Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Parking

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Charming to the nines
Cons: Parking, parking, parking
Location: Great port to walk to
Unless you are very adroit at Italian road driving this parking at hotel is daunting
1 out of 5
by JAMES

The Horrible Hotel La Vela

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Do not ever contemplate staying at this hotel, despite Santa Margherita Ligure being a lovely place for a quiet break...stay at another hotel. On arrival, my front wheel drive car, despite being capable of the 1,500 miles journey from Scotland, was unable to get up the very steep driveway to the "hotel". No appropriate alternative parking was offered by the receptionist, nor was any assistance to carry luggage up the very steep hill. We were then handed rooms keys and pointed towards our room....that was it. After one night we were summarily moved to a lower grade room, on the excUse that "the pipes weren't working". Our suspicions that the hotel had doubled booked the room were later confirmed when we saw guests coming and going from our previous room. Breakfast was a joke..hardly anything left by 9.30..despite a 10.00 finish....would be great if you are into tinned pineapple....otherwise forget it. The so-called roof-top terrace is a health and safety nightmare even by Italian standards, is filthy, and offers less than pathetic facilities. Finally, those in charge, who we presumed to be the owners, made Fawlty Towers seem like a welcoming 5 star establishment by comparison.....they weren't even funny. In summary...Would recommend a stay in Santa Margherita Ligure...but NEVER EVER at Hotel La Vela.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
The view is very good. The breakfast is very good. It is a little bit hard to walk from hotel to train station or to ferry station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Castle in the hills

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: There is a set of stairs on the outside of the building that take you to the top of the hotel, a must do for some amazing views
This place was great, starting with the drive up the driveway to get to the front doors of the hotel. If you are driving to this location you will find out soon enough. A brisk 8 minute walk down gets you to the water front along an isolated set of stairs that lead to a main road, Remember what goes down has to come back up again. (it's a hard life living along the ocean:). The staff was great, after check out they let me leave my car parked there most of the day while we took a boat ride into Portofino and spent some time in that area. If you have never been to La Spezia and surrounding towns you quickly realize that parking is hard to come by and not cheap. Again many thanks on letting me leave the car on your property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old castle

Posted May 15, 2016
Nice old castle but nobody helps with your luggage
4 out of 5
by William from miami

you'll enjoy it

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
great service. restaurant wa sexcellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friend staff

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Greatlcation and very friend staff. Shower head power was very weak, made showering very uncomfortable. The shower drain was also clogged so it was overflowing all over the floor the first day; however, as soon as we mentioned it to the staff they fixed it right away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Simply awful, Parking was a nightmare-waited for over an hour just to get our car out. Difficult location. Staff and check in was so rude and ignorant. Hotel was neat in that it was like an old castle but felt very unwelcome. Would definitely not recommend. Room was ok. Cool little rooftop place to hang out but no food or facilities there. Again the staff/owners were very rude and made us feel very unwelcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old castle.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Character,
This facility was disappointing. It is beautiful and was clean. I did not feel that the staff went out of their way to be courteous on our arrival, Very business like. The breakfast buffet was adequate. However if you were late to arrive, things were not restocked. We did not have a tv control in our room on arrival and when we requested one, we were told " there was most certainly a tv control in the room." Later someone brought a tv control to our room, but it was not functioning. The area was lovely but was very busy and noisy with vacationers.