Ratings based on 2,187 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach ca

old inn made it interesting, but walk huge until

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: the old inn feeling, historical room
Cons: rooms, walk is immense, restaurant could have better service
Location: big highway not conducive
u got to room. room unfort was small and contained really old facilities. Needs upgrading. Very uneven place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Street Trafic noise

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Historical significance
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Kinda noisy its off the Main Street of Santa Maria Shaws BBq house was awesome. Other than eateries nothing much to do in Santa Maria
We had a room facing Broadway but it was too noisy so Bobbi one of the staff was kind enough to change our room.... Loved the historical ambience of this hotel Breakfast buffet was excellent and so was Stella (Server) who worked with us to get everything to make our breakfast fantastic!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The hotel was quaint. A friend had stayed there before and told me how huge her room was, but my room was only average in size. HUGE closet, though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by sa, Hotel Management
Thank you for this review and for providing feedback about your experience. It sounds like you stayed in our historic section which was built in 1917. The tower was added to the property in 1984 and it offers larger rooms. We would love to welcome you back in the future to show you other options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Love the hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Most everything
Cons: AC
Location: Large shopping mall and movie theater in the area. Many restaurants also.
We loved the hotel and it's history. My only complaint was that our AC did not work in our room. Since we were only in the room at night, we opened the windows. The staff was wonderful and the hotel has an amazing décor. I would stay there again if I'm in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Linda, Thank you for this wonderful review of our property! We are thrilled that you loved the decor and rich history of the hotel as well as the surrounding area. We are sorry to hear that there were issues with your air conditioner. We appreciate you notifying us so that we may correct the situation. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Tiny room.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Thicker walls.
Location: College was close by. So was a great steak restaurant.
Tiny room. Doors closed in adjacent rooms shook our bed. Not all television channels worked properly. Every sound made in adjacent rooms, including showers and sex were heard by my wife and I.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced noise during your stay and that you were not more impressed with what you saw. Being 100 years old we are always striving you make your stay better. We would love to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Paula

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Ambiance
Very good place to stay. Very ornate building. Has a cocktail bar, and a restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this review of our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel as well as our Restaurant and Bar. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Broken air conditioner during heat wave.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Spent two days without air conditioning during heat wave. Staff promised to get it fixed during the day while we were out, only to find out that their maintenance guy never got to it. Spacious room, friendly staff. Had the potential to be a great experience, but the heat in the room was overwhelming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this review of our property and for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the air conditioner and we're disappointed that it was not resolved for you during your stay. We are happy to hear that the room was spacious for you and that our staff were friendly. We hope to welcome you back to our Historic Inn again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
We stayed in the tower double queen room. Large, spacious room. The beds were comfortable and the staff was very nice. My son is at vandenburg afb which is about 20 minutes away. We would stay in this hotel again. Older historic hotel but nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Santa Maria for the night...

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The staff and the coffee.
Cons: Property is need of a major makeover
Location: Can't argue with the location. Middle of Santa Maria, 15-20 minutes from Pismo Beach.
If everything is filled up in Pismo Beach, then look at this property. They have not invested into the infrastrature in many many years. Parking is a challenge. The carpet is at least twenty years old. The interior color scheme is tired and old. The halls are narrow and the stairway is borderline fire hazard. We never did find the elevator. There was a strong odor throughout this building, mold and old. They even saved a buck by not turning on the the 30 year old window cooling unit. I was well over 110 degrees in the room when we checked in. We went down to the bar while the room cooled off. The bar was cool: A/C, good DJ, nice Bartender, good drinks and a lively crowd. But... the room was dark and dingy looking. chairs and stools are hella old. Old and tired is my description of this place. pluses. room was ok once it cooled off, windows were nailed shut tho. The breakfast was not cheap, but it was tasty. All you can eat buffet style, with good coffee. Overall, ok is best I can this property. I would like to point out that the staff in every area, especially desk and restaraunt were outstanding. They treated my this was a 5 star botique spot in the City. They deserve for ownership to give the property a make over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Monti, Thank you for choosing the Historic Santa Maria Inn and for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We're sorry that you weren't more impressed with what you saw. We're always working to improve every aspect of our guests' experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Tap Room as well as a tasty Breakfast in the Century Room. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family gathering

Posted Sep 1, 2017
This the second staying and both times the hotel is clean, staff is nice and the breakfast buffet is very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this great review and for your feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and as well as your breakfast in the Century Room. We look forward to your next stay with us.