Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Different from 10 1/2 years ago

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting
Cons: Customer service and promptness
In December of 2006, I proposed to my now wife at La Posada while on a romantic getaway! La Posada was a fabulous location, hotel, and staff. We had an amazing time and were so thankful for the memories created there. Fast forward 10 1/2 years, and I decided to surprise my wife for our 10th Wedding Anniversary by returning to La Posada. I realized, when I booked the stay, there must've been a change in ownership/management because of the SPG system. Little did I know how much it did change. I booked on May 24, 2017 for a stay July 14-17, 2017. I received confirmation and was excited to surprise my wife! We left on July 14, and I contacted La Posada at 1:34 PM (July 14) while in route to Santa Fe, to let them know we would be arriving around 5:30-6pm local time for check in. The gentleman confirmed my last name, and said it was noted. Upon arriving at approximately 5:45 PM, we attempted to check in. To our shock and surprise, they had not reservation for us! I immediately went to my email, and found the May 24, 2017 confirmation email, with itinerary number and confirmation number. We were originally told they had no rooms available, but they tried to put us in a small, full size bed, room near the entrance to the resort. I refused to settle for the inadequate room, after I'd booked a superior room. Luckily, they obliged with a better room. It continued to get worse... I called room service and it took several attempts of 2-3 minutes each to get through.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Good location, too pricey

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Location was great. Nice grounds with lots of art.
Cons: Would like an option to park my own car, even if it was a little ways away.
Location: Town square only a couple blocks a way with lots of shops and restaurants.
Kind of a waste of money if you're not taking advantage of the spa (which we weren't). Good location, easy to walk to downtown, but if you want your car you have to wait for the valet to retrieve it (up to 10-15 min). And every time we took the car back we were grilled with questions about when we would need it back. They really didn't like it when I said I didn't know. The room was large and nice, but I was disappointed that there was no balcony or patio. The pool was quite small as was the lounging area around the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Gem resort

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Great deal on pricing and incredible value
Cons: Saturday mornings (or after a wedding) outdoor breakfast area can get crowded, but manageable
Location: Close to downtown Santa Fe and easily a nice walk in pleasant weather. Shuttle service available.
The resort is close to downtown Santa Fe without the noise. Easy walking distance, but there is a shuttle to more distant sections of Santa Fe. Rooms are lovely and quiet with individual decks. Great restaurant and bar. Efficient and friendly staff -- We are coming back. Saturday mornings breakfast are generally very busy so we opted to walk a block to the local french bakery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location. Great bathroom. Pleasant valet

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Totally satisfactory, convenient to square. Nice outdoor patio.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location, property layout
Cons: Window coverings, bathroom layout, lack of privacy
I stayed in a basic queen room, which was a good value for the location. Pros: just on the edge of the tourist district, quiet location, valet parking. Cons: ground floor windows in tight quarters allow guests a full view of the room unless blackout shades are down, shades have gaps, bathroom is very small and dated (no place to put toiletries, blow dryer and hand towels are in the closet!). There was a tiny fireplace that would be tough to use given the size of the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Joe Kelley, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. Your comments about our value, quiet and central location and valet parking are all most appreciated. We sincerely apologize that certain aspects of your room did not meet your rightfully high expectations. Every room at the resort is unique because of its history as a 19th century mansion, an artist colony in the 1930's and 40's and the six-acre resort with casita-style lodging it has become today. Accommodations include everything from our charming "cozy artist studio" rooms, which were originally designed to house artists and are smaller by design, to more expansive suites with multiple rooms and larger fireplaces and patios. Our front desk staff is always happy to work with guests to find the perfect room for their specific needs and they anticipate assisting you in this regard on your next visit. All of us wish you a safe and pleasant journey and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Joe Kelley General Manager La Posada de Santa Fe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Wonderful place to stay! Great location, too!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location to downtown Santa Fe.
Cons: Pool needed to be cleaned up a bit.
Location: Perfect! Walking distance to town.
Staff was friendly and attentive. Hotel was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

I would stay there in a second.

Posted May 17, 2017
The staff made me feel very welcomed and was always smiling. I felt safe within the walls of the La Posada which is very important to me. I would easily stay there again when visiting Santa Fe next year.!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anthem AZ

First Time to Santa Fe

Posted May 17, 2017
This hotel is within walking distance from everything. Perfect place to stay for 2 nights and see the sights of Santa Fe. Beautifully appointed room with balcony. This hotel has 6 acres of property and a full spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Welcoming hotel w/ casitas and lovely grounds

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The lobby and public rooms. Internet. Gym. Grounds. Bed & bedding. Fireplaces. Newspapers all around.
Cons: Add "resort fee" to room rate or be very clear in the room rate that there's an extra charge of $30/day in addition to whatever other taxes.
Location: Great location. Easy to walk to various stores and points of interest.
Overall a very good experience and I'll probably return to the hotel in the future. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. The public spaces with many fireplaces are pleasant and invite hanging around. I found I was glad to curl up on a couch w/ my computer rather than roaming the streets. My casita was tiny. Just barely fit the bed, a chest, & a small desk. The bed was marvelously comfortable. The gym had all the equipment I needed. My only negative is the "resort fee." I've spent the last 10 years in Latin America. I stayed in many luxury hotels. No resort fee is charged. I'd sooner the hotel simply raised its rates than add on an arbitrary fee. It's supposed to include parking and the pool and spa, among other things I wasn't going to use. It snowed; no pool! And also included in the "resort fee" is housekeeping. Shouldn't housekeeping be included in the room rate? On the heavy snow day, housekeeping was "suspended." Shouldn't that be reflected in the "resort fee" when I make my own bed and clean up the bathroom?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Santa Fe

Posted May 1, 2017
This is a gorgeous, tradition northern New Mexico property with an excellent location to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for leaving your feedback about your recent visit. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location and our easy access to the fun downtown area. I look forward to welcoming you back for another beautiful and relaxing getaway. Thank you for letting us accommodate you.