Ratings based on 974 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Very lovely hotel in the heart of Florence.The room as lovely and overlooking the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Well run hotel!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean, well decorated, nicely run and an excellent breakfast!
Cons: The WiFi sometimes had a weak signal but other than that, an excellent hotel.
Location: Excellent location in Florence.
The hotel was clean, well decorated, excellent breakfast and most of all near to everything in Florence. I could walk to the hotel from the train station in Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The staff was so helpful. Our room was lovely. My wife loved the bathroom.we enjoyed your hotel and city so much that we are coming back on 24 may.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not bother with the rooms with a view.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very nice, and clean. The breakfast was excellent. The location was good
Location: This hotel is with in easy walking distance of most places in Florence including the train station
We booked a room with a view, which was a little extra money. When we were taken to our room it over looked a VERY noisy square and it was extremely hot. We tried to turn on the Air Conditioning but it did not go on. We were told that in Tuscany, they are not allowed to turn the AC. (which by the way is not true, we were in restaurants, shops and museums that had AC) We asked to be moved and wound up in a room over looking a back ally, which was fine, it was a lot cooler and quieter. We asked for some money back on our bill and they refused, they said, they gave us what we asked for. It was not their problem we did not like the noisy, hot room. They did comp us for 2 glasses of wine, after I shamed them into it. Do not bother spending the money on the rooms with a view.. Also there are a lot of steps to go up and down, along the corridors going from the elevator to the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lovely hotel, great staff, perfect location!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The size of the room, well-appointed bathroom. The special touches like the welcome fruit basket. The yummy breakfast!!
Location: Near the train station. Less then 10 minute walk to the Duomo; Less than 15 minute walk to the Arno River.
The Hotel Santa Maria Novella was the perfect location for my mother and me. We booked a suite (I highly recommend room #601) which had a 2-tiered private terrace. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was huge, homemade and delicious! The fresh breads were so so good!! We loved our location which was just 2-3 blocks from the busy areas, so a bit more quiet at night. And as other reviewers mentioned, it's a quick and easy 5-minute walk to the train station (dragging luggage and all).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Location, location, location....

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Wonderful staff, very accommodating, helped us out in a special situation. Location was great, easy access to all of Florence. Amazing decore that gave a real feeling of old world Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great position

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Friendly staff, very helpful. Hotel situated, in centre of city. Easy access to restaurants, train station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to see Florence

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
This the Second time I have stayed here when visiting Florence. Rooms are nice. Location is great. Buffet breakfast is fine. Good coffee.
5 out of 5
by Adrienne

Highly recommended hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel right on Santa Maria Novella Square so it's so easy to walk to all the museums and places of interest. It's spotlessly clean, really comfortable bed with a super bathroom. Breakfast was in a very pretty mirrored room and consisted of everything that's usual in a continental buffet breakfast but they also had prosecco! The food was replenished quickly, the waitresses were very friendly and willing to help and we ate a very healthy meal each day of our three day stay! We had an issue with our return flight as Florence air controllers went on strike so our flight was re-routed to leave from Pisa. The concierge was so helpful in contacting BA to try to discover what the problem was and genuinely wanted to resolve the issue (which took over half an hour!). He just kept ringing more numbers until he eventually got through to someone - thank you we really appreciated this! Highly recommended hotel in a great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DR

Nice Hotel in City Center

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We loved our stay at Santa Maria Novella. Breakfast is good amd rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. Bathroom is small. It is located in Santa Maria Novella Square near equidistant to mayor attractions such as el Duomo, Academia and Uffizi & Ponte Vechio. Good restaurants and shops nearby. Loved the experience.