Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Vinko

Old

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
The location for this hotel was perfect for our use of Florence as our base for short train excursions to other parts of Italy. It's proximity to the train station and walking distance (10 - 30 minutes) to all major Florence landmarks are great. The hotel is a bit worn given it was built in 1480, but having character and worn is other thing. Even though it was an old structure, it could have been upgraded with morgen amenities. The bed and linen may have been dated back to the early 1900s. Our room also had the issue of mosquitoes. They kept me up most of the night. Not even killing two of them with my bare hands had helped. There was also very few wall outlets given we no longer live in the 1400s. The WiFi also constantly cut off and requires reconnection. There are also no in-room tea, kettle or coffee available. The in-room fridge was dirty and there was a half drank bottle of water inside. If I have to find one thing good about the room is the washroom(s); for some reason our small room had two bathrooms, but only one of the had a shower/tub. One cannot forget Raul, he reminds me of Manuel in Fawlty Towers, played by the late Andrew Sachs. He was the Doorman when we arrived, the Houeskeeping, the Waiter at breakfast, the cook who prepared the breakfast buffet, and whatever else he does at the hotel. He was great. Another person who was very kind, friendly and helpful was the man who checked us in. Both my wife and I were glad we finally ended our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Florence

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Cozy
Cons: Not sure
Location: Very good location. Close to all.
Loved it! Cozy. Nice breakfast buffet. Pleasant people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very noisy No a/c Otherwise clean Can't be a 4 star with no a/c
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco calif

Nice hotel close to everything you need to see

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Florence is a great city the hotel is located in very central place good restaurant shopping
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GOOD LOCATION AND FRONT DESK PEOPLE VERY NICE FRIE

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
PEOPLE FROM THE DINNING ROOM WERE NOT TO FRIENDLY. THEY WERE COMPLAINING BECAUSE THEY DO NOT HAVE A TABLE WITH 4 SEATS AND WE HAD TO MOVE ONE CHAIR FROM ONE TABLE TO THE OTHER AND THEY GOT MAD.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Would not recommend.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Very little - quite claustrophobic.
Cons: Probably nothing - it is what it is, but it's not four star.
Location: Close to train station.
Staff generally unfriendly and unhelpful. Room very basic - not four star in any way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel..

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Nice hotel near train station. Friendly staff. Close to a few bars n restaurants. Nice breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but not 4 star.

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Definitely not a 4 star hotel. More like 3 star. Good if you need a decent place close to the train station. But not like other 4 star hotels I have stayed at in Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey, uk.

Lovely hotel with lots of character.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, cool rooms. Beautiful decoration on breakfast room ceiling.
Location: Close to the station (but no noise from it) and main attractions. Duomo, cathedral and Bell tower, plenty of churches, museums, galleries, shops.
Very comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Well situated with most of the main attractions within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The location was great and the rooms had a lot of charm.
Location: You are right in the heart of Florence - no more than a 10 minute walk to the Duomo.
Staff were excellent - they provided great tips for places to eat, and, when we asked to be moved off the street to a quieter room they were very helpful.