Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Maryam

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
It was good but so expensive
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Albergo Giovanna is not a hotel as I know it.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: I don't know what is good about the "hotel" since I did not stay there. When I tried to find it, the address was for a café. I tried to call, but the number given me did not work. Finally I noticed four plaques on the building next to the café each with a different name, one stating: Albergo Giovanna.
Cons: I thought it was a personal home until I realized that "Albergo" meant hotel. Apparently, each floor on the building is called a different hotel name. The Giovanna was the top floor. I looked into the building and saw four buttons to push, not a lobby. This is more of a B&B. I checked all my materials, and not one stated this "hotel" was on the top floor, with five flights of stairs. It did mention no elevator, to be fair. I cannot take that many stairs so I had to go elsewhere.
Location: The location and price is the reason I went with the Giovanna. It is a few blocks from the train station and the price was low. Now I see why.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by giovanna, Hotel Management
I'm sorry but she is not telling the whole truth .We were waiting for you until midnight and no one has rung the bell of the hotel. We've also sent an email but you never responded. If it had big problems to find because it does not call expedia? our address and phone number on the website are accurate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
I stayed at hotel Giovanna for 3 weeks and I had a great time. The staff was great, there was a comfort level similar to home, the room was maintained very clean and neat throughout my entire stay.
1 out of 5
by John from London

Could it be...the worst hotel in the world

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
I used to live in Firenze and have travelled around the world and stayed in many hotels and hostels especially in Firenze, and I can say that this is almost the worst one I have ever been. No heating (of any significance), no wifi, no towel(and when I asked I was told there was one and to wait till the morning) and when I looked for one was told off for looking in cupboards. They watch you like you're going to rob the place.
4 out of 5
by Arron from Bath

Florence Sept 2015

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was an easy walk from the train station, really central to all the attractions, with a lovely friendly host
2 out of 5
by YADAMI from Miami

Vacation in Europe

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel it is in the center of Firence, 3er floor no elevator no air condition. It was ok for a night for the location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Well located, with friendly welcome. It's a little hard to find and the stairs might not make access easy for all travellers. However, it is a reasonable option in the heart of Florence.
4 out of 5
by Tony from usa

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
lady who ran he place was nice, rooms are tiny. Overall seemed clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Close to all the attractions.
Cons: No air conditioning. Cannot sleep well. Very hot. It is extremeluy hot and humid in the shared washroom.
Like the art and history in Florence. A lot of tourists.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Not bad

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Near the Florence central station (Firenze Santa Maria Novella station) and popular basilicas and galleries.
Cons: It would be great if the charge was a bit cheaper. Toilet/ bathroom can be expected to be one more but didn't feel any inconvenience while I was there
Location: Near the Florence central station (Firenze Santa Maria Novella station) and popular basilicas and galleries.
Stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom. This hotel is run by family. Lovely owner and kind. The charge was not very cheap compared to other hotels but not bad overall.