Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Nice location. Our room had a small terrace with views of Florentine roofs and life. The staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Antique Hotel near City Center

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Everything was nice. The interiors are old-fashioned and very classic. There is snack with wine in the lobby in the afternoon until 8pm. The breakfast can be improved accordingly to a 4-star hotel standard. The matress was alright; it could be better and softer. Nice stay overall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Charming and chintzy.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
A very pleasant small hotel within easy walking distance along the Arno from the centro storico (though not itself quite in the city centre). Service was flawless. The free parking was hugely useful as we were midway through a driving holiday; beware the ZTL zone when driving there. The rooms are in classic Italian hotel style - elegant and perfectly clean but very dated. Felt like a 60s-70s time capsule. Ours looked away from the river but had a small balcony and still quite a nice view over the rooftops to the hills. The included breakfast was fine - croissants, cake, fruit, meat platters, omelette to order. Decent wifi - enough to stream radio etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance from many attractions

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Nice location, great staff & a nice room
Cons: Breakfast was very basic, tree in parking left marks on the car, room was rather dusty and needed painting (especially near the door to the balcony)
generally nice, breakfast and cleanness could use some upgrade
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Beautiful room, staff was incredibly helpful. My only complaint was that we could hear hotel guests in next room easily.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Inviting

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is just minutes away from the busy streets of Florence, but it is located on a quiet street that faces the Arno River. The room had a balcony, and the hotel had a rooftop sitting area. They prepared a large impressive breakfast selection. We would recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great elegant hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Everything was perfect
Location: All main musiems, cathedrals are close, it is real heart of Florence
Hotel Principle is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Very good, convinient location, river view, close to main musiems and attractions, but at the same time not noisy and crowdy. Big, clean, luxury room, with antique furniture, comfortable bed, a huge bathroom with warming up floor. Very good breakfast, all food is fresh and juicy (buffet and menu). Staff is helpfu, professional and pleasant, we ordered tea several times tonight, used mini bar, and they didn't charge us. We had a feeling that we are special and exclusive guests. I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Perfect location with parking

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel on the river. Ideal if you have a car as they have large parking in the back and its proximity to the duomo. The roof terrace had spectacular views as did our hotel balcony.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
We had major issue with the noise -- we could here everything from the hallway like it was in the room. Not fun at 7-8 am on a weekend. Poor breakfast, also no window in the room (had a balcony though). On a bright side, a private parking and river view.
3 out of 5
by Frank

Good location in Florence

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Room was old and tired but ok. Hotel has character Breakfast was good. I took a Tonic water from the fridge for which I was charged 15 Euro - outrageous
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017
Dear Sir, it is with much regret that we read on your review about the charge that you have had on your bill. We are pleased to inform you that the tonic water was not charged on your bill perheaps you forgot that your daughter (that was not hotel guest) had a full breakfast including omelette. Hope this will clear your dubt about our charge. We thank you anyway and hope you will be once again our guest at the occasion of your next visit to Florence. Kindest Regards Nisi Giuliano