in the rooms! Did not use the spa facilities but would like to try that on our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Wonderful! We really enjoyed the staff and experience.