Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
We had a wonderful stay in Santa Margherira's Hotel Minerva. We walked about 1-1/2 miles to Portofino and took the boat ferry back for a view of the coastline for 8 euros. We are fresh fish every evening in the restaurants and service was friendly. We are on a 3 week driving vacation from Rome to Madrid and this was days 5 and 6. It helps that the hotel had inside garage parking for 15 Euros per night. Safe and clean Hotel I highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Lovely!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Very well located. Best choice to visit Portofino. Nice staff. Big room. Good bf. Blasting AC. Cars welcome. 5*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Quiet location 2 blocks back from the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, proximity to Santa Margherita waterfront and town, friendly staff, offstreet car parking and the buffet breakfast.
Location: Santa Margherita is an ideal location for visiting the Cinque Terra for the day by train and Portofino which can be accessed by bus, ferry or 5km walk
We stayed at the Hotel Minerva for 3 nights. Its in a quiet location 2 blocks back from the main beach front boulevard so well insulated from traffic and noise, but within easy walking of shops and restaurants in Santa Margherita. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, upgrading us and the other couple travelling with us to rooms with balcony's, helping carry luggage to and from our car at both arrival and departure (without us having to ask), and readily offered information when we made enquiries. Rooms are not huge but 2 highlights were the amazing buffet breakfast and outdoor courtyard, and the view from the rooftop of the city is outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We stayed here for 3 nights in a small double room which was quite adequate and had a balcony which was lovely. All the staff we came across were very helpful and polite, breakfast outside in the garden was great, and the hotel was walking distance to everything. Loved the spa pool on the top floor - we used this at the end of the day to relax and read a book and have a spa. We had it to ourselves - this part of the hotel seems underutilised - and it gives you a fantastic view out across the town and sea. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great find!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This hotel is amazing and really feels like a 4-star hotel. The decor is simple but if you don't care about that, everything else is outstanding. Great location, very safe and close to everything. Great breakfast in the mornings from 8-11am. Very quiet room with a comfortable bed. Staff are friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, UK

Nice family run hotel in quiet position.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Quiet position but only a few minutes walk from centre. Excellent staff and cleanliness.
Cons: None
Couldn't fault it. Although only a 3 star rating, much better than many 4 star hotels.Suit couples looking for a quiet holida. Would certainly stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Near London

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Rooftop spa and deck area, excellent room, lovely breakfasts and friendly helpful staff
Cons: Cant think of anything that wouldn't sound trivial
Location: 5-10 mins walk (level) to seafront, harbour and town, lovely restaurants, numerous boat, bus and train trips to nearby towns.
Excellent Hotel which is located in a quiet part at the back of the town but only 5-10 mins walk to the harbour and the centre of town. We had a standard room on the 4th floor which was quite large enough and with a small balcony (ok just about to sit on but not if you suffer from vertigo) with nice views. The hotel provided us on request and at no charge a kettle/cups/teas which were replenished daily which was nice to have. Breakfasts were superb with a wide range to choose from including scrambled and fried eggs and bacon, sometimes pancakes. However, what really makes this hotel is the staff who without exception were terrific, so polite and friendly.
5 out of 5
by Yakov from Boston

yakov

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel, great service, nice breakfast.Yak
5 out of 5
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london, uk

good place!

Posted May 31, 2017
Great breakfasts, including real espresso, if you asked for it. Pretty garden to eat in. Rooftop a bonus. Staff very helpful. Fantastic location. Carpark.