Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strange layout with most rooms having no privacy.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing. I wish I had spent the extra $$ and stayed at the La Fonda on the Plaza instead.
Cons: This place is old and on valuable property near the plaza. It should be razed and a quality hotel/resort built in its place.
The first room (#194) they gave us had windows on 3 sides with blinds that did not close. Since it was surrounded by walkways, anyone walking by could look into the room. We requested a move which was to a smaller room but with only one window to a back alleyway with no pedestrians, so we did have privacy here in room 175. As we walked around the grounds, we noticed that many rooms were like Room #194 - all first floor, with windows right on walkways and sidewalks with no privacy. Weird! I would definitely not recommend this hotel unless you like the "fishbowl" effect. We had dinner one night at their restaurant, "Julia", and it was merely OK for the price we paid. The food was decent (we both had the halibut) but the service was horrible. Which we couldn't figure out since we were one of 3 tables in the entire restaurant. Our waiter was more concerned with serving a larger party of 11 people (business dinner, it appeared) than us or the other party of one single man who, we heard upon receiving his bill, "I never got a napkin or the glass of water I requested." And when we requested some bread with our salads, we were given 3 rolls with no butter. I asked for butter and got a frozen patty. Very disappointing as I'm sure there are many fine restaurants in Santa Fe and we wasted one of our 2 nights at this place. NOTE: We ate the The Shed the night previously and it was great - Mexican restaurant on the Plaza. Should have gone back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice quiet boutique near the plaza

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Nice quiet hotel only about three blocks from the plaza. Our room was a one bed plus small living room with a large patio, and kiva which was very private. Felt like we had our own adobe home for the trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel was close to city center but due to wood fire places rooms had a very strong smoke smell. Valet parking was terrible and there were several comments about being short handed all the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Many of our rooms do feature fireplaces and the aromatic scent of native pinon wood often fills the air to the overall delight of our guests. The resort maintains a rigorous chimney cleaning program to ensure fireplaces are kept in optimal condition. Some rooms feature historic “Kiva” or “Beehive” fireplaces and these are flue-less. Because of the particular nature of their construction, a smoky scent may periodically be detected on exceedingly windy days. Our staff always stands ready to move a guest to a traditional fireplace room, as available, if that is their preference. We sincerely apologize that this and other aspects of your stay did not meet your rightfully high expectations and will ensure that all your comments are shared with appropriate management and staff to further improve operations. All of us wish you safe and pleasant travels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden, CO

Great hotel, very close to the square

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Location: Great location to the square and Canyon Road
Each room was unique, staff very helpful, restaurant good but a bit pricey. Love the fireplaces in the rooms! Did not use the spa facilities but would like to try that on our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Wonderful! We really enjoyed the staff and experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Great location and moderately priced in february

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This hotel was in a great location. It was at the edge of the historic part of town an easy walk to the square, shops and restaurant. The gentleman at the front desk was attentive and welcoming. The free shuttle service was very convenient, as well, when we didn't feel like walking. Our room was spacious and quiet and we can't say enough about the kindness of the staff we interacted with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Close to the square, perfect for the local flavor

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Very pleased with the hotel experience. Great period feel and excellent service. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone traveling to Santa Fe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great! Enjoyable nice weather will return soon love Santa Fe New Mexico
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Disappointing

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: Maintenance all over
Location: The plaza, shops and restaurants.
The bed was very uncomfortable, we had cocroaches in the room, the chimney was not clean so we kept smoking the room...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great fitness facility.