Ratings based on 2,158 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Kind and professional staff. Standard decor in rooms. The decor in halls and lobby is antiage-old.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Confusing layout, uninterested staff, old, smelly.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Leaving in the morning.
Cons: Tear it down. Start from scratch.
Location: Located on a busy street. Nothing special nearby.
Confusing layout, uninterested staff, old, smelly, cramped rooms. Avoid this hotel. It has the most confusing layout and rooms numbering of any hotel I have visited and yet the front desk clerk forgot to give us a map. Nope. Not kidding. When I came by to ask for one I didn't see anyone at the desk because the three employees assigned to the desk were gossiping and braiding each others hair in the back room. The entire hotel smells musty and gross. The rooms are so cramped their is barely enough room to move around. Do yourself a favor and find another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay. We are deeply disappointed to hear about the issues you had during your stay. We are very sorry about the experience with the front desk and that they did not issue you a map pointing out how to get to your room. These incidents are not representative of a typical stay with us, we are truly sorry. Thank you again for your time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Regular Visitor

Posted Aug 5, 2017
I stay at the Santa Maria Inn twice a year to visit family. The staff are attentive and professional, and the rooms have nice amenities. The original Inn portion of the building is older, yet well maintained. The newer tower is nice as well, but water pressure is an issue, so I prefer the older Inn section.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from danville, ca

Convenient and amenable

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: pleasant atmosphere
Cons: the breakfast buffet was awful and costly. they could add more selection and check the quality on the food that was available at the buffet.
Location: location was easy to get to, plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby.
Check in was easy. The facilities including the pool were clean and comfortable. We paid for the breakfast option with our room and the food was atrocious and skimpy. The wait service was polite, but a bit unorganized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Windmill Century

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Went up for the Windmill Century. First time staying a the Santa Maria inn had a great experience ate at the restaurant in the hotel for breakfast and dinner food was good and the staff is very friendly rooms are nice and the hotel has a very historic feel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Miguel,CA

Nice historical hotel!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
I had a wonderful time at this hotel, close to stores, restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderful historic hotel with lots of charm

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The setting, the staff and the spacious room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great restaurant across the street - Shaws -- best barbecue try tip ever
We experienced an efficient check in, caring staff, clean and spacious room, in a beautiful setting. Nice pool and hot tubs, lots of outdoor garden areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The room was not as nice as the pictures. We go a regular room with a king size bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vista ca

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: work not vacation
Location: great restaurant choices,
business travel, this location is central to my calls. I can be sure there is no night time noise to deal with. Very professional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington. State

Historic for sure.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and some of the original woodwork which was beautiful and nostalgic
Cons: Let people know when the book they will be in the Original but updated rooms.
Location: Same old area just more people
I grew up in the area and have been in the Inn several times,stayed there before but in the new rooms not the original updated version. Clean and Safe but lacking in ambience for the price. Disappointed but it could have been worse it was clean.