Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warner Robins GA

Great Hotel Convenient to Transportation & Cafe's

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: The two baths and the cleanliness of the room. The room had so much charm! Loved the breakfast and the staff.
Location: It was near the train station. We were able to go to many of the top spots in a matter of minutes.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very courteous and professional. We had a full bath and a shower/toilet in our room which was very convenient and saved time! The breakfast was very nice with a lot to offer. Our room was spacious and had a lot of charm. I would definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Convenient to sights of the city.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Mainly the location.
Cons: Old hotel but in good condition for its age.
Location: Convenient to all the sights we wanted to see.
Only stayed one night and the hotel was comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic hotel near historic center

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Great hotel for this central location
Cons: Like all central hotels, it was tough to reach it with our large vehicle. I was glad that I did not have to park the vehicle (valet parking)
Location: Very close to all central sightseeing points that are easily reachable by foot.
It is a hotel very close to all historic sightseeing points in Florence (12 minutes by foot to the Ponte Veccio). The room was clean and the breakfast buffet was great. Parking is valet for 25 euros / night. We got a room with a canopy bed, and our daughters were crazy for it. The outside temperatures were boiling and the AC actually worked (most important point for hotels in Europe).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

old hotel with really old tiles room updated

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: need major renovation everything is old
Location: good
no one got our luggage when we arrive they wait till we bring them up the stairs then tried to collect the tip room is old the bed we reserve was king but we got 2 twin near each other me and my wife couldn't sleep its old house transformed to hotel location is good near major happening breakfast was ok
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommanded

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful historic hotel, great staff. WIFI was not good at all, they should upgrade it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Beautiful old world hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Orbitz
I was amazed at the 15 foot ceiling in our room. It was beautiful! The room was very comfortable and inviting. The staff were very helpful and even arranged for tours to pick us up at the hotel so we wouldn't get lost. The train station was very close and the hotel was only steps away from the main square.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Below expectations

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Besides one member of staff, the rest were very warm and welcoming
Cons: Rooms updated and better breakfast
Location: This was excellent!
I was expecting a better room for a 4 star hotel! The ground floor room that was given to us was infested with mosquitoes so we asked a member of staff to change our room. Unfortunately I do not know his name (his shift was at about 6pm) but he was extremely rude and very unhelpful! He was very reluctant to offer any kind of help and immediately said the hotel was full. I have to say that besides him, the rest of the staff was lovely! The next morning we spoke to the people behind reception and they gave us a room on the first floor straight away. The room was now better but even the breakfast was very basic. I would not stay in this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by Vinko

Old

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
The location for this hotel was perfect for our use of Florence as our base for short train excursions to other parts of Italy. It's proximity to the train station and walking distance (10 - 30 minutes) to all major Florence landmarks are great. The hotel is a bit worn given it was built in 1480, but having character and worn is other thing. Even though it was an old structure, it could have been upgraded with morgen amenities. The bed and linen may have been dated back to the early 1900s. Our room also had the issue of mosquitoes. They kept me up most of the night. Not even killing two of them with my bare hands had helped. There was also very few wall outlets given we no longer live in the 1400s. The WiFi also constantly cut off and requires reconnection. There are also no in-room tea, kettle or coffee available. The in-room fridge was dirty and there was a half drank bottle of water inside. If I have to find one thing good about the room is the washroom(s); for some reason our small room had two bathrooms, but only one of the had a shower/tub. One cannot forget Raul, he reminds me of Manuel in Fawlty Towers, played by the late Andrew Sachs. He was the Doorman when we arrived, the Houeskeeping, the Waiter at breakfast, the cook who prepared the breakfast buffet, and whatever else he does at the hotel. He was great. Another person who was very kind, friendly and helpful was the man who checked us in. Both my wife and I were glad we finally ended our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Florence

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Cozy
Cons: Not sure
Location: Very good location. Close to all.
Loved it! Cozy. Nice breakfast buffet. Pleasant people.