Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus.

Family run with family values. Great service.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We were welcomed with good service and facilities. Hotel Merlini was recommended by our frequent traveller friends. We were very pleased with accommodation
3 out of 5
by Kevin

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms are large by European standards and the air conditioning was very effective. My one complaint would have to be the cigarette smoke the rolls out from the managers quarters every time they opened the door to allow us in. It would be better if they had a key code access.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great location

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, great location.
Cons: There was no hot water at 5 o'clock in the morning.
Location: 5 mins walk to train station and also to the Duomo. Can walk everywhere from here.
They actually put me in an adjoining hotel, the Hotel Faenza, which was very nice. 5 min walk to train station and Duomo. Staff very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Should be noted the hotel has no lift. It could be noisy at night due to shared bathroom. One of the two nights i stayed there Some people banged their room door hard and walk back and forth at mid night. It was hard to sleep tight. The owners are very friendly and they keep the door locked all the times you do feel very safe there despite close to central station. Very convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Great location to explore Florence.

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, felt secure, our room (No 11) was great. Lots of good restaurants a short walk away.15 to 20 min walk puts you in the heart of city.
Cons: Kettle/coffee maker in room would be nice. Not all rooms have en-suite bathrooms (ours did) so be careful.
Location: It's Florence. There is an incredible amount of history, architecture, and art to explore.
If it were not for the three flights of stairs up to the hotel this would be a perfect hotel to explore Florence from. However, make the climb, it's worth it. Great value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location. Perfect for city sight-seeing.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Spacious room. Essential air conditioning. Large bathroom, with plenty of towels. The main downside was that it was on the third floor and there was no lift. The owner did come down and carry our luggage up though. 5 minute walk from the train station and 5 minute walk from the town centre. For a low budget hotel this had everything we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Hotel in great location

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
This was the perfect location for our trip as we were very close to the train station and to San Lorenzo square with many shops and restaurants nearby. Florence is quite walkable so we had easy access to the rest of town as well. The room had great AC and was quite large. That said, the hotel itself is located on the 5th floor with no elevator which was quite the climb with luggage, and the entire place wreaks of cigarette smoke despite the many no smoking signs plastered about. Also, our room was not clean with hair and other remnants from the previous guest in our bathroom and shower, and stained bed sheets. Finally, the staff seemed nice but spoke no English so it was a good thing we didn't need their assistance. They also lock the front door and do not provide a key to guests so you have to ring a bell to call hotel staff to let you in. One day we were locked out and waited over 15 minutes for someone to hear the bell and let us in. It was mid-day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Mom and daughter Trip

Posted Jul 24, 2015
We had a room for 4 each had there own bed. Close to train station, shopping, banks, supermarket. Rooms had air conditioning. Street seems sketchy but was safe. Breakfast was more sweets than anything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
This is a great budget hotel. It has everything you need for a short stay in Florence. The location is excellent, 5 min walk from the train station and within walking distance from all the must see attractions. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful.