Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2018
The location is fine and the hotel is nice from the outside, but the room smelled like pine sol and in need of a redo, it felt claustrophobic due to lack of a proper window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South London

A 'grand' hotel very near historic Ortegia.

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Pros: We liked it's architecture. We liked it's spaciousness and winding staircases. Staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. It's location was great!
Cons: We probably should have mentioned it at the time, but apart from the first day the hot food (eggs and bacon) was not kept at a hot enough temperature,
Location: Excellent location. Within easy walking distance of ancient Ortigia and the harbour. Lots of places of interest to see and photograph. :)
Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel surpassed our expectations for one so reasonably priced. The room was quiet, despite being near a fairly busy road. It was spacious too and had a balcony with good views of the area. The bathroom was spacious and shower easy to use. The dining room was light, spacious and airy and had a very good selection of foods for breakfast. The lounge had complimentary hot drinks in and was rarely used, but my travelling buddy and I enjoyed relaxing there. There was a useful 'supermarket' nearby. Also bus stops. The station was only an 8 minute walk away and the trains ran to time, unlike the buses! It took less than 10 minutes to walk into the historic area of Ortegia where there was much of interest to see and photograph. The archaeological zone was in Syracuse was a 15 minute bus ride from the hotel and the bus only cost 1 euro! We viewed both a Greek and Roman amphitheatre there and also had a 45 minute tour of the underground catacombs. The hotel and it's situation surpassed our expectations and we would definitely recommend it! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good Location, close to sites and restaurants

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Bar not open every evening
Very enjoyable stay. Hotel in an excellent location, delicious breakfast, friendly staff, room clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia , Canada

Hotel in Siracusa

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: A large tasteful old building , lovely sitting areas and courtyard. A restaurant that we used both evenings of our stay with an excellent menu.
Cons: Nothing. It is great value for money , English spoken, both in the hotel and its restaurant .The staff at the desk, waiters and waitresses all great.
Location: Siracusa is at the tip of Sicily`s warm south east coast. Lots of shops,churches, old buildings. An busy harbour with a walkway all around the Island.
After a few attempts to negotiate the one way streets in Siracusa, and directions from the Hotel staff we were able to park our rental car a short walk away in the secure parking lot (at a very reasonable rate) for the duration of our stay in this charming old city. The hotel was excellent , as were all the helpful staff . Lovely rooms, amazing breakfast buffet . Located walking distance to the bridges that take you to the small historical Island of Ortigia , where we spent the whole of the next day just walking ,experiencing it`s energy , ruins and beautiful buildings. Ortigia has lots of shops , street markets and small restaurants .We watched many people swimming in the Mediterranean and sunbathing on the small beaches located between its rocky coves,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Classic older hotel in ideal location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Great hotel with charm. Elegant common areas and dining room.
5 out of 5
by Terry

Best room to date!

Posted Oct 26, 2017 on Hotels
One of the most confortable rooms we have stayed in this trip. Excellent location, large room, very confortable bed, good AC within walking distance of the old town and the histroic sites, ect.
2 out of 5
by ROBERT

DODGY

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
CONSIDERING THE 4STAR RATING THIS HOTEL GETS WE CONSIDER IT AVERAGE AT BEST AND DISGUSTING AT WORST. THE ROOM ALLOCATED TO US INITIALLY WAS SMALL AND AVERAGE , BUT THE SHOWER IN THE BATHROOM WAS FRIGHTENING. I HAVE PHOTOS TO SHOW THE DIRT AROUND ALL 4 SIDES OF THE CUBICLE WAS OBVIOUSLY THE RESULT OF NOT BEING CLEANED IN ANY WAY FOR MONTHS. YOU COULD HAVE PICKED IT UP WITH YOUR FINGER, IN FACT I DID. NOT JUST THE NORMAL STAINING AND DARKENING OF SEALANT WHICH YOU EXPECT GENERALLY BUT BLACK SCUM. I ASSUME NO-ONE HAD STAYED IN THE ROOM FOR MONTHS OR IT WOULD HAVE BEEN CLEANED AT SOME POINT. ON OUR INSISTENCE THEY RELUCTANTLY GAVE US A DIFFERENT ROOM, AFTER CHECKING THE FIRST ROOM, WHICH WAS BIGGER AND CLEANER AND FOR WHICH OBVIOUSLY THEY DIDNT CHARGE EXTRA, BUT NO APOLOGY, JUST MILD IRRITATION THAT WE RAISED THE PROBLEM. WE WERE ANNOYED, BUT NOT SURPRISED, WHEN ON CHECKING OUT WE HAD TO PAY THE LOCAL TAXES WITH NO ADJUSTMENT FOR INCONVENIENCE. OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS OK, BUT NOT FOR 4 STAR. NO NEWSPAPERS OF ANY KIND, CERTAINLY NOT ENGLISH, ABYSMAL TV SERVICE. EVERY SHOPPING CHANNEL AVAILABLE BUT NOT ONE INTERNATIONAL STATION AS IN MOST HOTELS ABROAD. NOT EVEN A WORKING TV IN THE 'LOUNGE'. ALSO THE INTERNET FACILITY IN THE LOBBY WAS PRIMITIVE, SLOW AND USELESS. WI FI IN THE ROOM WAS OK MOSTLY. WE CANT COMMENT ON THE FOOD BECAUSE LUCKILY WE HADNT PAID FOR BREAKFAST OR DINNER, AND THE STATE OF THE SHOWER DIDNT BODE WELL FOR THE KITCHENS. STAIRS CARPET DANGEROUS.
4 out of 5
by lawrence

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Nice Hotel not far from Historic district.
3 out of 5
by Rob

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location but otherwise tired and basic for a supposed four star hotel. Wifi poor too. Breakfast staff were great otherwise not really interested.
4 out of 5
by SJ

short break in rainy syracuse.

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
we had enjoyable trip. Our room was comfortable and had an exterior staircase to small balcony. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit and plenty of pastries. Hotel was in handy position a short walk to Ortiga and also a quiet area. Only negative was there wasnt any information about hotel in room and hairdryer kept falling apart. All staff were pleasant and helpful.