Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
never again
4 out of 5
by John

2 days in Florence

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is actually in a good location. We walked downtown both days we were there and left our car parked next to the hotel. Parking is tricky and the road next to the hotel is busy. Our room did not have air conditioning either (it was 93 both days). However, the hotel owner was outstanding, giving us a map with directions and his take what to see in the amount of time you have. Breakfast was a little bland, but made up for it with good coffee. The room was nice enough and cooled down at night. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a couple days stay in Florence.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

AWFUL .. DO NOT STAY THERE...

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: LEAVING !!! The blood orange in cartons at breakfast time.
Cons: The old dragon that runs it..!!!!!!!!! We believe she can breathe fire... From the moment we arrived she was huffy and off with us, so miserable ?? We had arrived early ..around 10am , as we had advised on booking. Asked if there was a toilet...told no..after a huff and she said toilets were being cleaned . Asked then if possible to change somewhere after our journey.. another huff and mumbling and again told no.. nowhere.. Great start.I had to end up changing in the hallway as she was walking back and forward huffing at me... Said could we leave the bags with her until later when we checked in, she then snatched the bags from us... Really dreading going back to the hotel later.. she was so OFF to us.. I really do think she can breathe fire. Later when we checked in, the man seemed nice enough to us. Shown to room and all seemed ok... bed was hard and lumpy, room very cold, cobwebs all over the place, blankets and sheets felt damp and the towels were like thin pieces if muslin.. like a wiping up cloth. What a place.. how she is allowed to even be on any sites we don't know ?? However the next morning we realized how sly she was, as she was so nice to some of the other guests and chatty and laughing ?? Then we realized it must be because we are from ENGLAND .... The breakfast was rubbish too, one coffee then had to pay for more, who would want any more anyway, when the coffee i stirred was like someone had spat in it, as this slimy stuff came out on my spoon ??? tiny b
Location: Trying to catch a bus nearby was crazy..so many people on the buses they would not stop to let anyone else on. After waiting ages, we walked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix

very shady area

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: relocate and provide the service and amenities that you promise to provide.
Location: nothing to do nearby as very far away from town and SMN station
this hotel is 45 minutes away from SMN station. The hotel is located at a very shady area so you have to get back home before the sun goes down. The room was smelly, no privacy. The hotel owner woke us up at night because we shouldn’t take a shower past the guests bed time. The view we had was terrible, you could see refugee campers. The hotel owner is also very creepy and kept wanting to interfere and come in our room when we were in it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by MAU, Hotel Management
Dear "Expert Traveler" 1) I inform you as well as I confirm You that the services and amenities showed in our web page on Expedia are exactly what our Guests will find at their arrival. 2) I inform you as well as I confirm You that the SMN Stn. is just at 15' away from our Hotel and not at 45' as You wrote 3) NEVER I WOKE GUESTS DURING THE NIGHT TO PROHIBIT TO MAKE SHOWER !!. 4) NO REFUGEE CAMPER IN OUR AREA !!!!! 5) NEVER I ENTER IN THE ROOM WITH GUEST INSIDE !!! I think that or You wrote this review for another Hotel or YOU WROTE FALSE. !!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Room was very noisy..above the street with scooters buses and police sirens... Breakfast was good staff was friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Noisy, needs some maintenance

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Staff helpful on travel info and places to eat.
Cons: Windows and shutters, street noise.
Location: Walk about 200 metres to get to tram. The BEST Kebab place just down the road next to the Pinolo Restaurant. You need transport to get to attractions
Not everything worked properly. Window shutters and some bathroom facilities need attention. Would benefit from double glazing to reduce street noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wW

Travel convenience

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Great breakfast
Close to the main train station in Florence, and walking distance to car rentals. Host was very accommodating with an extremely late arrival caused by train delays, and storage of luggage after checkout to deal with our car rental.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Sep 8, 2015
The stay was nice but no air-conditioning and florence can get quite hot. Also get yourself mosquito repellant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cannes

Horrible hotel in a shady area

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: nothing!
Cons: relocate and find a functional and clean place. Oh and the manager needs to be changed!
Location: nothing to do near by and the area is in a scary place and to get to the main attractions you need to pass many areas that are scary
Where should I start with this terrible place that claims its a hotel, it is more like a home for refugees. This is the worst place I have been to all over Europe! First of all, its far from the train station (approx 15 minutes away) but there is no easy path to get there and it is in a dangerous area where all druggies and homeless people live. Right in front of the hotel there 4 large garbage bins and the stench of the bins will follow you till you get in your room. The first floor has an elevator which then takes you to the reception on the 2nd floor. The hotel manager is the receptionist, chef, and house keeper, and very arrogant. He acts friendly and tries to act like a guide so that he can receive positive reviews. If you go to florence, you do not need anyone to guide you because its a very tiny town and its easy to get find the main attractions. The room he gave us was exactly next to the reception and the breakfast area so his annoying presence was felt even when we were in our room. He would talk and laugh right outside our room door and even heard him comment about us to his other staff (I know italian). From the time we entered the room smelled like a public toilet so we kept the balcony doors open for the two nights we stayed there and had to deal with flies and other insects coming in the room. Also the room he gave was not facing the street, it was facing the other homeless apartments and in between a dumpsite. Overall a horrible experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big room, comfortable stay

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
If you are looking to stay near the heart of Florence, well.. this hotel might not be your best choice. However, the room is really spacious, compared to other boutique sized hotels in Florence, and the owner is super nice. The staffs greet you all the time you see them, and are really helpful giving you directions and making restaurant reservations. We did not have breakfast here, but we saw the owner making cappuccino and latte to the customers. This hotel has elevator, which is VERY helpful especially after a long, hot day. Although the rooms do not have air conditioning, we did not have too much trouble, because we had a gigantic ceiling fan right above our bed. The bathroom was really spacious and clean, too. If you do not mind staying 5-10 mins away (by bus) from the heart of the city, definitely recommend staying here.